7/14 Simon | AMPS 360 +2.5 357 +6 275 PMPS 306 +3 251

Daniel and Simon

Member Since 2026
Previous

Simon's back home after boarding for a few days. He's fine now, but he looked rough when I picked him up and his numbers were really high :confused:. The vet called two days into my trip and said Simon hadn't been eating and seemed super stressed out. I don't think I can board him again.

Now that things have calmed down and Simon seems to be doing all right again, I'd like to give TR a shot. He had a couple of decent blues the other night. I think he's in another bounce cycle right now.

IMG_0996.jpeg
 
Simonnnnnn! 💜 I have missed him so much & thought about him everyday!
I’m really sorry the vet stressed him out so much. I hope he’s back to eating well now that he’s back home!

And I’m really excited that you’re giving TR a shot, I hope Simon can get into some nice numbers soon! You know I’m still semi-new to this dance but I’d be happy to answer any questions that I know the answer too ☺️

Hope you’ve been well too Daniel and that your trip was easy on you!
 
Thank you Sara! That's so nice that you were thinking about Simon! 😁😸

I've learned a lot over the last few months and yeah I think I'm more confident now to try TR. Ready to see Simon turn blue and (safe) green!
 
Good luck with TR. With TR, if you are seeing nadirs below 200, you hold the dose for 6-10 cycles. I tended to the lower end for high blues, 8 for mid and 10 for low blues. That's what worked for my cat. Given that Simon was on higher doses before he was unwell, and it sounds like he's eating well now, I think you can increase by 0.25 units tomorrow if he doesn't see below 100 tonight.

Don't forget to change the signature and SS dosing methods to TR.

Other options for trips away are to have a vet tech come to the house for shots. I was lucky that I had a petsitter who was used to giving insulin shots.
 
I’m sorry Simon had a bit of a tough time boarding. Hoping he’s back to his usual self now. That was always my fear with Maverick, it seemed better to find someone who was able to give injections at home, although my petsitter didn’t test. But at least I knew he’d be generally eating and more comfortable overall in his own space vs. boarding somewhere. I am glad Simon’s appy is back to normal, since that’s been a bit of a concern with him in the past.

Good luck with the increase, and sending a few bum pats for sweet Simon.
 
Back
Top