7/17 Doogle PMPS HI+2 507+3 430+6 391+8 305+9 421+10 397

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & Doogle

Member Since 2011
Yesterday Green Condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=75103

AMPS 321........Wish we could have a great green day like yesterday but I know from his numbers now that if he starts out in the 300s then no greens today. On a side note, I rescued a beautiful orange medium hair, fluffy tailed kitty this morning. He showed up a couple of weeks ago and I could tell someone either dumped him or abandoned him. He has been staying in my backyard for the entire time. I already feed two other strays (one with a neck wound that I have been treating and one with HIV) so I just started feeding him. He would stand at my steps and meow waiting for me to come out. He wouldnt let me touch him at first but with time and just sitting and talking to him, he finally let me pet him. Well this morning I saw the opportunity to catch him and take him to the vet. He has a clean bill of health, less than a year old and is getting neutered today. We will pick him up tomorrow (thought an overnight stay would be better than being accosted by 12 kitties while groggy). So yeah, my 12 is now 13.....people really think I am crazy, but I dont know of anyone to give him a home and most people only want kittens. I cant stand to see him outside and sad. He didnt deserve being thrown away like the trash. Hopefully I will get pictures of him....he has these tufts of hair behind his ears that curl back and its not in his ears.
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle AMPS 321

If not green, maybe blue? Always hopeful here in LL. :lol: :lol: That is so sweet about Mr. 13. Will he be an inside kitty? Do the two outside kitties count in your 12, oops, 13? I look forward to pictures when he gets home. What a lucky guy! :-D
Liz
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle AMPS 321+3 54

We have GREEN!! +3 54.....gave him a spoonful of FF to level him. The new kitty will be an inside kitty and the 2 others outside are not included in the 12...lol. So actually a total of 15. The HIV kitty has lived with it for almost 3 years now with no meds. I will check Doogle in an hour. I will most certainly do pictures of all of them very soon!!
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle AMPS 321+3 54

Doogle, you are a bit of a contrarian. Donna, he read his condo and saw "no greens today" and thought, "ha, I'll show her". :mrgreen: :mrgreen: If he's going to pull stunts like that, you might want to get a +2 and try to slow down a bounce-inducing dive with some extra carbs if the +2 is below the PS.

15, you definitely qualify as a crazy cat lady. :lol: :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle AMPS 321+3 54+4 41

+4 41............Feeding a spoonful of HC to bring it up. Not going to panic...lol. I should have gotten a +2 but we had to run out for a couple of hours and to be honest I never expected him to drop that fast. Update in 15 mins
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle AMPS 321+3 54+4 41

Our kitties love to surprise us! We never know what Zener's going to do. Sometimes we guess right before the test, just to amuse ourselves. :lol: :lol: The good news is Doogle gets a reduction for that 41. You will need to test and feed every 20 minutes until you see two rising numbers. Then you can spread it out a bit. He could wobble a bit when the carbs wear off.
Liz
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle AMPS 321+3 54+4 41+4.25 51

Yeah, that is what I am doing. He came up 10 but going to check him again in about 20. I thought he would get a reduction. Already planned for it. See, I am learning so quickly ;-)
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle AMPS 321+3 54+4 41+4.25 51

You are doing great! :-D One little trick you can consider is shooting through the bounce. If he's high tonight you can shoot the previous dose then reduce in the morning. Just shoot the higher dose one time though. You don't know when the bounce will break and you don't want both the bounce breaking and a too-high dose to deal with.
Liz
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle AMPS 321+3 54+4 41+4.25 51

Congrats on the reduction! I love it when kitties read their condos and prove you wrong. Come up a bit Doogle and surf safely now.
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle AMPS 321+3 54+4 41+4.25 51

Well we went down slightly at +4.5 45....so a little more food (even 6 temptations), retested 20 mins later, 56.......little more food now...retest in 20
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle AMPS 321+3 54+4 41+4.25 51

Yep, there's the wobble. Get up on that surfboard, Doogle! I love those greens. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Liz
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle AMPS 321+3 54+4 41+4.25 51

Ok retest, 47 .....cant keep his numbers up and he isnt wanting anymore food (I think he got full)....second verse same as the first.......back in 20
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle AMPS 321+3 54+4 41+5 47 +5.5 57

Ok I think my lucky numbers on the lottery next time will be 47 and 57............just tested and he was 57. Lets hope he goes up. He is coming up on nadir
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle AMPS 321+3 54+4 41+5 47+5.5 57+5.75 73

Little better now............+5.75 73... he was just being stubborn today that is for sure. Funny thing is he really doesnt like the HC food at all (the grilled FF or gravy ones). He is so picky. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle AMPS 321+3 54+4 41+5 47+5.75 73+6 88

+6 88........lets hope he surfs through this nadir....dont think I can get him to eat much more........lol
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle AMPS 321+3 54+4 41+5 47+6 88+7 265

+7 265............Wow what a bounce. Guess it took sometime for it to get into his system. I think we will shot through the bounce tonight. I am pretty sure he will be high. Then reduce in the morning. Thank you :YMHUG: Anne :YMHUG: for being here for me today!
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle AMPS 321+3 54+4 41+5 47+6 88+7 265+8 567

+8 567.............ok he is really high. Is there anything I can do to slow this down? He still has 4 hours till his shot?
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle AMPS 321+3 54+4 41+5 47+6 88+7 265+8 567

There's not much you can to but let the numbers come back down on their own. What you're probably seeing is the effect of the Temptations. This is why we don't use dry stuff. It kicks in slowly, skyrockets the numbers, and then takes its sweet time to leave your cat's system. It's best to use gravy since you can just feed the gravy so Doogle doesn't get filled up. (Or gravy plus a bit of the solids or a little bit of LC.)

