7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +8=58,+9=48,+10=64, +12=55

Status
Not open for further replies.

tomtom13

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=100125

WELL...here we are. feeding the 40's!!! first time ever!! I just gave Tomcat a tablespoon of HC FF. He ate it all. He acts fine....laying down by door...wishing I would let him outside. nothing is wrong mom...let me out please!!

I have alarm to go off in 30 mins.

I test....and go from there I take it?

I can't believe that he perhaps earns a reduction? that doesn't make sense to me though as he is hardly close to regulated. or do I hold dose for 3 below 50s? I have read that somewhere?

~~~Kelly

I am not even worried about my current "crisis" I am totally freaked out about my PM shot in....2.5 hrs from now!! YIKES. what to do?
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +6.5=60,+7.5=56,+8=58,+9=48

Great job catching that 48 Kelly! Test again in 30 and depending where he is, you may need more food.

And yes, that is a reduction! :-D Newly diagnosed cats get a reduction for going under 50.
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +6.5=60,+7.5=56,+8=58,+9=48

Congratulations on the reduction!!!! :-D :-D
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +6.5=60,+7.5=56,+8=58,+9=48

thanks guys!!

this is somewhat exciting!!! I am thrilled for tomcat

but,

but,

I think today was just some weird off random not that hungry didn't eat much too hot day....and he really doesn't deserve a decrease.

I hate to lose any momentum he has gained.

he is hardly close to being regulated.........hardly close.

but I will do what I have to do. just hate to have to increase yet again next week.

now on to the most pressing concern

WHAT VALUE DO I SHOOT AT TONIGHT...IN 2 HOURS!!! I AM TOTALLY FREAKED OUT BY THAT!!! how can I juice the poor cat when he was just below 50 2 hours prior??

HELP!!
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +6.5=60,+7.5=56,+8=58,+9=48,9.5=50

30 MIN after 1 table. HC FF

50.....up 2 from 48


wait another 30 to test?

or do I feed then wait 30?
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +6.5=60,+7.5=56,+8=58,+9=48,9.5=50

You don't want to feed the two hours before PS. Do you have some medium carb or a little low carb to get him surfing there?

Cats that have shown they can't hold reductions try the 3 times below 50 or once below 40 method to earn a deduction. Since you don't have any record of how he'll do, I'd try the reduction.

As for tonight, let's see where he is a little closer to that time. He could still shoot up.
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +6.5=60,+7.5=56,+8=58,+9=48,9.5=50

okay I just got a 64.

so a good climb from the 50..... 1/2 hr ago

so are we done?

good to go??

I gave him a little bit of LC FF as if I push back my PS time by the 15 mins. allowed....I am in the 2 hour time frame of no food 2 hrs before shot time

do I put that meter up for 2 hours or test again in 30 mins?
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +6.5=60,+7.5=56,+8=58,+9=48,9.5=50

I'd test at +11, the HC can wear off.
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +6.5=60,+7.5=56,+8=58,+9=48,9.5=50

+11.5 is 63

he has dropped just a few points

so here we are......almost shot time.

I am thinking two options:

Since I have stalled twice this week...for a total of 6 hours off our normal schedule....perhaps I should just skip...and shoot normal time to get back on routine schedule (which would actually be a 6.5 hour skip). and then shoot a reduced shot by .25. even though I don't think he really deserves a decrease, I just think today was an off not hungry day...and he is not nearly regulated...but I have to be safe.

or this option:

I just keep checking until I feel safe he is rising....I would feel okay at like.....a 120 I think ? still so new to me. and then shoot him his reduced dose then. it really doesn't matter to me what time I shoot. I just want the best!! the BEST for my cat

what would you all do?

advice please

thanks all

if you opt for the waiting until he rises....what number do you think is safe given his weird SS?

thanks again
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +8=58,+9=48,+10=64,+11.5=63 SHOOT?

and at what point can I feed the poor dude? normal LC I mean
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +8=58,+9=48,+10=64,+11.5=63 SHOOT?

Where is he at now? Can you stall another 30 to see if he is rising? Do you have high carb food and spare strips ready?
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +8=58,+9=48,+10=64,+11.5=63 SHOOT?

he is 55....+12.25

now what?

I finally gave in and have him, just now, 1 table of LC food. very hungry!!
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +8=58,+9=48,+10=64,+11.5=63 SHOOT?

You have to wait to feed him his regular dinner until just before you shoot, if you decide to do that. If you skip, you can feed him now.

If you do decide to skip (depending what he does in the next little while), you have an option to do what we call shooting through the bounce - provided he goes over 300. And that's a one time only shot of the old dose to help him get through the bounce. The following shot you'd go to the new reduced dose.
