7/18/24 Max AMPS 398 Feeding Question

MaxsMom74

Member
Hello,

I have a question about feeding Max. I have him eating Fancy Feast 2x a day, with a small snack during the day all low carb for BG but he is skinny/underweight. Should I be adding low-carb kibble or feeding him more during the day when he is asking? I have been worried about the BG levels but I'm also concerned about his low weight. His weight is how we caught that something was wrong. Back in December, I had to take him to the vet for an ear infection. He weighed 15lbs and was solid. His infection came back in May so we took him back to the vet he weighed 11.5lbs. He is now at 10.8. I've been testing his urine for ketones and have been getting negatives or trace amounts.

Do I feed him more fancy feast when he asks even if it affects his BG? Do I still give him the same amount of insulin if I'm going to increase his food intake or just leave alone for a couple days to watch and see what happens with increased feeding?

7/11/24 Max, AMPS 505,+1 367,+4 244,PMPS 422 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
 
Please don’t add lc kibble. Just feed more of his regular ff. That won’t effect his bg and will help level it but kibble will most likely increase his bg, even lc kibble.

Are you planning to follow our SLGS method? If so he needs an increase to 1.5. With SLGS yiu increase after a curve after 7 days if the nadirs are over 150.
 
I see you have SLGS on your ss. Please add it to your signature.


  • nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
Ok thank you. I will just give him more FF. Can he have some chicken breast? I will move him up to 1.5 tonight and add SLGS to my signature line. I am also going to be getting the libre put on in a week so that will help me be able to watch what is happening better. He had had ear trauma so I have a hard time poking him a bunch of times a day...poor guy. We are slowly figuring out this stuff... I appreciate everyone's help!
 
Back
Top