7/16 Snoball AMPS=128 PMPS=221

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobinCot

Member Since 2013
yesterday

I do not want to punish him for low numbers so I went ahead an gave him his morning shot - especially since he showed no signs of hypo yesterday. I did leave out some high carb treats. He was perfectly happy this morning and very alert - a real lovebug. I am a little nervous but hey, low numbers are what we want and to not shoot means higher numbers in the evening.

I hope I did the right thing. He has his first vet appointment tonight from which I will get new insulin. I will have to watch him closely on the new juice because it may be more potent.
 
Re: 7/16 Snoball AMPS=128

maybe get a +2 test to see what's next.
A significant drop from ps to a +2 can indicate a possible active cycle.

Paws crossed for a good vet visit.
 
Re: 7/16 Snoball AMPS=128

Hi guys .. great start to the day! You shot just a hair lower then this a few nights ago and snowball surfed nicely so fingers crossed he does the same again today! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 7/16 Snoball AMPS=128

I do think that worry caused me to be a little conservative in measuring his dose this morning. It was probably more of a 1.25 than a 1.50. Gosh, I hope he's alright.
 
Re: 7/16 Snoball AMPS=128

I don't know your work schedule but sometimes it helps to re-think the shot time....so that you can get an additional test before running out the door. It at least helps you to not
feel like you don't know what's going on at all during the day.

I had to rethink it all myself because my DH wakes up extremely early and we had a routine that he fed breakfast.
I was trying to hold on to my usual sleep pattern.
But her getting food before I got up was affecting the numbers.... so I had to think outside the box and change.
When I got up with him and did the test, feed, shot.... it was suddenly better. And I'd usually just go back to bed for another hour or two....


But there are some here who work more than 8 hour days so they can't do it.
 
Re: 7/16 Snoball AMPS=128

rhiannon and shadow said:
so that you can get an additional test before running out the door

Sorry - that's impossible. I run around like at crazy woman from 5:30 to 6:45 am thawing, feeding, testing, cleaning up, placing baby gates, wound caring etc. The last hectic 15 minutes are when I get dressed, dry my hair, throw on makeup, take medication and dash out the door with the garbage. Another test during this chaos is just not doable. If I didn't give the shot this am it would be the second morning in a row of no shot. I am not sure that intermittent shots are going to do him any good. I will be lowering his dose this week in preparation for vacation next week when no testing will be done and because I will be getting a new pen. I wonder if I should start lowing to 1.25u tonight.
 
Good vet visit. Snoball weighed in at a whopping 9 lbs 13 oz and has some gingivitis but is otherwise healthy. We still have some weight to gain.
The vet liked that I am testing and suggested that we lower the dose from 1.5 to 1.0 for vacation week. I shot 1.25u tonight and will stay there until Monday when catsitter will shoot 1u BID.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top