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +8=58,+9=48,+10=64,+11.5=63 SHOOT?

Looks like you may have the PJ party tonight, your doing good mom :smile:
Linda and Lucky
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +8=58,+9=48,+10=64,+11.5=63 SHOOT?

He is still dropping, although a little slowly. Given this, and that you have never shot this low and that no one is around, i would skip. But get a few tests in tonite to see what he does.
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +8=58,+9=48,+10=64, +12=55 SHOOT?

Looks like a PJ party for you, I shoot low but this is low, be nice to see a little higher number. Good luck :smile:
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +8=58,+9=48,+10=64, +12=55 SHOOT?

The 55 is likely from his HC wearing off. Since you are so off your normal shot times, a 6 hour delay might make sense. If it doesn't matter the shot time, a reduced dose is possible, although a delay also acts like a reduction. The other thing to consider is that often you'll still see an active cycle because of the shed.

It depends how important it is to get back on schedule. The more time in normal numbers, the more healing he'll do, but you might be busy tonight.

If you do skip, getting what would have been a few early tests will (+1, +2) will help you see what sort of duration Tomcat is getting.
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +8=58,+9=48,+10=64, +12=55 SHOOT?

OKAY...wow. what to do???

well, let me ask this first:

DO I HAVE TO STILL WORRY ABOUT THE CURRENT AM SHOT HE RECEIVED/ AND IS CURRENTLY WORKING GOOD AND HARD IN HIS SYSTEM? WHAT IS THE POSSIBLITIES THAT HE IS GOING TO DROP ANY LOWER NOW....EVEN WITHOUT A PM SHOT? geez...good thing I haven't tossed that HC food out yet! YIKES

I THOUGHT that crisis was over....but why is he still dropping?

let me figure that out first....then on to the next dose decision. I can tell you though...there is no way I can even think about shooting this low....I don't think...can I?

I am going to re-read what you all said....

I will test again to get a +13 in about 25 mins

thank you thank you thank you all for your helpful eyes!!
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +8=58,+9=48,+10=64, +12=55 SHOOT?

No worries about a crisis now from the am shot, it will wear off soon, he is surfing green if anything and the drop is the meter error. If anything he will more likely start to shoot up fast, but that might not be for a couple more hours. If you want to get back on regular schedule and that's 6 hours from now, I would be inclined to just wait and shoot then like Wendy said.

I don't think you have ever shot this low, and I don't know if you sound confident enough to me yet to do it. You might be up all night with syrup.
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +8=58,+9=48,+10=64, +12=55 SHOOT?

Sounds like you are thinking of skipping? If so, you don't have to worry about tonight's cycle. He shouldn't go lower than his AM cycle. Make sure he's had his dinner, and that will help bring his numbers up. He's dropping because the HC you gave him earlier wore off.

The lowest you've shot before is a 141. A 55 is pretty big jump down the scale. Now that you've done a 141 yesterday and saw what he did, pick a "no shoot" number below that.
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +8=58,+9=48,+10=64, +12=55 SHOOT?

some clarification:
Wendy said:

The other thing to consider is that often you'll still see an active cycle because of the shed
.

does this mean: that the current dose within him is still active at +13 is because of the shed. or do you mean that even if I skip...it could be an active cycle because of shed?

If it doesn't matter the shot time, a reduced dose is possible, although a delay also acts like a reduction

given that I have delayed twice this week for a total of 6 plus hours....the current dose should have been "acting" like a reduction all along
if that is the case....a reduction is in order for sure!


The more time in normal numbers, the more healing he'll do, but you might be busy tonight

yes, agreed. makes me feel so good for him thinking of all the healing he is doing.....I don't really care when I shoot. it just has to be higher...YIKES.


in summary:

IF I DON'T SKIP .....AND DELAY....LET'S SAY 2 HOURS....THEN DO I DECREASE?
IF I DO SKIP AND DELAY 6 HOURS (original shot time) IF HE IS ABOVE 300 THEN I KEEP DOSE FOR ONE CYCLE. IF HE IS NOT ABOVE 300 ....I GIVE DECREASE?

I have to get a few more numbers to decide. thanks all
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +8=58,+9=48,+10=64, +12=55 SHOOT?

I don't know if you sound confident enough to me yet to do it

really, Wendy, Tiggy & Bailey? what makes you say that?




:shock: :o
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +8=58,+9=48,+10=64, +12=55 SHOOT?

Kelly

Let me also catch up really quick. Just stall 15 more minutes ok? He isn't really dropping....55 and 64 are the same number.

Don't feed anymore. BRB.
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +8=58,+9=48,+10=64, +12=55 SHOOT?

