7/18 Chloe AMPS 218 +2 159 + 4 93 + 8 73 +10 125 PMPS 153 +2 138

Randi & Max (GA)

Member Since 2009
Yesterday

Good morning
Chloe seems doing be doing nicely, flat blue numbers. She even walked all the way upstairs to my bedroom letting me know it was time for breakfast.

I have been shooting .5 twice a day for the past several days. Have not seen her hit green since a couple of days ago. I tried figuring out how long to hold this dose for. Can someone have a look at her ss and give some guidance on where I go now. Thanks

Have a greatd day!!
 
Since you're following TR here's what the protocol says:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
Hope this is helpful.
 
Since you're following TR here's what the protocol says:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
Hope this is helpful.
Thanks
I have been reading that over and over again. I am at 8 cycles as of this morning. Still gathering data but nadir has been under 200. Still not sure if she is "new" to numbers under 200 so I could not decide if I hold 810 cycles to increase by .25
 
Thanks
I have been reading that over and over again. I am at 8 cycles as of this morning. Still gathering data but nadir has been under 200. Still not sure if she is "new" to numbers under 200 so I could not decide if I hold 810 cycles to increase by .25

Excellent! Then the next thing to consider is are you home to monitor? Do you have plenty of mid and high carb foods on hand(hypo kit)...

Please be sure to get at 2+ as Lantus tends to get started by about two hours after the dose.

Hold on for the ride :)
 
Looks like you had a 95 just two days ago - I'd call that a nadir if it was me - so you have a few more cycles to watch and wait for any more greens....
Thanks Sue. I have a hypo kit just in case. Karo, gravy FF and not sure about the "mid carb" food I need a little more research on food as I am also dealing with stage 2 kidney.
Today I should be able to fill in some spots and test more, tomorrow more at work, so if had to increase I would probably do for saturday where I can be around to monitor.
 
Thanks Sue. I have a hypo kit just in case. Karo, gravy FF and not sure about the "mid carb" food I need a little more research on food as I am also dealing with stage 2 kidney.
Today I should be able to fill in some spots and test more, tomorrow more at work, so if had to increase I would probably do for saturday where I can be around to monitor.

RE: the foods - there are medium and high carb foods available from Fancy Feast and others: Here's Dr. Pierson's comprehensive list: http://catinfo.org/chart/index.php

Excellent idea to wait until Saturday when you're home :)
 
Sheba pate is low carb and low phosphorus for CKD, mine are on it
Thank you. I am going through all of the charts and very hard to understand the phosphourous levels. I am looking at catinfo link above and the phosphorous numbers are in mg so I am trying to come up with the %. And I am not sure they sell Sheba here in Canada. I will have to look.
 
Looks like all you had to do is mention that you hadn't seen a green in a while and SHAZAM!! Chloe delivers... the dosecrease threat legacy as a means to acieve good numbers lives on!!

Have a great day Randi, Nice slide Chloe-girl :D
 
Looks like all you had to do is mention that you hadn't seen a green in a while and SHAZAM!! Chloe delivers... the dosecrease threat legacy as a means to acieve good numbers lives on!!

Have a great day Randi, Nice slide Chloe-girl :D
Yup and I just got home after a few hours and she through me a 73. Guess I will not increase just yet. Now trying to figure the food, with several suggestions that will be good for diabetes, ibd and ckd. I have my work cut out for me.
 
Yup and I just got home after a few hours and she through me a 73. Guess I will not increase just yet. Now trying to figure the food, with several suggestions that will be good for diabetes, ibd and ckd. I have my work cut out for me.
I feel your pain, I think the affordable part combined with the phosphorous part is what is hardest. for you too to have IBD on top, not jealous ;):P

Let me know if you discover any great finds :joyful:
 
I feel your pain, I think the affordable part combined with the phosphorous part is what is hardest. for you too to have IBD on top, not jealous ;):p

Let me know if you discover any great finds :joyful:
I brought home a couple or raw patties to try, lamb and duck and I found a brand called identity. Never saw it before and looks very good, I did the calcs and appears to be carbs under 10, depending on the flavour. The website says phosphorous between .22-.24 which also seems good. I sent the company an email asking for more info. Cans are pricey to be sure but very different proteins, no gluten, no grain no potatos, no gums, seems pretty pure food. NOw we shall see if she eats it lol.
 
I brought home a couple or raw patties to try, lamb and duck and I found a brand called identity. Never saw it before and looks very good, I did the calcs and appears to be carbs under 10, depending on the flavour. The website says phosphorous between .22-.24 which also seems good. I sent the company an email asking for more info. Cans are pricey to be sure but very different proteins, no gluten, no grain no potatos, no gums, seems pretty pure food. NOw we shall see if she eats it lol.
Good luck! I've thought about raw but I actually find it really intimidating! I also worry about it sitting out and making my cats sick, even though I know cats have more fortuitous guts than us :)
 
Good luck! I've thought about raw but I actually find it really intimidating! I also worry about it sitting out and making my cats sick, even though I know cats have more fortuitous guts than us :)
So agree with that. You can't leave it out and not sure how it will work but I am mostly in control of her feedings so I will try and give a little at a time and see.
 
Maybe you can find a way to add ice under Chloe's dish to keep it cool for a bit. I use the "messy cats" double feeder... I think that would work well for something like that... so you don't have to waste food that has been left out.
Messy_Mutts_-_Red_500x342.jpg

Or maybe you have some other dishes that could work similarly :)
 
Maybe you can find a way to add ice under Chloe's dish to keep it cool for a bit. I use the "messy cats" double feeder... I think that would work well for something like that... so you don't have to waste food that has been left out.
Messy_Mutts_-_Red_500x342.jpg

Or maybe you have some other dishes that could work similarly :)
Interesting. That's a nice one. I will look into that if she likes the raw.
 
Interesting. That's a nice one. I will look into that if she likes the raw.
I really like it since Mowgli is a beyond messy eater... seriously... I have to wipe down the walls by where he eats LOL. It works well for Nyx too because she likes to pick up a bite of food, put it down, and then nibble on it... or dip her paws in and lick them off :rolleyes:

These kitties of mine! Love em!
 
Back
Top