7/17 FCC AMPS 175, +3.5 83, +4.5 85, +5.5 83, +6.5 99, PMPS 157, +2 153, +2.5 128, + 5 122

That's what I'm hoping for soon- he sure is spritely today. Doesn't seem to be holding a grudge at being torn from his slumber last night.
 
I figure I'll check at +3.

I am still reading all the TR protocols and articles repeatedly, maybe by the time he shows consistency I'll really understand!

I still haven't figured out the carb calculation in food yet. I stick to the foods and flavours that are listed here (both FF and Friskies). Going into the store and trying to calculate anything is a nightmare because they never add up to the carb content I know they are from the lists. I'm reading the food articles, but so far other than the fact that LC wet is really important and pet companies are not forthcoming I'm a little lost.

Now that we've settled into treatment I am generally less panicky so I think the information is sinking in better.
 
This chart should help. It is lengthy so scroll through to the FF and Friskies to see the carb levels. I only feed the FF Classic Pate. They are between 0 carbs (Ocean Whitefish) to 3% (the beef products).

file:///C:/Users/Summernole/Desktop/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart%20(1).pdf If you can't open this let me know and we will find another way to attach it.
 

Attachments

Thank you!

I tried testing him at +3 and failed four times so I decided to give him a 30 minute break. Is 83 a good thing or a bad thing at this point? Should I be concerned?

When should his next test be?
 
I had to run out real quick so there's a possibility he ate a bit of the civvie's food (still LC wet). He has gone up from 83 to 85. I can't figure him out either. Is it better to subject to three or four consecutive test hours and make sure there is no food involved at some point possibly tomorrow?

Thank you.

Also I am now home with no interruptions and able to test any time.
 
I am not the right person to be advising you but I would say to keep testing, on the hour, to make sure he starts to come up. If he ate a little l/c that should be fine. You are new to the green numbers so continue to check, on the hour, until he comes up, without food, for two hours. I'm hoping to bring in some better help for you but his numbers are really good. Don't stop testing now. Let's make sure he starts coming up first. It is the weekend and we might not get a lot of support. Can you change your "thread title" to add a "?". It should bring more attention. Let me know if you don't understand.
 
From my end it shows a question mark, but I will remove it and do it again in case it's just a glitch. I will for sure test him on the hour and if someone suggests it, more often. I am hopeful and super nervous about these numbers.

Thank you. I really appreciate your support.
 
so there's a possibility he ate a bit of the civvie's food (still LC wet). He has gone up from 83 to 85. I can't figure him out either.
That's actually what you want to do. When you first see a green number, it can help to give them a couple tsp of LC food to help them "surf" or hold steady at those numbers. And it looks like it worked this time. Once you have more experience with him in lower numbers, you'll get a better idea when to test him. An hour for a number in the 80's would be good for data gathering. Once you see two hours in a row of flat or rising numbers, you are safe to relax the testing.

As for food, some vendors websites (Weruva comes to mind) actually have their carb% on the website, or you can sometimes find posts here where someone has done the calculations already. Was there a particular type you were wondering about?
 
Thank you. That information is super helpful. I will test him today until he starts to rise and hopefully tomorrow there will be a repeat.

If I understand correctly, the best thing to do would be to test, feed, shoot, and then withhold food til his numbers drop? After that give small bits of food and test on the hour to see what happens unless there is a further drop?

I am not nearly as stressed out as last time he showed green because his numbers aren't too low and it wasn't a preshot situation.

Do I need to do anything special for his PMPS cycle?
 
As for food, some vendors websites (Weruva comes to mind) actually have their carb% on the website, or you can sometimes find posts here where someone has done the calculations already. Was there a particular type you were wondering about?

I have been looking at the posts and prefer to stick with Friskies and FF pates because they align more closely with my budget. I was having difficulty finding higher carb food for his hypo kit and was confused about how just adding up the numbers didn't give a proper carb count. Companies don't to out of their way to make it easy.
 
