7/17 Max Amps 193 +2 240 +4 417 +9 445 Pmps 543

Status
Not open for further replies.

max&emmasmommie

Member Since 2012
Hello. Max's numbers are coming down.

Marjorie wrote on yesterday's condo:
One thing I think would help Max is if you would shoot consistently every 12 hours. The numbers where you skipped shots were totally safe, shootable numbers if you were able to shoot and monitor. If you had been able to shoot, then you could post, and we could have helped you shoot them. By missing so many shots and dropping to 2u on occasion, you've got some wonky things going on with his shed.

Now that I am home, I am looking forward to learning to shoot low numbers and get this little guy regulated! Your help with this will be great, Marjorie. I'll post when he's low like that, and maybe we will see a breakthrough. For now, I'm happy he's getting better. It has been so scary and frustrating.

Last night, I tested Max and gave him his treat. Emma saw me give him the same turkey breast I give her. She toddled over to the bar stool he was sitting on and took half his treat! Even from the back of his head I could see the disbelief on his face!!

Link to yesterday's post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=75136
Link to Relaxed:
 
Re: 7/17 Max +5.25 (night) 219 Amps 193 +2 240 +4 417 What?

Oh, boy. I'm doing a curve today, and I get an Amps of 193, a +2 of 240, and a +4 of 417. That's unexpected.

I know I gave him his shot this morning, and it was not a fur shot. In fact, I wasted a lot of insulin trying to get the bubbles out. It was definitely a full dose. I suppose I may have accidentally given him 1.5 units after all that frustrating effort to get the bubbles out. I am done, D. O. N. E. with Relion syringes. Used my last one this morning, and I'm getting some from Walgreens today. cat(2)_steam

There's only one difference in the last week and now. I give Max's shots in his flank. My husband was giving them in near his backbone right below his scruff. He puts them in the area where he can get just enough loose skin to pinch it.
 
Re: 7/17 Max +5.25 (night) 219 Amps 193 +2 240 +4 417 +9 44

At plus 9 he's still rising! Maybe it's the herbs I'm giving him? The Hubs didn't give him any for a week. Maybe he's somewhat dehydrated. I haven't found the time to do that since I got home on the 13th. Today is day 4 that he's been over 300. I'll have to eliminate each possibility.
 
Dale

Don't get the Walgreens syringes...they are WORSE than the Relions.

I've used Relions, Walgreens, BDs, Monojects....all are really inaccurate. I finally started using calipers and I just ordered Terumos from ADW and like them. But they are still inaccurate. Here's the info on the research I've been doing:
Syringe Info Condo

Any of us can help you with low numbers but I will definitely be glad to do so if I'm on the board around your shot time.

He's either bouncing or perhaps it was a fur shot. What herbs are you giving him? Some of them can cause a healing crisis first....I had that happen to Gracie.

Hang in there.
 
Thanks, Marjorie. I'll make sure to read that condo about the syringes.

A healing crisis? All the herbal supplements are for Max's CRF: chronic renal failure/disease. I had been giving the herbs to him consistently a while ago, but I had become rather lax about it around the beginning of May. Then, the cat sitter did it religiously for about a week from June 27 to July 4. My husband came home and gave him none of the herbs for week. I gave him one dose of all the herbs yesterday morning mixed in his food except the Renal Support pill. He didn't eat that pill yesterday, but he ate it this morning.

The Herbs: The vet has prescribed solidago (goldenrod) pills, and said to give one a day. He also prescribed Rehmannia 8 tincture, and said to give 0.2 ccs twice a day. Both are homeopathic, herbal remedies. Here's an article about the use of Rehmannia 8 in pets: http://www.itmonline.org/articles/rehmannia_eight/rehmannia_eight.htm.

Additionally, he prescribed Standard Process brand Feline Renal Support pills, and said to give two a day. The ingredients are: bovine kidney PMG™ extract, bovine kidney, bovine liver, veal bone PMG™ extract, bone meal, defatted wheat germ, bovine and ovine spleen, buckwheat leaf juice and seed, Emblica officinalis, oat flour, pea vine juice, bovine adrenal Cytosol™ extract, ribonucleic acid, alfalfa juice, bovine heart PMG™ extract, kidney bean extract, Strombus gigas, Tillandsia usneoides, rice bran, porcine duodenum, beet leaf juice, beet root, and extract of Rhizopus oryzae grown on Tillandsia usneoides and beet root.
Other Ingredients: Honey and calcium stearate as tableting aids. Minerals: Calcium 3.5 mg / tablet Phosphorus 2.4 mg / tablet Sodium 33 mg / tablet.

Recently, I got Vitamin B12 sublingual liquid (for neuropathy) made by Sun Harvest at Sprouts Market. I don't see any sugar of any type in the ingredients, but it does taste quite sweet. It has Vitamin B12 as methylcobalamin at 1000 mcg. The other ingredients are: vegetable glycerin, deionized water, raspberry and berry natural flavors, and citric acid. I mixed that in his food yesterday, too.

I'm inclined to think that dehydration is the culprit or this morning was a fur shot, but if you see anything here that gives you pause, please let me know.
 
when i see a straight line up of BG numbers, i think that points to a bounce. he's gone straight up since this morning - that would make me think he either got lower before the amps and it was enough to cause his liver to let loose with hormones and stored sugars to save him from a perceived (by the liver) potential hypo, or even the 193 itself was low enough to cause it to react.

it'll come down.
 
dale, i bumped up the post on New Dose Wonkiness. there's lots of good info in there and part way down is an explanation of a bounce. here's the link as well: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46012&p=814365#p814365

the more a kitty is in lower numbers, the more the liver accepts it as normal. they eventually stop bouncing and the curves will flatten out. in the meantime there's not much you can do except be patient.

if the herbs taste sweet, i would be suspicious of what might be in them. perhaps if you can keep a close watch on if they cause his BG to rise.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top