7/18 FCC AMPS 130, +2 67, +3 61, +4 67, +5 74, PMPS 131, +2 110, + 5 121

Just checking the numbers of the food. I got the only ones I have been able to find which were the FF grilled in gravy salmon and then the chicken feast. I'm looking them up now and will feed him the lowest of the two.
 
Just checking the numbers of the food. I got the only ones I have been able to find which were the FF grilled in gravy salmon and then the chicken feast. I'm looking them up now and will feed him the lowest of the two.
FANCY FEAST - Grilled in Gravy - Grilled Salmon in Gravy and Grilled Chicken Feast in Gravy are MC. 13% and 12% respectively. If that's what you have. Feed a spoon of any one and test in an hour.
 
I haven't found anything higher yet, but was going to walk to the pet store today armed with the new list. I am okay to not test for an hour?
With the MC, an hour from the last test should be okay.

If you need high carbs (till you buy them), you can always add a little honey or karo to the LC to make it HC.
 
I will check back in about 55 minutes.

I didn't change the title to get anyone else's attention since you will check-in, but should I? He went down slightly from 67 to 61.

I realize I tested on the hour, but he would have been fed slightly after that (10 minutes?). I don't know if that has a bearing on anything. He's acting 100% like himself and he is eating a bit of LC food with the civvie. Was that a bad idea?
 
That’s about the same. Well within meter variance. Just test again in an hour. I would feed a little mc, around 10%.
 
Okay. Thank you. I will test again. He's keeping me on my toes and all of you guys are saving me from toppling over.

I have a couple of packages of Delectables Bisque lickable treats and I know they aren't good for him (pre-diagnosis purchase). Because it's mostly water and chicken (no grains, but tapioca starch and guar gum) is it safe to put on his food if I need to entice him?
 
Okay. Thank you. I will test again. He's keeping me on my toes and all of you guys are saving me from toppling over.

I have a couple of packages of Delectables Bisque lickable treats and I know they aren't good for him (pre-diagnosis purchase). Because it's mostly water and chicken (no grains, but tapioca starch and guar gum) is it safe to put on his food if I need to entice him?
Yes. He needs to eat to keep his bg up. Just feed a couple teaspoons at a time to keep him hungry. Hopefully he will be on the rise soon.
 
He is back to 67 and probably thinks today is the best day ever because he is getting little spoonfuls of the good stuff. I am guessing same thing, feed and test in an hour? I'm happy he likes his food so much.
 
I was supposed to go away three days from now since my partner is the one who does the insulin. I am thinking now that he needs the certainty of monitoring and also I don't want to detail his progress.
 
I remember that. If you go away we need to lower his dose and then resume upon your return. It won’t hurt him although it might slow down his progress a tad. Think about it. I would start tomorrow I think.
 
I've been thinking about it a lot. I don't want to let him down. He's been doing so well and taking so many punctures to the ear that it feels cruel to undermine his progress. Do you have any idea as to how much it would affect how he's doing?

It's very unfortunate timing (not his healing, the gathering). Normally it wouldn't matter as much to me either, but it's family that I haven't seen in two years because of covid and don't get to see very often regardless.

Same stuff everyone is going through.
 
Last edited:
He's gone up to 74. Would it be okay to give his ear a break or is it better to keep doing it on the hour?
 
If I stay up and test him for a +2 what kind of number would I need to see to safely go to bed?

Him PMPS is 131.
I will be around. Let's see the +2 and decide. That's 2 hours from now?
Do you feed at +1? Breaking his PS meal into PS and +1 could help with those dives at +2.
 
I will be around. Let's see the +2 and decide. That's 2 hours from now?
Do you feed at +1? Breaking his PS meal into PS and +1 could help with those dives at +2.

Yes, 2 hours from now. I will do the test then. Thank you.

I put his PS meal down and let him finish it at his leisure once he's eaten enough for insulin. He will often have food left at +1 and eat it. I let him graze. Maybe I'll try withholding some and splitting it?
 
Thank you. I fixed it.

I greatly appreciate your late night presence. Lights out and food. I will set an alarm and do another one around +5.
 
+5 is 121

It took too many ear pokes poor little fellow. Maybe a late night stupor on my behalf. Back to bed and hopefully everything works out tomorrow.

Thanks again for all the help.
 
Back
Top