7/15 Doogle PMPS 178+3 310+6 153+9 127

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & Doogle

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's Condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=74968&p=811884#p811884

AMPS 414.......Stayed in the 400's all night. Not sure why but could have been fur shot. Had to tell the hubby that he is still doing the shot wrong. He continues to want to pinch the skin and give it near the top where he pinches it. I and the vet told him it was better to tent and give it towards the bottom of the tent to make sure it goes in. He doesnt agree but did it this morning that way (after some complaining). My husband is one of those that thinks he knows it all (literally) and nothing you say or show him changes his mind. He doesnt want to go up .25u like you should, he wants to go the whole .5u. Even after telling him what Marjorie said to me about his nadirs and how to judge what to go up, he thinks we are all wrong. But in the end I get my way (after some heated discussion) so hopefully he got his shot. We stayed with the 2.5u since he was so high all night. Guess I should let it go a couple more cycles (at least one) before deciding on changing.
 
Re: 7/15 Doogle AMPS 414+2.5 270

Did a check at +2.5 which is 270. Gotta run out to take care of some stuff so wanted to get a check before I left. I am seriously thinking he got a fur shot last night now.
 
Re: 7/15 Doogle AMPS 414+2.5 270+6 206

+6 206.....just starting nadir so I think we will go slightly lower but may not since I fed him a tablespoon of FF....hard to resit the tiny meow.
 
Re: 7/15 Doogle AMPS 414+2.5 270+6 206+9 117

+9 117..........We hit pretty blue!!! Poor thing wanted to eat so bad for the past couple of hours and I felt so bad. Maybe things are looking up :-D
 
Re: 7/15 Doogle PMPS 142 Do we shoot at 142?? Need to know n

Donna --

It looks like Doogle's numbers are heading up from your +9. It should be fine to shoot.
 
Re: 7/15 Doogle PMPS 142 Do we shoot at 142?? Need to know n

hi donna!

i haven't stopped by your condo yet, i don't think. i hesitate to give you advice because i really don't know what's been going on with Doogle before now. experienced people will shoot much lower numbers than this, but the caveat is that you always get a +1 and +2 when you're shooting a number lower than you have before, and you must be able to monitor through the cycle in case the cat goes low.

did you look at the Shooting & Handling Low Numbers sticky for advice in your particular situation tonight?
 
Re: 7/15 Doogle PMPS 142

I knew it was ok to shoot at 142 but my husband was insisting again that we wait. So I told him I would ask for advice first. We retested 20 mins later and he was 178...so I made him go ahead and shoot. Sorry if I seemed panicked but he was having a fit. Thanks Sienna for your quick response. I will check him in +2 just to make sure.
 
Re: 7/15 Doogle PMPS 142

So here's the scoop. When someone is brand new to Lantus, we suggest that they not shoot below a 150. As you get more data and know when onset and nadir are and are comfortable with using food to steer the curve, you can begin to shoot lower numbers. Ideally, you can work your way down to shooting pretty much any numbers above 50. Have your DH take a look at the subject lines on the board -- especially for Zener. Ann and Liz shot a 69 tonight.

Also, that re-test gave you very good data. You now know that Doogle will typically rise. I'd also have your DH read the sticky on Shooting & Handling Low Numbers. There's good information on why it's best to shoot. There's also good info on becoming data read.
 
Re: 7/15 Doogle PMPS 142

I cant get him to read anything on here or even do Doogle's SS. He loves Doogle but believes he knows more than everyone. I knew from his numbers lately he would go back up and a little food would help it along, but he is stubborn and wont even try. I even printed out the stickies about shooting low numbers and we went through this before when he was below 100. Maybe one day I can get him to understand and read the boards here. Thank you again Sienna ......I am so glad I found yall!!!!!!!!!!! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/15 Doogle PMPS 142

BTW, if the 178 was the number you shot, it's your PMPS.

There's one question I'd suggest you ask your DH: Does he want Doogle to be either tightly regulated or go into remission? If the answer is yes, his reticence to shoot lower numbers is not consistent with that goal. He's not comprehending that the more time that Doogle spends in normal (i.e., between 50 - 120) numbers, the better the chance his pancreas has to heal. Shooting low will not cause Doogle's numbers to plummet.
 
Re: 7/15 Doogle PMPS 142

Ok, I will change the number. I thought about just adding it but wasnt sure.....I didnt think about THAT was the number I shot at.......duhhhhhh. I am sure you know how hard it is to deal with a hardheaded man.....lol. At least in the end he will do as I want since he knows that if anything happens to Doogle it will surely depress me. I try and try every day to get to at least read some of the posts on here but it isnt worth his time. He is still so set on the way Humilin N worked. He sees the great results we are getting from the Lantus but still to stubborn to try and learn more. Hopefully, unless he is below 40, there wont be another incident like this again.

Thank you to my FDMB family!!!!! You are my sanity in this crazy world!!!
 
Re: 7/15 Doogle PMPS 142

Awww...Donna I can understand how difficult it is for you. My DH was not listening or reading the TP protocal since I started in March. Same here, he thought he knows more confused_cat But slowly, as he take up more on the testing, he understands more of what we are doing. Let him make the decision to do the things you want him to do is the key :lol: .
 
Re: 7/15 Doogle PMPS 142

Nice blues today! Maybe today will help your DH see why you don't wnt to raise his dose based on PSs or numbers you get from a bounce. Think how low he might have gone if you ad increased by .5u!

Have a great night.
 
Re: 7/15 Doogle PMPS 142

Exactly!! I am so thrilled with these numbers!! He is much happier and bright eyed!!! Going to go check him in 15mins.
 
Re: 7/15 Doogle PMPS 178+3 310

+3 310........Probably up because we waited slightly and he got a little stressed out from the whole thing too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top