7/15 Kit AMPS 102, +2 85, PMPS 105, +2 89, +4 81, +6 72

She seems completely back to normal? She had good regular pees last night and this morning, no new poop as yet, but she's a once a day ish looper usually (she actually just pooped a normal poo while I was typing). Her vet said her blood work looked stable, but wondered if she maybe had a UTI. She asked if I wanted to do a round of just in case antibiotics, which I'm unsure of.
 
FWIW, my primary Vet at the practice will NOT give antibiotics unless he sees a confirmed infection. Unfortunately some of his colleagues dole them out on suspicion alone :rolleyes:.

She has had a lot of excitement over the last week. Parental visitors, those limes then the claw trimming Vet visit. Just be as diligent as you have been and if anything changes, then take it from there. :bighug:
 
Kit's vet and I agree to hold off on antibiotics since she seems to have gone back to normal.

She also included this bit, "I am concerned that her blood sugar is that low. Diabetic cats shouldn’t normally be below 200. We don’t regulate them as tightly as people. I would decrease the insulin to 0.5u." Which I obviously don't agree with. I am now remembering she and I having this same conversation before Kit went into remission last time. She bases her information on the fact pretty much all of her experience with it is with folks who don't test regularly, so lower numbers are scarier for them. So I'm gonna keep on keeping on, and just avoid discussing the diabetes, and hope she continues to write the prescription. She's so great in all other ways. Ugh.
 
@Alicia & Kit cat
It is so sad to see uninformed vets insist on their way.
Mikan was initially referred to a FD "specialist", who insisted on prescription FD cans and dry foods and told me not to shoot under 250 AT2, which would be roughly 150-160mg/dL in human glucometer. Once I got more information from this forum, he quickly lost credibility to treat Mikan to my eyes. I went back to her regular vet, who respects the TR protocol (I gave her a copy of the TR paper) and provides support without giving me contradictive advice.
I know most vets are well-meaning professionals but just under-educated about FD. Really, too bad.
 
@Alicia & Kit cat
It is so sad to see uninformed vets insist on their way.
Mikan was initially referred to a FD "specialist", who insisted on prescription FD cans and dry foods and told me not to shoot under 250 AT2, which would be roughly 150-160mg/dL in human glucometer. Once I got more information from this forum, he quickly lost credibility to treat Mikan to my eyes. I went back to her regular vet, who respects the TR protocol (I gave her a copy of the TR paper) and provides support without giving me contradictive advice.
I know most vets are well-meaning professionals but just under-educated about FD. Really, too bad.

Yeah - I definitely had the conversation with her the last time before Kit went into remission. I'm going to continue what I'm doing, it'll just be a bit more titchy this time around because she's now getting monthly arthritis shots, and last time we just saw the vet every couple of months as needed? But like, how could any cat be expected to go into remission if we stayed over 200 all the time? How is that good for them? Oof.
 
Back
Top