7/16 Tigger amps/267 +2/299 +6/291 last2cycles level hi 200s

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tigger's Friend

Member Since 2013
Hi Lantus Land,

Tigger got a dose increase to 1.5u. on 7/13 & has been doing his usual run to 450+ (496 last) when he goes blue (if blue, is NOT then red, Tigger!), but is now leveling out in the high 200s the last 2 cycles. I do prefer yellow to pink for certain, but..........Today is Day #4.

2:30PM blood ketones are .5 (higher normal) & all Tigger's urine ketone tests have been normal. Missed Tigger's urine test today - have another sick cat home from the ER @ 3:30 AM

Tigger's got all the 5 p's

Does this look pretty normal at 2+ weeks? Any comments?

Also, I futzed the syringe last night while inserting into the pen - finger twitched & plunger pulled back a wee bit, then finger went back on & plunger went back to orig. position, causing a small air bubble in the pen. The plunger was essentially at "0" - but when my finger twitched the plunger lost the "tightly 'squished" mode & relaxed. It immediately re-squished again, causing the small air bubble. :sad: Do you think the pen is ruined now?
 
Re: 7/16 Tigger amps/267 +2/299 +6/291 last2cycles level hi

Hi Suzanne!

I'm too new to really advise you, but I know the TR protocol pretty well at this point.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

From looking at Tigger's SS, you could probably increase the .25, but if it were me, I'd probably wait until AM....just so if he did have a hypo, it wouldn't be in the dead of night

Hopefully some more experienced eyes will be along to help advise you
 
Re: 7/16 Tigger amps/267 +2/299 +6/291 last2cycles level hi

Hi Chris, good to meet you. Thanks for sharing that information, I appreciate it. I almost always like to verify I'm not making a mistake by doing an increase - I'm still so new with Lantus I can't always tell if the bounce is finished or not!
 
Re: 7/16 Tigger amps/267 +2/299 +6/291 last2cycles level hi

Hey Suzanne

The TR protocol guides us to hold the dose for 3-5 days if nadirs are blue 200. Tigger has had a bit of blue and bounced from it. I think he could still be in a a bit of a bounce but he didn't go too low when he cleared before. I think you have room to increase to 1.75u.

I'd keep an eye on the insulin. The bubbles don't matter but just be sure no floaties or o.ther particles develop in it.

Good luck with the increase.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top