If I understand correctly, the best thing to do would be to test, feed, shoot, and then withhold food til his numbers drop?
No need to withhold food. Let me start this by ECID or each cat is different, but some cats do steep drops at onset when the numbers start dropping. Steep drops can cause bounces, so if FCC likes those steep drops, it's actually good to feed 1/2 hour or so before the onset, so he has fresh carbs on board to slow the drop. Onset is typically between +2 and +3 on Lantus (though I've seen some a little later, some a little earlier) so your job is to figure out when it is for FCC. I'm thinking closer to +2 from data I see so far.

The Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers are HC. As are some of the Firstmate, though it's nicer to get small cans as you don't go through a lot at once (one hopes at least).
 
Lets see how his PMPS is. Please, continue to use the "?" if you are concerned. You have done really well today. This is all new to you so just be careful and monitor as much as you can. What is his latest test? I haven't seen anything for a while now. I won't be around much longer but hopefully @Wendy & Neko will be.
 
No need to withhold food. Let me start this by ECID or each cat is different, but some cats do steep drops at onset when the numbers start dropping. Steep drops can cause bounces, so if FCC likes those steep drops, it's actually good to feed 1/2 hour or so before the onset, so he has fresh carbs on board to slow the drop. Onset is typically between +2 and +3 on Lantus (though I've seen some a little later, some a little earlier) so your job is to figure out when it is for FCC. I'm thinking closer to +2 from data I see so far.

The Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers are HC. As are some of the Firstmate, though it's nicer to get small cans as you don't go through a lot at once (one hopes at least).

Thanks, I have a few of the grilled in gravy cans as a starter and thought I should probably find a can or two that is even higher in carbs. I will get more +2s and +3s on the same day so it hopefully becomes clear. I figured out last night that he would rather I poke his right ear continuously than mess with his left ear at all. Hopefully that makes things a little easier for him.

IF you are following TR, you don't do anything different tonight unless he drops below 50.

Okay, thanks.

Lets see how his PMPS is. Please, continue to use the "?" if you are concerned. You have done really well today. This is all new to you so just be careful and monitor as much as you can. What is his latest test? I haven't seen anything for a while now. I won't be around much longer but hopefully @Wendy & Neko will be.

His latest is back 83 (+5.5). Would you suggest testing more often than on the hour? Thank you for your help. Thank you all! I really appreciate it and don't think I could do it without you guys. I will leave the question mark in until his numbers rise and only reinsert it if his PMPS is below normal.

Thanks again. Seriously.
 
He's gone up to 99. I am still keeping my eye on him, but wondering if it's okay to not test until PMPS?

I just want to give his ear a rest.
 
Great looking numbers - if he ate his snacks well I'd give him a pokey break. Soon you'll know when he starts the upturn which way he's headed for the rest of the cycle - Luci is pretty predictable these days - it's early for you to see trends, but it generally looks like he tends to rise in the later part of the cycle.

You're doing a great job btw!!
 
Thank you, couldn't do any of it without the help. He is pretty good at eating his snacks. Sometimes ornery at proper mealtime, but always caves. I will give his poor little ear a break.
 
Don't forget to put the "?" mark back in your post for today if you get to a concern at PMPS. My thinking is that he will be continuing to come up but make sure you get a +2 or +3 after the PMPS shot just to see if he is falling or continuing to come up. You could have a long night monitoring so that is why I said to use the "?" if you are concerned. Good night and you did great today! Be proud of yourself!
 
Don't forget to put the "?" mark back in your post for today if you get to a concern at PMPS. My thinking is that he will be continuing to come up but make sure you get a +2 or +3 after the PMPS shot just to see if he is falling or continuing to come up. You could have a long night monitoring so that is why I said to use the "?" if you are concerned. Good night and you did great today! Be proud of yourself!

I will. Thank you so much.
 
He is in the blues, but trending down (barely) so I think it is okay to go to sleep? I will set an alarm. I'm not sure when the best time to check on him is, but I'm not sure I'll be able to stay awake for another hour.
 
He seems quite flat. How about a test after 2 or 3 hours?

That sounds good. I figured I should test him one more time before tucking in and I will set my alarm for another 2.5 hours from now. If it had been a steep drop I don't think I would feel safe sleeping, but he seems content and also ready for bed.

Unless you think I should stay up with him?
 
Not much seems to have changed. I'm not sure how to handle that. Should I be checking him again tonight?
 
Back
Top