chriscleo
Member Since 2009
hi, guys
starting with the good news first, cleo's blood glucose numbers have been pretty good this week.
71-174 most of the time. her preshot yesterday afternoon was 57 so i did not shoot before i had to go out. didn't get back til +20 and her number was 207, which is pretty good. she has a big shed, so she'll recover from the late shot by tonight.
bad news, vets are still thinking her lymphoma has developed into leukemia so we're gonna change her lymphoma treatment again if her numbers are still bad on monday. so please cross fingers for us that on monday her lymphocyte count and whatnot are improved. if they aren't we'll proceed to change protocols. i figure they really can't be better because she got the chemo late, as we had to wait for testing, aspirates, and a 2nd opinion from another on-staff oncologist. i just kept feeling her regular oncologist was dawdling a bit so it seemed safer to see what the fully board certified onco vet had to say. otherwise it may have been another 2 months before we tackled this. he's the one who finally used the word leukemia (not the feline leukemia virus but the regular leukemia that affects the bone marrow).
her regular oncologist wants to do a bone marrow aspirate and i'm not sure whether that's painful or will really tell us anything so i'm going to have to follow up on that.
at times i feel so down and afraid about cleo. we're about a year into her lymphoma crisis and nothing has been easy. month after month of pills, poison, tests, pokes, procedures, vets, specialists, and no remission so far. but she's still acting like herself even tho she's back down to 9 pounds (losing about a half pound every month). i'm still getting at least 4Ps out of her most of the time, so we're by no means down for the count. (the playing part is less frequent tho i managed to irritate the !#$% outta her and get her to play footsie with me the other night. she was a little mad but decided to play anyway. lol
)
really sorry about all the sad news on lantus this week. it was our week to get hit hard, which sucks so much. hoping we'll all get much better news from here on out.
starting with the good news first, cleo's blood glucose numbers have been pretty good this week.
71-174 most of the time. her preshot yesterday afternoon was 57 so i did not shoot before i had to go out. didn't get back til +20 and her number was 207, which is pretty good. she has a big shed, so she'll recover from the late shot by tonight.
bad news, vets are still thinking her lymphoma has developed into leukemia so we're gonna change her lymphoma treatment again if her numbers are still bad on monday. so please cross fingers for us that on monday her lymphocyte count and whatnot are improved. if they aren't we'll proceed to change protocols. i figure they really can't be better because she got the chemo late, as we had to wait for testing, aspirates, and a 2nd opinion from another on-staff oncologist. i just kept feeling her regular oncologist was dawdling a bit so it seemed safer to see what the fully board certified onco vet had to say. otherwise it may have been another 2 months before we tackled this. he's the one who finally used the word leukemia (not the feline leukemia virus but the regular leukemia that affects the bone marrow).
her regular oncologist wants to do a bone marrow aspirate and i'm not sure whether that's painful or will really tell us anything so i'm going to have to follow up on that.
at times i feel so down and afraid about cleo. we're about a year into her lymphoma crisis and nothing has been easy. month after month of pills, poison, tests, pokes, procedures, vets, specialists, and no remission so far. but she's still acting like herself even tho she's back down to 9 pounds (losing about a half pound every month). i'm still getting at least 4Ps out of her most of the time, so we're by no means down for the count. (the playing part is less frequent tho i managed to irritate the !#$% outta her and get her to play footsie with me the other night. she was a little mad but decided to play anyway. lol
really sorry about all the sad news on lantus this week. it was our week to get hit hard, which sucks so much. hoping we'll all get much better news from here on out.