7/16/21 - Squeaky! AMPS =322 +6=488 PMPS 430, +8-316

Jan D & Squeaky

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-15-21-squeaky-amps-242-4-157-pmps-266-8-372.249886/
Mostly if things are going okay I feel I can skip posting a day or two. Also I've got so much going on here..... slept for 3 hours this afternoon because of my rolfing session on Wednesday.

However 488???? Any clues about what, why or other to make me feel more relaxed?

Today's joke:
Question: Where does a cat go when it loses its tail?
Answer: The re-tail store!

We've heard that one before, right? :p

Wishing everyone is doing well.
 
It looks like Squeaky bounced off of the 157 on 7/15. His numbers went up from that point forward.

I also think you're holding on to the dose longer than you need to. With SLGS (it's not GSGL -- so could you change the abbreviation in your signature -- it took me a bit to figure out that's what you meant), you evaluate the dose weekly. You've been at this dose for 11 days. You don't want Squeaky to get used to the higher numbers so it may be time to increase the dose.
 
It looks like Squeaky bounced off of the 157 on 7/15. His numbers went up from that point forward.

I also think you're holding on to the dose longer than you need to. With SLGS (it's not GSGL -- so could you change the abbreviation in your signature -- it took me a bit to figure out that's what you meant), you evaluate the dose weekly. You've been at this dose for 11 days. You don't want Squeaky to get used to the higher numbers so it may be time to increase the dose.

Thanks Sienne. I fixed the signature. Well yes I have read the info pages but I don't always understand things well until I can actually do them well. Everybody's coaching has been helping.

Since he has been having blues, wouldn't that indicate the dose is okay for now? So you think I should increase his insulin? @Bandit's Mom Thank you so much. I appreciate your checking in.
 
Yup! Like Sienne said, even per the SLGS protocol Squeaky is due for an increase.

Okay he just came in at 203 for AMPS. I will increase to 4 units. I have no understanding of the mechanisms behind this decision.

He is definitely used to higher numbers. He feels his best in the low 300s. This morning, for example, at 203, he wouldn't play.
 
Squeaky's nadirs are mostly above 150. That's why you want to increase the dose.

After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
Back
Top