7/14 Ming PMPS = 220, +2 = 129, +2.5 = 88, +3 = 106 Ming has Freestyle Libre on

Crista & Ming

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...4-7-97-8-5-25-9-47-9-5-59-dose-advice.216794/

Ming went to work with me today/went to the vet. We got blood work done (general panel, specFPL and urinalysis). He also got his Freestyle Libre fitted. The vets were very excited to try it on! And I'm excited since it's free! :woot::woot::woot::woot:

You'll see on my SS that numbers after today will be the Libre numbers while numbers in parentheses will be his regular glucometer numbers (onetouch ultra).

I haven't yet decided when I will use my test strips but most likely when he's diving and low (which he's doing right now... :rolleyes:)

I think I should've put the sensor on his neck as recommended by the vet info sheet online. We put the sensor under Ming's shoulder blades. He can lick just right beside it. He hasn't yet tried to scratch it off. I did see his back twitching once or twice after application.

We used tissue glue to apply the sensor and it's holding well so far. I'm still trying to figure out the software but managed to download some sort of confusing, ugly, table with all of Ming's glucose readings that the Libre takes every 15 minutes.

The downside is that the readings are "delayed" since these are not BLOOD glucose readings but interstitial glucose readings meaning it takes glucose readings from the fluid of the body. So the reading is actually 6 to 18 minutes delayed according to the manual. So the Libre would not be effective during low events when you need real-time readings. My vets are aware of this and they're more looking forward to using the Libre to help with clients that aren't able to take BSL at home and give more accurate dosing advice without wondering if the curves done in hospital are affected by stress and other factors.

Surprisingly, the numbers I'm getting with my OneTouch are very close to the Libre numbers.

Here's a pic of Ming and his button:
IMG_7616.JPG


Aside from the Libre stuff, I gave 6.5 units today both AM and PM. His AM cycle had safe numbers despite him not eating anything while at the vet for 11 hours. I put him in a dog run so he'd have more space. He ate a few bites here and there but mostly ate treats. I also gave him cerenia just in case.

I managed to get him to eat about half a can of FF at work before PM shot time and gave him 6.5 units. Upon arrival at home, he ate another half can and then hid under my sister's bed (very uncharacteristic of him). Right now, he's chilling with me in my room like normal.

I fed him some FF with honey an hour ago because he's diving and it was only +2!!!
 
I am looking forward to seeing the results of the experiment. It’s great you are comparing with your own meter as we haven’t seen that much here. Also interesting about the numbers delay and not being so useful in lower numbers. I noticed the low numbers were where there was a larger percent difference.

I missed the action the other day! :eek: Glad you reduced by 0.5. Being over 5 units had nothing to do with size of reduction in this case, but the 25!!! did. If kitty had just barely hit the 40’s, and didn’t hold reductions well, a 0.25 unit reduction might have been OK. Of course, it all depends on knowing thy cat. Another factor on size of dose reduction is what is causing the need for a higher dose.
 
I don't know if this is true, but when Phoebe Squeak had the Freestyle Libre meter on, I was told it reads high for the first day or so and then it settles in. I really hope it works well for you and Ming!
 
Oh this is so good to see! I'm very interested in the Freestyle - but never saw/read enough about it here or was able to find a vet to apply it - please keep us posted as to how it's working - best of luck to you and Ming! I hope it's a monumental success! We'll be watching :bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top