The new kitty sounds beautiful. It is criminal that someone would discard what sounds to be a great cat.
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle AMPS 321+3 54+4 41+5 47+6 88+7 265+8 567

Ok Sienna, I am just afraid I over did it. He was going all over the place. I just hope it gets out soon. I dont know which is worse, to low or to high.
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle AMPS 321+3 54+4 41+5 47+6 88+7 265+8 567

Ouch on that bounce but he'll come back down. It can take up to 6 cycles. :-x If you need a pair of patience pants, Marje has a stunning pair that she freely loans. :roll: :smile: In my viewpoint, this is just another opportunity to gather data. You see what he did with what you fed him. Next time you can try something different and compare. ECID and you will figure out what works best for your boy. In the long run, the high numbers are worse because you can steer the low numbers with food. You are learning how to do that. Good job!
Liz
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle AMPS 321+3 54+4 41+5 47+6 88+7 265+8 567

Aww Donna. I feel for you. I have done the same thing with Checkers. I've given Temptations, cause he loves them, knowing full well, it does what Sienne said. He skyrockets, and all you can do is wait for the stuff to clear the system.
Some cats are more sensitive to the dry junk, and mine is one of them....looks like Doogle is too.

Try not to worry while you wait for him to come down.
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle AMPS 321+3 54+4 41+5 47+6 88+7 265+8 567

Ok, at least he has gone to the litter box so maybe that has helped some. I am all out of chocolate..........maybe I could use those pants.....lol. If these babies only knew what we feel when they are sick.....well maybe its a good things they dont know...lol
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle AMPS 321+3 54+4 41+5 47+6 88+7 265+8 567+9 5

+9 591..............Boy will I be happy when he gets his shot and when he comes down some. I can tell its high when I am testing him and the blood flows easy....even right on the tip. I hate waiting
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle AMPS 321+3 54+4 41+5 47+6 88+7 265+8 567+9 5

(((Donna))) I hate waiting for the shot when they are high, too. I know how you feel.
Liz
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle AMPS 321+3 54+4 41+5 47+6 88+7 265+8 567+9 5

Ok just took a +11 and all it says now is HI.......is he going to come down at all/??? I am freaking out!! I feel helpless.....my stomach is in knots and I cant stop crying....I have made him drink and he goes to the bathroom but its not helping.
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle AMPS 321+6 88+7 265+8 567+9 591+11 HI

I have all the flexibilty I want........will it mess anything up? Like if we shot 15 mins early? Sorry I was in the bathroom with him and getting him to drink water. He likes to drink out of a large cup with cold water so that is what I did.
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle AMPS 321+6 88+7 265+8 567+9 591+11 HI

Like Sienne said, with those numbers and alread being so close to shot time, you can shoot early. Just remember that tomorrow morning's shot will be 12 hours from when you shoot tonight.

Hugs...This is an ugly bounce, but Doogle will come back down!!
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle PMPS HI

PMPS HI.....we decided to just wait it out and shot at his normal time (we figured better than possibly throwing things off). So let see how things go. Should I hold off feeding him till he starts coming down so he doesnt get more carbs in him (even low carbs)? I NEVER want to go through this again. It just strang how fast he dropped this morning at +3. My husband wonders if he could have accidently got some in his vein. Doogle moved slightly while trying to play with something when we were giving it to him.
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle PMPS HI

Ok, I will go do that.....I am going to feed myself too. My stomach was so messed up I didnt even want to look at food. I ate all the chocolate I had. I can never thank yall enough for helping me and getting me through this. I feel like such a whimp compared to everyone here. And here I was telling someone on the FB group page about testing and food. I will be back in an hour. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle PMPS HI

If it gives you any comfort, there are other out there, ahem, Neko, who have gone Hi before and lived to tell the tale. Once she even got down to yellows in the same cycle. Just make sure you are doing the ketone testing with Doogle that high. I've even been so embarrassed by the Hi that I used my backup Contour (which reads lower on high numbers) and used those readings. Of course, there were times when both read Hi. :oops:
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle PMPS HI

We've all been through it. That's why we're so nice. We know how hard it is. :roll: :lol: You are doing a terrific job with Doogle. This disease is just really tough. (((((Donna))))) He'll come down.
Liz
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle PMPS HI

Well he ate some and drank a good bit of water then went to the litter box. So hopefully that helped.
 
Re: 7/17 Doogle PMPS HI+2 507

+2 507 ..........better than we were a couple of hours ago, so I am feeling a little better but I dont think I will sleep well tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top