7/14 Putty AMPS 70

Status
Not open for further replies.

Miriam and Putty (GA)

Member Since 2009
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=19701

7/13
PMPS 241
+4 218
+6 168
AMPS 70

Hmm....something is changing here. It either looks like Putty may have gone low overnight or his nadir is much later and he is at his lowest point now. I am going to have to force myself to get up in the middle of the night and start testing. His nadir has always been around +6 but I think I was told that with Lev the nadir tends to be later in the cycle....not sure if I just made that up or if it is really true. :roll:
He has been sleeping in our bed the last couple of nights which he had not been doing for a little while. I guess that should have been an indication that his numbers are lower and he is feeling good. :mrgreen:
 
Good morning Miriam. Thanks for stopping by our condo this morning.
J.D.'s nadir seems to have moved to +7 or +8, I think. I'm not totally sure yet. I think I read somewhere (probably from Monique) that the onset and the nadir is later with Levemir.
Have a good day!
 
Re: 7/14 Putty AM +1.5 136 +3 168

Well I guess that answers my question. His lowest point that I know of was his ps number. He may have been lower during the night but I missed it.
 
I did read that Lev can move the nadir. On the other hand, the nadir can move all by itself. Gabby's had several cycles where her nadir was late in the cycle or at pre-shot. Go figure!
 
don't know anything about levemir ... but mocha's nadir seems to vary day by day .. of course, she does this to frustrate us ... have a great day guys!
 
Bright side - I suppose having a kitty who nadirs at amps/pmps means you can shoot and run.

Isn't it nice to have him back in bed, he's mushable!
 
Re: 7/10 Putty AMPS 95

Postby Pat+Raja+Shadow » Sat Jul 10, 2010 8:37 am
Well, I gave up on trying to find the actual post. I did print it out but never included the date. Here is what Monique relayed to me from something she read from Steve & Jock

But note: Levemir's action is sensitive to two things:
1)Dosage. If you're giving a bit less than optimal, peak time will be shortened. Too much, and peak time will be 'ater.
2)Previous dose. Levemir leaves a "storage shed" of previous doses which keep blood sugar lower, so if previous doses were inadequate, current dose will be less effective.

The tendency for the nadir to be later and the largest drop occurring between +7 and the nadir at approx +10 (even more so than with lantus) and following the nadir a slow rise and frequently I have noticed a "dip" again at Preshot. So the +10 is nadir then a slight rise and a little drop to just above of almost the same as nadir (double nadir?) then a rise continuing about +3 to +4 into the next cycle.
This is of course when the dose is just right. When it's too low, then the nadir comes sooner and is not as low and the rise begins earlier and is higher, leading to a much higher following preshot.

When the dose is too high the peak will come later often after +12 (which would be +1 to +3 in the next cycle)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top