7/16, Merlin, AMPS 155.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Msbrigitta

Member Since 2012
Hi everybody, after a day with fairly high numbers in the 200's, even 300's, this morning's preshot is 155! What do I do now? Shoot 0.5?
Thanks for any suggestions.
 
Re: 7/16, Merlin, AMPS 155. Now what?

Hi guys, I don't think I've been to your condo before, so welcome from us! I looked at your SS and it looks like you have already given the .5? If that's correct, please make sure you grab a +1 and a +2. Since this is the lowest number you've shot you'll want to make sure merlin doesn't drop to low on you ..Others I am sure will be by soon!
 
Re: 7/16, Merlin, AMPS 155. Now what?

Hi - Brigitta, is it? I'm sorry, I can't find your profile!

I take it from your SS that Merlin is newly diagnosed? Or just newly on Lantus? I'd like to pitch in with some thoughts, but I'd love to have a bit more background info, if you could?

What does Merlin eat? Do you have HC in the house? Are you able
to stall a bit to try to get a rising BG at least? Have you ever shot a BG like this? Sorry for all the questions - it's a bit tricky to give advice with little info on the kitty :-)

Jane
 
Re: 7/16, Merlin, AMPS 155. Now what?

PeterDevonMocha said:
Hi guys, I don't think I've been to your condo before, so welcome from us! I looked at your SS and it looks like you have already given the .5? If that's correct, please make sure you grab a +1 and a +2. Since this is the lowest number you've shot you'll want to make sure merlin doesn't drop to low on you ..Others I am sure will be by soon!

Devon, right? (Again, can't see bean info on Mocha's profile! I'm probably just being tech slow!) Thanks for being here. Sorry about cross-posting :-) Timing is everything!
Jane
 
Re: 7/16, Merlin, AMPS 155. Now what?

Hi Jane, Yes he's newly diagnosed. No, we've never shot this low. Yes I have HC and Syrup in the house.
He's on Lantus now for 4 days, before that on Humulin N for 2 weeks and he's on Fancy Feast Classic for 4 days now.

He ate a lot after his AMPS and is doing OK at the moment.

Thanks for helping out,
Brigitta
 
Re: 7/16, Merlin, AMPS 155. Now what?

Yes Jane, Devon here (it's almost always me!) Sounds like you got everything under control with the supplies in the house .. how is merlin feeling? Acting? has it been an hour yet?
 
Re: 7/16, Merlin, AMPS 155. Now what?

Sorry guys, had a lot going on here, I knew you were anxious to hear from us. Well, ...please don't fall all over me..., but I didn't test until +3 and it came back as 274.
He was hungry at the AMPS and ate a lot, than he was awake the whole time and wanted food at 9.30, ate another half a can and was just doing fine and dandy.
I know I took a little bit of a risk but as I said, I was watching him real close.
Do you think I have to give him another 0.5 U ?

Next time I'll probably feed him a little after a low AMPS and than test again before shooting maybe his normal dose?

Thanks again, I really appreciate you being there and I'll work on a profile,
Brigitta
 
Re: 7/16, Merlin, AMPS 155. Now what?

Do you mean, should you give him another .5 right now? If that is your question, then no, do not give him more insulin. Lantus is dosed on a 12/12 schedule .. If you mean, is that the dose you should give him tonight, I'm not sure .. but others will be by and can probably help you figure out a dose ..

I know you said you were watching him real close, which is good, but I just want to say that was the lowest PS number you've shot, and you weren't sure what he was going to do .. it was probably better to get the +1 and +2 in a situation like that, because if a cat drops numbers quickly, they do not always show hypo symptoms .. We've caught mocha down in the 20's before (WAY to low!) and she was not acting any different then when she was up in the 200's .. So please remember that outward appearances don't always tell the full story :-D
 
Actually, it's Devon who posts (not Peter)!

Just as an FYI, our rule of thumb, as it were, is if you are shooting a low number, especially if its the lowest number you've ever shot, you want to get a +1 and a +2. There was no way to know if Merlin's numbers were going to go up or down.

I also want to strongly encourage you (i.e., twist your arm) to get at least one test during the PM cycle. Many cats have lower numbers at night so getting a spot check or two can be very important. Also, if you don't test at night, you're missing half of your data.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top