What Wendy said,


The lowest you've shot before is a 141. A 55 is pretty big jump down the scale. Now that you've done a 141 yesterday and saw what he did, pick a "no shoot" number below that.


Pick a no shoot number, this is low. Lowest I have done is a 60, Lucky did go up but ECID
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +8=58,+9=48,+10=64, +12=55 SHOOT?

The other thing to consider is that often you'll still see an active cycle because of the shed/depot
clarification - if you had shot tonight, you might have still seen an active cycle, even with a reduced dose. Also, the duration can vary from cat to cat, but the nice flat cycle of an ideal Lantus cycle (disclaimer, yet to see that in my bouncy cat. :roll: ) is because the duration of the previous shot can go past PS and help keep numbers down before onset of the current shot. I once saw a nadir of +13 with Neko. Her onset is usually later than the normal +2. So, without a shot you shouldn't see an active cycle, but might still see some nice numbers for a couple of hours.

If in two hours you want to give a shot, the dose will depend on his numbers. If it's above 300, shoot the old dose, if below, go with the new. As someone with a cat that can shoot up 200 points in an hour, I delay making decisions until I see the actual numbers.
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +8=58,+9=48,+10=64, +12=55 SHOOT?

Kelly

I think you need to decide whether you need to get back on schedule or not. If you do, I'd suggest you skip and shoot at your normal shot time. Making up six hours slowly is a pain...and you are even past that now.

If you decide to skip and he is over 300 when you shoot, then you can shoot through the bounce with the current dose and then reduce next cycle. If he is under 300 next time you shoot, you should reduce the dose.

If you want to shoot tonight, Id suggest you take the reduction and get a +1 and a +2. He might come back down but I wonder if he will start to rise here shortly.

Does that help?
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +8=58,+9=48,+10=64, +12=55 SHOOT?

thanks everyone for your help! I don't feel alone....

okay...his +13= 80

finally climbing.....but he did have some super LC food an hour ago. just a tiny bit.

I think I am leaning towards shooting tonight but at a higher number. why wait another 6 hours! ....I am so hyped why wait it out tossing and turning on the couch all the while his numbers skyrocket!!

the poor dude is just going to super bounce anyway and be PINK for a week AGAIN!! (which is why I hate to reduce..but I will)

so now the question is:

at what number do I shoot?

I did a 141----so what number lower than that?

and when I do shoot tonight......I reduce right?
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +8=58,+9=48,+10=64, +12=55 SHOOT?

IMHO, I would shoot the reduced dose now, feed two more tsp LC, get a +1 and a +2.

I think that's a pretty good jump for LC and that's why I'm suggesting you shoot if that is what you've decided to do.

Sound like a plan?
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +8=58,+9=48,+10=64, +12=55 SHOOT?

Yes Marje, that sounds like a perfect perfect plan. and if I were a good cat owner I would already have that insulin drawn and injected......but...here is the problem that I didn't consider before:

okay...here is what I think I have to do

after talking it over with DH, who is super thrilled...NOT!! I guess I have to wait until normal shot time. God, I hate doing that...and if it were up to me...I wouldn't wait. gladly shoot now.

but he made a good point in that ......Tom's shot times would be around midnight...and noon.

he said bad times...bad for his wife having to stay up until midnight and bad for him having to stay home until noon to leave the house

I guess that makes sense.

Thank you all for all your advice.

I will shoot a little earlier than normal "old" shot time....so poor ole tom will have ride the last remnants of the nothing that is left in his system currently. makes me sad
:sad:
but I have to make DH happy too. don't I?

okay so in summary...and then you all can go and help others....sorry for hijacking your time/eyes....

1. if AMPS value is greater than 300=give normal current dose...for one cycle
2. if AMPS value is less than 300=give reduced dose

I will worry about how long I have to keep new reduced dose (as Tom Pinks out for a week and all the healing is lost) for another night

~~~kelly

~~~obviously, I can feed him his normal dinner now right? try to keep it super LC right

AMS is actually only 4 hrs from now....so not too much HIGH SUGAR suffering for my sweet sore eared cat ...right?

+14 BY THE WAY IS 76

I think I will take tom outside on harness as a treat-after he gets dinner.....thanks again all....1000000 thanks.
 
Re: 7/17 Tomcat AMPS 298, +8=58,+9=48,+10=64, +12=55 SHOOT?

Kelly...you aren't hijacking us! We are here to help.

I think it makes perfect sense. I was wondering why you might want to shoot at midnight :-D

And yes, you are correct on the dosing.

Try to get some sleep.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top