7/17 Cleo Caturday Report

Status
Not open for further replies.

chriscleo

Member Since 2009
hi, guys

starting with the good news first, cleo's blood glucose numbers have been pretty good this week.
71-174 most of the time. her preshot yesterday afternoon was 57 so i did not shoot before i had to go out. didn't get back til +20 and her number was 207, which is pretty good. she has a big shed, so she'll recover from the late shot by tonight.

bad news, vets are still thinking her lymphoma has developed into leukemia so we're gonna change her lymphoma treatment again if her numbers are still bad on monday. so please cross fingers for us that on monday her lymphocyte count and whatnot are improved. if they aren't we'll proceed to change protocols. i figure they really can't be better because she got the chemo late, as we had to wait for testing, aspirates, and a 2nd opinion from another on-staff oncologist. i just kept feeling her regular oncologist was dawdling a bit so it seemed safer to see what the fully board certified onco vet had to say. otherwise it may have been another 2 months before we tackled this. he's the one who finally used the word leukemia (not the feline leukemia virus but the regular leukemia that affects the bone marrow).

her regular oncologist wants to do a bone marrow aspirate and i'm not sure whether that's painful or will really tell us anything so i'm going to have to follow up on that.


at times i feel so down and afraid about cleo. we're about a year into her lymphoma crisis and nothing has been easy. month after month of pills, poison, tests, pokes, procedures, vets, specialists, and no remission so far. but she's still acting like herself even tho she's back down to 9 pounds (losing about a half pound every month). i'm still getting at least 4Ps out of her most of the time, so we're by no means down for the count. (the playing part is less frequent tho i managed to irritate the !#$% outta her and get her to play footsie with me the other night. she was a little mad but decided to play anyway. lol :) )


really sorry about all the sad news on lantus this week. it was our week to get hit hard, which sucks so much. hoping we'll all get much better news from here on out.
 
Definitely some healing vines and comforting snowflakes headed your way...

Your neighbors might be mad about the snowflakes -the summer is already short enough!
 
((((Chris)))) I'm glad you posted an update here today.

I'm liking the good news, not so much the bad news, but if you see Cleo acting like herself, take that as a positive sign.
You're a good mom to her, doing the best you can, she luvs u lots for it.

I love that she gets mad and breaks down to play, so sweet.
I kinda do the same around here - oh, you dont wanna play? you just wanna play when you wanna play and not when I wanna play? too bad! we're playing!
They always give in. cat_pet_icon

Keeping you both in my prayers and thoughts and many many healing vines for Cleo. ((((hugs))))
 
Chris
We are still dumping those Canadian snowflake on you and Cleo.
Maybe we won't have any left for our winters here.

I am glad to hear that there is good news and she is acting well.
Praying for you for sme more good news on Monday.
Keep the updates coming!
 
I'm sorry ((((Chris))). Fingers crossed for better news on Monday. Cancer sucks. I'm glad that she is not feeling too bad most of the time. Hang in there, Chris. I think of you guys often.
 
"we're about a year into her lymphoma crisis and nothing has been easy"

oh (((chris)))... (((cleo)))...
I don't think I realized it had been that long.
I really admire your strength and dedication.
sending you more snowflakes and good wishes!
 
I didn't realize it had been almost a year either. I think it's amazing that Cleo is doing so well, and I hope she can keep that up. If it is leukemia, then that is another thing to deal with, but Cleo is a fighter and I know she'll do the best she can.

Sending more snowflakes and healing vines for Cleo...
 
(((Chris))) and (((Cleo))) I am sending you positive vibes for your Monday vet visit. I am sorry to hear that Cleo has this I was not aware but hope that things will turn out for the both of you. My heart goes out to the both of you.
 
i liked the good news not so much the bad news. All crossed for a good report on Monday, Prayers, white light, snowflakes and Reiki on their way.
 
Hi (((Chris)))... This year has really flown by! She has certainly come a long way...
and you are such a dedicated and loving bean.. she is a very lucky kitty! Even if you do irritate her with the footsie game... :mrgreen:

Sending my prayers for a good outcome on Monday!
 
thank you for the good wishes. we will take all we can get.
hesitated to post our need for support on monday because i know others have had it even worse this week. been delaying posting because of it.
nobody should have to go through this. it is so so darned hard.
 
Hoping Cleo's counts will be better on Monday. Glad to hear that through it all, she's still feeling pretty much like herself. And 4 out of 5 P's ain't bad at all!! Hang in there!
 
(((((((((((((( chris )))))))))))))))

re the bone marrow aspirate -- it does take anethesia to do and so there is that risk and recovery to factor in. Doing it they would be able to confirm the dx. Ask if they would change her treatment if it was not done.
and if they meds they would put her on w/ the additional dx would be any different then if you were to up the protocol for her lymphoma. do you know what they are wanting to add/change to her chemo meds?
Are they basing the leuk dx on cbc alone? I know I read your other post but I forgot . :roll:
I would think given her status that a protocol change might be in order anyways.
What are you thinking of all this ? ( notice I didn't saying feeling cause that's altogether a different story )

Hoping things go well on Monday.

Sending lots of snow and vines for cleo. ( and to share w/ her furry siblings that have health issues too )
I'm glad she played w/ you annoyed or not and that she is a happy cat.
 
cheryl, 2nd opinion onco vet says leukemia dx is from lymphocytes in peripheral circulation based on CBC + aspirates. original onco vet now seems to agree. but says she wouldn't feel definitive about it without bone marrow aspirate.

the protocol we'd return to would be her initial one that made her so sick: leukeran + pred. otherwise we'd up her schedule to ccnu every 4 weeks like we also started with when we switched to ccnu. i keep asking about wisconsin-madison but they blow me off re that.

i'm sure her onco vet won't be thrilled but i think i'm going to have to start grilling her. wondering what's REALLY going on and what all her options really are. we caught this so early we should not be where we are now, as if we only just started.

in the meantime, miss cleo is hanging on me purring her head off, so it's time to stuff her with pills and shoot her up. lol.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top