? 7/17 Prince curve results

Even with the mid cycle numbers being higher than AMPS and PMPS? I thought I saw somewhere that could mean the dose is too high.
I’m a bit paranoid because we are approaching the dose he was on when he experienced his “episode”, whether it was a seizure or a mini-stroke.
It could be a coincidence but, it worries me.
 
I honestly don’t see how it’s possible that he’s getting too much insulin since he’s constantly high. The times you get a lower bg are pretty much within meter variance of 20%. I understand your fear. See what others say. When do you feed him? It would be helpful to note that in the remarks and what he ate.
 
Here's your last post for continuity: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-8-prince-high-numbers.249579/#post-2816199

The nadir of an unregulated cat can vary widely. They do not always hit lower numbers at +6. The important thing to keep in mind is we want to see how low a dose takes a cat, and that low number can happen at shot time rather than later in a cycle. Since you're following SLGS, you increase doses if you don't see nadirs below 150. 2.25 units isn't a terribly high dose and you probably are contending with glucose toxicity that will take some time to break through. Changing to TR will help you a lot with this.
 
For food he gets Nulo Turkey and Chicken only. Usually 1.5 of the 5.5 ounce cans per day. Big meal at 6 am, 12 or 1 pm, and 6pm. Smaller meals at 8 am and 10 pm.
With TR would I need to do a curve more often than once per week?
 
For food he gets Nulo Turkey and Chicken only. Usually 1.5 of the 5.5 ounce cans per day. Big meal at 6 am, 12 or 1 pm, and 6pm. Smaller meals at 8 am and 10 pm.
With TR would I need to do a curve more often than once per week?
You don't need to do curves with TR. I would try to get at least two tests in between the preshots in the AM and PM, maybe one at +2 to see how active the cycle is and another one later at +4 or +6. If you can get more tests in on weekends that is always helpful. When my Ruby was seeing consistent greens and blues I tested her at night at +2 and +4 before I went to bed to make sure she was safe. TR is a bit more aggressive, so more monitoring is needed, but it will really help Prince to get into some better numbers. You can increase doses in 3-5 days rather than 7.
 
Ah! That’s why I haven’t tried TR. I work full time. I can get an AMPS and an AMPS +2 most days, but that’s usually it until PMPS. Then I can get a PMPS +3 or +4. On weekends I can usually fit a few more tests in if needed.
 
Ah! That’s why I haven’t tried TR. I work full time. I can get an AMPS and an AMPS +2 most days, but that’s usually it until PMPS. Then I can get a PMPS +3 or +4. On weekends I can usually fit a few more tests in if needed.
I would not let a full time job deter you from doing TR. I'm sure you've read the post about doing TR on a full time job. If you're able to test more in the evenings, sometimes to possibly +6, you could do it. If you have an automatic feeder and you're leaving in the morning and his +2 is a little lower than you'd like, you can leave him some MC or HC food to keep him safe.

I suggest this because persistent hyperglycemia could leave him open to ketoacidosis. Having gone through that with my Ruby, I would not wish that on anyone. With the right tools and enough data to know how your cat reacts to carbs, you could very well do TR.
 
Back
Top