7/15 Logan AMPS 139, +0.75 176, +5 264

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly & Logan

Member Since 2009
Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=19745

Logan was high last night at PMPS (392) and had only dropped 60 points by +3 so I figured he wouldn't drop a whole lot last night. I certainly didn't expect to wake up to a 139! :shock: We shot the full dose (I'm second guessing myself now) and I got a test in before I left for work. It was a +0.75 and the reading was 176. That was after he had eaten. I didn't feel like that was much of a rise so I made some moderate carb food for him - I mixed in some Karo syrup with a FF appetizer and he actually ate that! So, hopefully that bumped him a bit more and he'll be in the 200s when the insulin kicks in. I'll go home at lunch. I'm thinking a +5 but maybe I should go for a +4? Thoughts, anyone? I've been telling myself that he wasn't dropping, if anything, he was probably surfing w/o any food on board. So, if he's around 200 when the insulin kicks in at +2 or so, surely he won't drop more than 100 points between then and +5. It's so hard to shoot lower numbers when you can't be there to monitor.

I also left out 1/2 can of Merrick Thanksgiving Day Dinner (12% carbs) but I don't know if he'll eat or not if he drops. THe other cats may end up eating it.
 
Re: 7/15 Logan AMPS 139, +0.75 176

Nice amps Logan and I did not realize the the Merrick thanksgiving day dinner was 12%thought it was lower I have fed Do Lou the Merrick cowboy cookout and thanksgiving day dinner last 2 days oops guess I am off to the Janet and Binky chart to brush up on this
 
Re: 7/15 Logan AMPS 139, +0.75 176

Lisa and Do Lou said:
Nice amps Logan and I did not realize the the Merrick thanksgiving day dinner was 12%thought it was lower I have fed Do Lou the Merrick cowboy cookout and thanksgiving day dinner last 2 days oops guess I am off to the Janet and Binky chart to brush up on this

Logan gets the thanksgiving quite often. For us, it's a matter of finding something he can eat that doens't have too many unwanted ingredients! I really don't see a difference in his numbers if we feed him 0% or 12% carbs. That also worries me about his lower numbers. He just doesn't seem to be very carb sensitive! I wish I could give him the Cowboy Cookout, but he's allergic to beef. Dr Lisa said it's protein/carb/fat ratio is just about perfect.
 
Re: 7/15 Logan AMPS 139, +0.75 176

Kelly & Logan said:
Lisa and Do Lou said:
Nice amps Logan and I did not realize the the Merrick thanksgiving day dinner was 12%thought it was lower I have fed Do Lou the Merrick cowboy cookout and thanksgiving day dinner last 2 days oops guess I am off to the Janet and Binky chart to brush up on this

Logan gets the thanksgiving quite often. For us, it's a matter of finding something he can eat that doens't have too many unwanted ingredients! I really don't see a difference in his numbers if we feed him 0% or 12% carbs. That also worries me about his lower numbers. He just doesn't seem to be very carb sensitive! I wish I could give him the Cowboy Cookout, but he's allergic to beef. Dr Lisa said it's protein/carb/fat ratio is just about perfect.

I just recently bought 4 flavors for Do Lou to try and so far he loved Cowboy cookout and the thanksgiving day dinner but he is very carb sensitive does not take much for me to get his numbers to climb when he goes low, I also bought Grammy's pot pie and Turducken but have not used them yet I only bought 1 can of each so far just to see what he would like since he mostly eats raw but I like to have other things for variety and he won't hardly eat FF or wellness anymore. Good to hear that about Cowboy cookout from Dr Lisa then :-D
 
Lisa and Do Lou said:
I just recently bought 4 flavors for Do Lou to try and so far he loved Cowboy cookout and the thanksgiving day dinner but he is very carb sensitive does not take much for me to get his numbers to climb when he goes low, I also bought Grammy's pot pie and Turducken but have not used them yet I only bought 1 can of each so far just to see what he would like since he mostly eats raw but I like to have other things for variety and he won't hardly eat FF or wellness anymore. Good to hear that about Cowboy cookout from Dr Lisa then :-D

Logan loved Merrick several months ago but got tired of it like every other food we've tried. I want to make his food, but I'm afraid he'll grow tired of it, as well. So, we try to keep a variety on hand. He's been really fussy w/the Merrick lately. He used to love Terducken but won't touch it now. He'll eat the Grammy's but the Thanksgiving seems to be his favorite. But, he's not liking it too much these days, either! He used to love eating and would eat anything you gave him, but the IBD just wrecked it, I guess. Poor kid.

I guess I worried for nothing! He was 264 at +5. I plan on setting my alarm to get a mid-cycle test tonight. I might do a later check, like +9 or +10 to give me a better idea where he's heading at AMPS. I should just give up on sleeping!
 
That was a great AMPS number.....wow....but you have to do what you have to do when you are leaving for work. We could all use a crystal ball, no? If we could know the immediate future and what they will be doing in an hour or two, it would make life so much easier! :lol:
 
Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
That was a great AMPS number.....wow....but you have to do what you have to do when you are leaving for work. We could all use a crystal ball, no? If we could know the immediate future and what they will be doing in an hour or two, it would make life so much easier! :lol:

If only we had a crystal ball! I have the ability and flexibility to work from home when necessary, but today was a day I really needed to be in the office. The next couple of months will be brutal with work - huge deadline on 9/15. So, until then, it will be difficult for me to work from home unless I absolutely need to.

i would LOVE to have him somewhat regulated (and hopefully on a much lower dose!) by mid-October. We're going on vacation at the end of October. We're finally getting married! We've been engaged for over a year. So, DH2B will finally become DH. :lol: So, Logan will be in the care of our sitter. She will stay overnight and is willing to test before his injections. No mid-cycle tests, though. We'll be gone for 8 nights/9 days. nailbite_smile I'll be a nervous wreck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top