7/16 Shadow amps 117 pmps 322

Status
Not open for further replies.

rhiannon and shadow (GA)

Member Since 2012
Hello.

Reading all over today and saw guideline on the relaxed lantus.
*** Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin

I know that will spike Shadow back up for our pmps.

Was really feeling optimistic today ( I only have pessimist hats :sad: )
and have been checking on other cats values and found that maybe I'm not understanding it all as well as I thought I was.
I was looking at Rusty's ss on the tight protocol and noticing they too have many occasions with what I thought was a good number for the amps
and still shooting the insulin.
So Should I have skipped Shadow's shot like I did?
Should I have just decreased it?

So now I'm feeling uncertain. Did I misunderstand ?

I'd like some input and I will continue posting numbers as I can.
Shadow really hates the ear prick so I hate to increase testing too much before her ears give blood more freely after a little more time passes.



https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... xVmc#gid=0
 
Re: 7/16 Shadow amps 117 questions

Here is my take on it...

For those who are newer to giving their cat insulin and have little data on what their cat will do when shooting lower numbers (ie/under 150), OR those who are not able to test frequently it is safest to NOT shoot. That said, yes, you will likely hamper progress. If it is happening too often, where you don't feel comfortable shooting, then it is often suggested to decrease the dose a bit so you CAN give insulin 2x/day.

When you get a lower than usual number (above 50, tho) you can shoot the full dose IF you will be there to monitor (usually getting a +1, +2, +3...and respective tests if numbers continue to drop), you have plenty of strips, h/c food, and karo.

There are other options such as retesting in 30 minutes (but not feeding) to see if the number is rising or dropping. If dropping, you can decide to skip,, or continue waiting for a rising number. Of course stalling can cause schedule problems, so that must be considered. If the number is rising than you may feel more comfortable shooting. Just remember you still want to monitor
Some people will shoot a big chicken shot (BCS). This is a reduced dose. Again....you should monitor.


Now, the good news is...you did nothing wrong! :mrgreen:
Anytime you skip, stall, or reduce a dose you collect more data on how you could handle it next time.

I think you made the safest choice under the circumstances. :thumbup

Here is a link to some information on shooting low numbers:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

Did I make sense?
 
Re: 7/16 Shadow amps 117 questions

Another suggestion...
If you get a +10, +11, OR +11.5 you will be more prepared because you can see if your cat's BG is rising, dropping, or staying put come shot time.
 
rhiannon and shadow said:
Should I go back to 1 Unit or less.
kinda leaning toward .5



https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... xVmc#gid=0

Hi Rhiannon!
I guess the answer to your question depends on your goals with Shadow AND how much you are able/willing to monitor.

There is no data so far that shows a dose reduction is in order (according to 'protocol'). However, if you get a low preshot #, shoot it and monitor, you may see him earn a reduction. The ball is in your court with that decision.

I noticed somewhere you mentioned that you feed before test/shooting. When do you feed in correlation to the shot?

Just a side note...you should be able to include Shadow's ss in your signature, rather than posting it everytime. Do you know how to do that?

Hope today goes well for you guys. :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top