7/14 Oscar amps 298 +6 311 +8 333 pmps 270 DOSE??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly & Oscar

Member Since 2010
So we are on day 3 of our increase from 2u to 2.25u. I was so hoping to see different trends for Oscar with Lantus. But alas, his body has decided it still wants to fight dose increases. We have been running flat or inverse curves every cycle since upping the dose. He pretty much did the same exact thing with ProZinc with a few exceptions here and there. Our IM specialist told us we needed to do dose increases slowly and try that out for a while (increase every 2 weeks). Is this something we should try out with Lantus? Has anyone else experienced this? His ketones came back just slightly with the onset of the flat curves. The only thing I have added to his food in the past 3 days is a bit of forti flora to get him to eat more of his food in one sitting.

Also, he is still hovering around the same weight, give or take an ounce or two. He really needs at least another pound more - I can feel his backbone too much. We free feed pretty much - he gets as much food as he wants. Any suggestions?
 
Re: 7/14 Oscar amps 298 +6 311 +8 333 pmps 270 INVERSE CURVE?!?

He Kelly,

Here is what I see, I do not see an inverted curve, although I'm not an 'expert' by any means, what I see if not enough insulin. Lantus is a bit magical that way...

What I see if that since you have increased Oscar's dose to 2.25 U and tonight is your 6th cycle, you've had only 1 blue which, IMO, is hardly blue.

you've also mentioned something about ketones... I bet you didn't invite THEM to the party.

So, what I see is that Oscar could use another increase (using the protocol), however... because of the AB Oscar is on and because it's good to have multiple opinions, please add the word DOSE to your subject line to see what others have to say.
 
Re: 7/14 Oscar amps 298 +6 311 +8 333 pmps 270 INVERSE CURVE?!?

I think Helene has it correct. When Oscar is ready to increase his dose I believe you will see improvement in those mid-cycle numbers. Shadow/Pat went through the same kind of pattern for a while. The preshots looked better than mid-cycle and it was confusing. When Shadow's dose was increased this pattern changed to a more normal one of lower mid-cycle numbers.

I believe unless you are on micro doses and in the greens, this probably isn't so much an inverted curve as it is the need for a bit more insulin.

What do you think about a dose increase? You could wait it out another couple of cycles since you did see one blue, but you have completed 6 cycles on this dose so far and that blue was kind of a higher blue. Oscar is your kitty and you know him best. :-D
 
Re: 7/14 Oscar amps 298 +6 311 +8 333 pmps 270 INVERSE CURVE?!?

It just seems like in general we had a little bit better numbers before the increase. Maybe I am paranoid because of the 4 months of hair pulling I just went through with this @-)
 
Me three -- I don't see an inverted curve. A 298 and a 311 are pretty much the same number once you figure in meter variance. Also, you need to keep in mind that even if the curve were inverted, it can mean too much OR too little insulin. I do think you need to increase the dose especially if you are getting ketones.

As for the food, if Oscar is free feeding, is he getting his fair share of food and are the bowls empty? You can always check the calories of what you're feeding and see if there's an acceptable food that's higher in calories. For example, Wellness Turkey is higher in calories than Fancy Feast turkey.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
As for the food, if Oscar is free feeding, is he getting his fair share of food and are the bowls empty? You can always check the calories of what you're feeding and see if there's an acceptable food that's higher in calories. For example, Wellness Turkey is higher in calories than Fancy Feast turkey.

I believe he does get his fair share. It usually takes a couple of hours for the food to disappear once it is put down. Breffis is gone within 10 min, but I put more food down within the hour before I leave in the morning. I am going to try to get him to eat more by putting a sprinkling of the forti flora on each meal for him. It seems lately that he is holding out for it - I've created a monster! If that doesn't work, then I'll have to try a higher calorie food - thanks for the suggestion!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top