? 7/16 Phoenix, AMPS 55 Do I hold on Injection?

Scdal

Member Since 2020
@Bandit's Mom
Please anyone answer if needed. Phoenix did great all day yesterday and his BG held steady. Between +11 and this morning' s AMPS, he dropped fast. His BG is 55. I did feed Phoenix but am holding off on his insulin until I get some advice. I will check his BG again in 15 minutes. Thank you
 
When did he last eat? Can you monitor if you shoot? Do you have enough supplies?
There have been times he has zoomed after breakfast and with TR, you can shoot any number over 50, if you can monitor.

Link to prev post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...500-all-week-cant-get-it-to-stay-down.265846/
I fed him after seeing his BG was 55 but I haven't given Phoenix his insulin yet. I just checked his BG again and it is 68. This is 20 minutes after eating. Should I give Phoenix his full dose of 10 units? I can monitor all day and I do have plenty of fancy feast hc and honey if needed.

Thank you , Bhooma, for your help. You were so right yesterday. Phoenix certainly can keep me on my toes. Yesterday, I post because I am worried about his BG being over 500. Today, I post worried about his BG being 55.
 
Should I give Phoenix his full dose of 10 units? I can monitor all day and I do have plenty of fancy feast hc and honey if needed.
I think you can. It might be another manic Phoenix cycle where you are pouring honey down his throat but since he's finally seeing good numbers and you can monitor, you don't want to skip or give a token dose.

Yesterday, I post because I am worried about his BG being over 500. Today, I post worried about his BG being 55.
That's FD for you! :rolleyes:
 
I think you can. It might be another manic Phoenix cycle where you are pouring honey down his throat but since he's finally seeing good numbers and you can monitor, you don't want to skip or give a token dose.


That's FD for you! :rolleyes:
I think you can. It might be another manic Phoenix cycle where you are pouring honey down his throat but since he's finally seeing good numbers and you can monitor, you don't want to skip or give a token dose.


That's FD for you! :rolleyes:
Thank you, Bhooma, Phoenix is now at 73 BG. I will go ahead and give him his 10 units. It still amazes me how the internet gives us the ability to get help from halfway around the world in seconds. You are in India and I am in Texas. I guess my old age is showing by this remark.

Thanks again, Bhooma, I am so lucky to have found you to advise me. Your advice is amazing and I know others greatly appreciate your help as well. I hope you are having a wonderful day.
 
Hi Susan I saw on your previous post that Bhooma linked in post @2 that Suzanne had asked
Question: Have you had him tested for insulin autoantibodies (IAA) or Acromegaly? With his high dose, something seems to be causing insulin resistance. Sorry if you have had him tested. I looked at your signature and didn’t see anything, so I am simply inquiring.


I was also wondering too :cat:
Nice seeing all those blues after AMPS :bighug::cat:
Do you have a pic of Phoenix ?
Would love to see one
 
Back
Top