7/15 Skooter AMPS 346 +5 193 PMPS +2 367 +4 217 +7.25 334

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
Yesterday:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121767



I tested Skooter and he came in at a whopping 519, to which I told him that was not an acceptable number, after an immediate retest he was 346, while I still say booooooo to the pink, glad it is not black.

I am hoping what I gave him was 2.25, I know it was at least a little bit more than 2, so I am calling it a 2.25...it did not look close to being at the halfway mark, so I think I am safe.....he ate up most of his fuds all in one setting this morning....he did enjoy licking my face today and my hands, so I am glad to see some of his old personality coming through....while he is still not sleeping the ENTIRE night with me, he is snuggling more and more and for longer periods of time, which is nice....I am also trying to make a point of picking him up and snuggling with him other than pokey ear times, so he knows that it is not ALWAYS a pokey when I am holding him :) I am hoping when I come home for lunch he has safely sailed down some....I am guessing it will be between +5 and +6 when I am able to come home....not sure what a safe number would be for him to sail down to by that point, but I would not be against a blue number :)

Hoping everyone has a safe and fantastic day!
~Molly
 
Re: 7/15 Skooter AMPS 346

Good for you going ahead with the dosecrease!

Look at you go...gaining confidence that you're able to DO THIS! :-D :-D

Be a good kitty while your mamabean is off working to earn the money for that good food you're getting now Skooter!
 
Re: 7/15 Skooter AMPS 346

Work that dosecrease, Skooter!!! It is awesome that you are starting to see his old personality shine through. You're right...it's important to give them attention that is not related to treating their diabetes, so they know that what we are doing is out of love.

Surf safely, Skooter!!
 
Re: 7/15 Skooter AMPS 346

HI guys .. yay that some of skooters old habits are coming back! I bet skooter is feeling better and better .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 7/15 Skooter AMPS 346

It's great to hear the Skooter is feeling better. Good idea to give him attention not related to a shot or a blood test. Good luck with the increase.
 
Re: 7/15 Skooter AMPS 346

I think our strategy needs to be to stick as closely to the protocol as we can now that he's on an all wet diet. So, let's give him six cycles and if he's not seeing some good numbers, we will increase.

I'm glad you are seeing him return to his old self in small ways. You should continue to see improvement :-D

On syringes, if you buy calipers and use them to dose, you can use any syringe although I would stay away from BD because they get the worst bubbles and Monojects because they have a hub that contains an immeasurable amount of insulin....sometimes as much as 0.5u.

If you don't use calipers (and that is absolutely fine), then it's just a matter of what syringe you prefer. They all have pros and cons. For example, I don't recall that there was a big issue with bubbles and Relions but the thick lines and the stodginess of the plunger bugged me. I tried Terumos because Julie used them. They glide like a dream but it takes some getting used to on how to get little teeny tiny bubbles out. I think they are probably a bit more accurate than the others but it's personal preference.
 
Re: 7/15 Skooter AMPS 346

WOWZA! What a difference .25 makes!

I am going to get the Relion ones tonight after work (hopefully) and give those a go....I am thinking since Skooter is taking nicely to his frozen meals I am leaving out, if I can save the money on a timed feeder for the time being, investing in the calipers might be the way to go for the time being.

I know I need to continue to be patient while he starts feeling better AND I need to realize that while his numbers may be coming back down, I still need to give him and his body time to adjust to all of the changes going on and it may take a little extra time for that to catch up.

I am curious, now that he is on an all wet diet, his litter box has changed. The poo tends to be smaller, which everyone said it would, but it seems to be a lot darker in color, and I don't remember anyone mentioning that. Is this common?
 
Re: 7/15 Skooter AMPS 346 +5 193

My cats have never had dry food but their stool is medium dark brown.

Nice to see some blue! slide Skooter!
 
