7/16 Dusty amps 245 (2.5u)

Status
Not open for further replies.

dustyboy4

Member Since 2010
So sorry I haven't had any time to post lately. I kept forgetting to enter Dusty's BG into his SS. Just to give everyone an update, Dusty finally made a turn around on 7/11.

I still can't figure out how to relay back to my previous condo's so please forgive me and if Marje see this, well any help I can get.

Dusty was still dehydrated on 7/10 and wasn't eating much at all so we returned to the vet's office on that day to get more sub fluid. With the dehydration came constipation and during the wee hours of 7/11 I thought I was going to loose Dusty. He was having a constipation episode again just like he had several weeks ago (when his vet didn't believe me when I told her I thought he was constipated) except this time with every labored breath he took, he would make a little cry in his throat. I just kept lightly rubbing his belly. After several hours of this, he finally pooed just a little bit and and thankfully his pain eased.

After that, for 3 days straight I gave him 1/8 tsp mirilax mixed with lots of water in his food twice a day. He's down to 1 dose per day now and he continues to improve and by me saying this I hope I don't jinx things. He's Purring, Pooping, Peeing, Preening and Dusty is now an eating machine. Dusty was down to 8.2 lbs when I took him in for this latest vet visit. We can even tell his face if filling out again and I hope this means he is gaining some weight. He's even getting around better and has even trotted beside me walking to his food dish. All this time, I continued to have hope, but honestly I can't believe how fast he has improved. I'm just so thankful.

The only thing I haven't seen Dusty return to is jumping and I'm hoping since I continue to give Zobaline every day that it is helping with any neuropathy he has. I haven't purchased "Fish oil" yet, for possible arthritis but I still have it in my mental grocery to do list. I kept telling my husband and sister that since with the use of Lantus Dusty's BG is down that if I could get all the other factors to align that I felt he would get better. I had love and hope and they bith think I'm crazy. I've spent several sleep deprived nights of lately tending to Dusty and I'm finally seeing results. My husband, bless his heart, calls Dusty my experiment. :roll: I don't consider him an experiment at all. I know he would do the same for me if he were human, he's very loyal. Also after this last episode Dusty has finally stopped waking me up every 1 to 2 hours for food. For the last 4 nights he has let me sleep all night until 5:30 a.m. before he comes and gets me up. :mrgreen: I guess he knows I'm worn out.

Now, I'm going to concentrate on finding Dusty a new vet. I'll be using the suggestions from the message board on interviewing vets. With all the intensive care and working 40 hrs per week I haven't had time to get this accomplished but soon, very soon. There has to be one (at least one) vet close to me that will work with me and know something about FD. I'll be checking out one suggestion already made, first and go from there. Please say a prayer for me and wish us luck.
 
Hi guys .. wow, so many things going on! I'm so so glad that Dusty made such a turn around and continues to improve for you .. Some people do think we're crazy for all the love and devotion we give to our furbabies .. but we are the ones who reap the rewards of it! Have a great day guys!
 
Hi Elaine! Here's the link for Dusty's last condo, 7/5 if anyone would like to refer back to it.

You've got lots on your mind with looking after Dusty and switching vets! It's great that his appetite has improved, too! So don't worry too much, everyone can just search your posts to find the last one or someone else can post the link for you like I did above. But when you have a bit of time and want to play around with the computer, here are the instructions as clear as I can make them to make a link to your last condo:

To find your last condo, especially if it's been a while and you don't see it on the board, look near the top of the screen (just under the logo for the FDMB, two lines down) and you will see it says User Control Panel . . . View your posts. Click on "View Your Posts". Then you can find the last condo title. Click on it to go to it. Then in the address bar of your browser, select all the text (it will look something like "http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/abunchofstuff..." )by clicking with your mouse or dragging over it until it's highlighted. Right click with your mouse over the highlighted text and choose "Copy". That puts the address of your last post in your computer memory.

Now go to the Lantus TR page where you want to post, and click New Topic just like you did to post this. In the box above where you are typing, there are a bunch of little grey buttons. Click the one near the middle that says URL. It will put some text in your post that looks like this:

Now click so that your cursor is right after the "l" in the first "url" but before the closing square bracket that follows the first "l". Type an equal sign =
Now you are going to insert the address of your last post. Right-click with your mouse again, right in that spot where you put the cursor, and this time click "Paste". That same long string of text starting with "http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/..." will appear.

The last step is to put in the name of the link, like "Dusty's last condo" or "Yesterday" or whatever you want people to see. You type the name right between the first "url" and the second "/url", between the end brackets of the first one and the starting brackets of the second one.

It sounds complicated but after you do it a few times it will be second nature!
 
Amy thank you for the step by step. It makes so much sense. Maybe this time when I try I will achieve my goal. Thank you again.
 
Elaine, what scary times you had with Dusty. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: Sorry you had to go through that with the vet. I wish you all the best in finding someone more sympathetic and willing to list to the person who knows Dusty best - that's you!

Great news that you've managed to sleep through a few nights. :-D :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top