7/18 Enana PMPS 261 +1/269 +2/165 +3/108 +4/96 +5/81

Status
Not open for further replies.

Natalia & Enana

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Good morning LL,

All 5ps in place. Fed, shot and now she is taking her beauty bath. From head to toe :-D

I'm taking Gordo to the vet in 45 minutes. Need to get ready.

Have a good day ev1.
 
Re: 7/18 Enana AMPS 281 +.75/254

Good to hear Enana is well.
Good luck at the vet with Gurdo, sending good vetty vines
 
Re: 7/18 Enana AMPS 281 +.75/254 +2/188

All ok with Gordo. Got blood test done. All parameters are within healthy ranges.

He hasnt lost weight (actually gained 2 oz) :shock:

He is a healthy chubby picky cat.
 
Re: 7/18 Enana AMPS 281 +.75/254 +2/188 All ok W Gordo

Happy to hear that the vet visit went well. Good job Gordo!
 
Re: 7/18 Enana AMPS 281 +.75/254 +2/188 All ok W Gordo

Yay for Gordo and blues for Miss Enana! I'm sure the KTSS will be by tonight to get off the vetty smell!!
 
Re: 7/18 Enana AMPS 281 +.75/254 +2/188 All ok W Gordo

hi guys .. nice numbers for enana today and nice vet report for gordo today .. that's what we like!
 
Re: 7/18 Enana AMPS 281 +.75/254 +2/188 DENTAL HELP QUESTION

While at my vet I asked her about a dental for Enana. She gave me the phone number of a place. I checked it and it has very good reviews.

I have never ever taken a cat for a dental, and less a diabetic cat. I'm kind of freaking out right now. The appointment is at 9 am next Tuesday.

What should I do/not do?

Medication for them not to use?

Shooting the night before? the day of?


nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
Re: 7/18 Enana AMPS 281 +.75/254 +2/188 DENTAL HELP QUESTION

Have you called the dental place to ask them what they recommend for Enana?

Did mine at Meyerland Animal Clinic. The owner, Dr. Werner, did Curry's dental. Since Curry's numbers were fairly low she had me skip the insulin shot the night before and the morning of the appointment. Curry was 84 the morning of her dental. And Dr. Werner gave her glucose during the dental. I didnt shoot Curry that evening either since we got home too late. And then Curry's numbers were a low the next morning we skipped that shot as well. I wasn't sure how much anesthesia was still remaining in her body which would impact her bg. Also, no food after 12:00 midnight but OK for water. Keep in mind, Curry was getting ready to go off the insulin at this point. The inflammation from the gingivitis may have been the culprit for her slightly elevated WBC prior to the dental which contributed to her higher bg just before going OTJ.

I'm sure you'll get lots of good advice here and lots of hand holding during it.

Hugs
tena
 
Re: 7/18 Enana AMPS 281 +.75/254 +2/188 DENTAL HELP QUESTION

The person who answered the phone told me not to give her food or water after 12 am.

I called to ask more questions but they were closed already. I left a message.
 
Re: 7/18 Enana AMPS 281 +.75/254 +2/188 DENTAL HELP QUESTION

very good to hear Gordo is healthy....you really needed to rule that out!!! yay!!! happy for you both!

i know nothing on the dental questions you have....hope you get the info you need!
 
Re: 7/18 Enana AMPS 281 +.75/254 +2/188 DENTAL HELP QUESTION

Hello Natalie and Enana!

I'm always happy to see kitties getting their dental issues resolved! It took 2 dentals - one in Dec. 2008 and one around May 2009 to get Black Kittys teeth and gums fully addressed.

I took Black Kitty to a veterinary dental specialist the first 2 dentals - his vet recommended the specialist because of him being diabetic and his mouth was in such bad shape. It made all the difference in the world and I believe got him on the road to OTJ. Now his regulalr vet does his dental once yearly - he only has 3 teeth left!

I can't remember the dosing details (can't access BKs ss from tbp) but I do recall even with him being a big gulper and his way high BGs he dipped down to 30 durinng the surgery. Anesthesia apparently has that affect on BGs.

I'm sure others will chime in with deatils. Don't be scared - there is plenty of dental experience here in LL!
 
Re: 7/18 Enana AMPS 281 +.75/254 +2/188 +10/298 DENTAL QUEST

This is a link to the dental info that my vet has available. It's about general dental issues and what to ask.

What vets recommend seems to vary. Some vets want no food after midnight; other will tell you it's OK to feed before a certain time in the AM. Generally, the most insulin they will suggest is half of your dose. What is important is that BG is being monitored since anesthesia can lower BG levels.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top