7/15 Tigger AMPS 340, +7 332 Doesn't seem to be responding

Pattylynne and Tigger

Member Since 2021
Tigger started Vetsulin 6/6, was getting fair response but switched to Lantus 6/16. For the first few days he seemed to be responding to the Lantus but had to drop dose from 1 Unit down to .25 U due to some low numbers, lowest was 72 without symptoms. With knowing how he is responding and having more data I probably would not have decreased so much early on. Have been trying to increase dose slowly but back up to 1U and still little observable response. I started with SLGS but have been doing more of a TR very slowly increasing the dose. Have been increasing about 0.2 U every 3 days. I know this doesn't follow protocols exactly but early on he was bouncing so much I think I cut his dose too much. I am concerned with continued high numbers. I can not test him much more often than I am. He is becoming much more resistive to BG checks. Have to use one ear most of time due to an old injury to the other. Can you test on both edges of the ear? Any suggestions? I would like to get his numbers lower but I am quite fearful of hypoglycemia.
Also he switched completely from dry Purina one to Fancy Feast 6/6. His only treats are freeze dried chicken. He is still eating lots but not as thirsty and less urination.
Any help would be appreciated.
 
Here’s your last post for continuity.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...you-dose-0-25-increments.249426/#post-2814159
Bounces occur from either reaching a bg lower than used to or big drops.I think you are testing enough but need to make one adjustment. It looks like his onset might be at +2. So instead of a +3 I would get a +2. If it’s lower than the pmps, it might be an active cycle. Feed a little lc in that case unless you get a blue bg and then get a +3 or +4. If blue feed slightly higher food, maybe 9% to slow him down.
How often are you feeding him? Small meals if dropping, just a few teaspoons can slow the drop.

please add the food you are feeding to your signature. Thanks.
 
I'll put the food on sign. He was free feed on dry previously. Now totally FF. Demands food if plate is empty. He almost always has food out except for an hour or so here and there. PMPS just now was 336. Mid 300's past 24. Will check @2= tonight. Just these flat pinks after dose change confuse me. Patience is not my forte. Thanks for the info.
 
he did drop at 2+ pm dose, 256. In am I will check at 2+ and try for 3 or 4+ to see if he starts up. Just put out his night time food, about 1/2 can FF pate. He will wake me if he's hungry and it's gone. Maybe he's doing better than I thought. Was worried about constantly in 300+.
 
Best to pull his food two hours before AMPS and PMPS until you have a good idea of how much of a food bump he gets. You dint want those tests food influenced as you learn his patterns.
 
Back
Top