Re: 7/15 Skooter AMPS 346 +5 193 PMPS 348

Not impressed Mr. Skooter, however at least I didn't have to do two test to get the number :)

I am encouraged (maybe incorrectly) that Skooter's AMPS and PMPS numbers are only off by a few numbers...looking forward to testing him tonight to see where he decides to meander to seeing as I wasn't able to really test during the day.

I am still thinking I am not portioning out his food correctly. Does everyone else give equal size meals (regardless of how many meals they get) or do you give a couple smaller ones and a couple bigger ones?
 
Re: 7/15 Skooter AMPS 346 +5 193 PMPS 348

OK Skooter, we are greedy to see more blue now!

On raw food, my kitties have different coloured stools depending on what protein they are eating. Red meat produces darker ones than poultry. Maybe a bit TMI, but when you get to raw you'll see some more differences (thinner and even less output).

I think the amount you feed depends on what you are trying to achieve with food. Neko gets a little under 1/2 of her food at PS time, then the rest is split into thirds for 3 other meals (+1, +2, +3) and a tiny bit is part of her snack at +9, which is sometimes her nadir. I'm slowly working on removing one of the other meals but she has a fine sense of entitlement when it comes to meals. :roll: Some cats do a lot of diving between +1 and +2, so a decent sized portion at +1 can slow the drop. On Lantus, Neko used to do some decent drops around +2 to +3 so I'd give her a good size portion at +2.
 
Re: 7/15 Skooter AMPS 346 +5 193 PMPS +2 367

Ummmmm, Skooter? You are going the wrong way!!!

A little stumped....is this a possible bounce or mini bounce since started the day at 346 and hit at least a 193? Or is this possible due to the increase?
 
Re: 7/15 Skooter AMPS 346 +5 193 PMPS +2 367

OH great, so what you are telling me is I have to practice this patience crap again?!?!?!

:lol: :evil: :-Q grr_red :roll:
 
Re: 7/15 Skooter AMPS 346 +5 193 PMPS +2 367 STUPID ? TIME!

I am trying to get myself more familiar with the Tight Regulation Protocol and have a question.....when hold for 3 cycles or 6 cycles etc...does that mean we do the current THROUGH the 3rd or 6th cycle or change AT that cycle?

Let me know if my question does not make sense.
 
Re: 7/15 Skooter AMPS 346 +5 193 PMPS +2 367 STUPID ? TIME!

You hold for a total of 6 cycles or three days. So tonight is cycle 2 of this dose. You go up to and including cycle 6 before possibly making changes. If he were to see green, you'd hold longer than that.
 
Re: 7/15 Skooter AMPS 346 +5 193 PMPS +2 367 +4 217

There is a number more in line with what I want to see! At least he is moving in the right direction.....


This exhausted momma is ready for bed time......
 
Re: 7/15 Skooter AMPS 346 +5 193 PMPS +2 367 +4 217

That's a pretty good drop so I'd grab one more test to be sure he's flat or on the way up. Maybe you can grab a couple hours of sleep and test at +6.

With feeding, as Wendy indicated, it's ECID. You'll just have to experiment and see what works for him and it might need to change.

Better put on those patience pants. You'll need to have several pair most likely :-D
 
Re: 7/15 Skooter AMPS 346 +5 193 PMPS +2 367 +4 217

a +6 it is! I shall set my alarm....in case there isn't some around around....what is considered an "ok" number at +6 based on what he has been testing at?


and a stock tip....invest in Patience Pants.....I have a feeling I will be going through them left and right :P
 
Re: 7/15 Skooter AMPS 346 +5 193 PMPS +2 367 +4 217

I think as long as he's flat or on the way up, you're good by +6. I doubt he will come down but better to be sure.

Be sure you get several colors as well.....mostly stock up on yellow. :lol:
 
Re: 7/15 Skooter AMPS 346 +5 193 PMPS +2 367 +4 217

Mental note...learn the difference between setting the alarm for a +6 and a +7...... :P

Once again did my math wrong, HOWEVER....he is already going up sooooooooooooooo.....off to bed I go....

Though not really enjoying this pink.....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top