7/14 Lublub 311 reshoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kindypoo

Member Since 2012
I am pretty new to the forum and have only been home monitoring for about 2 weeks. Tonight I gave my cat 1/2 unit of insulin but noticed she was acting strange so I rechecked and got a BG of 311. I'm wondering should I give her another 1/2 unit since it's still so high 3 hours after the first shot? (I've been known to "shoot right through her" rendering the adminsitration of insulin useless as I'm still pretty new to the whole process.)

History:
I give her 1/2 can Purina DM twice daily and 1/2 unit insulin twice daily. She tends to be very sensitive to insulin and has crashed about half the time when I had given her 1 full unit.

I appologize if I have done any of this posting procedure wrong but this is my very first time posting on any forum.

Thanks for any help that is given.

K
 
I'm not an expert, so hopefully someone else will come along that can answer your questions. I really can't give you any advice, but from all of the stuff that I've read here most insulin is given twice per day, and not in between. I wouldn't give another dose, especially since you said your cat is very sensitive to insulin and has crashed on an increased dose.

How was your cat acting strange? What was he/she doing?
 
Thanks for the response. I've noticed through home monitoring that she tends to shake her head when her BG is high. Not really sure why and I haven't seen anyone else mention it on the forum but it seems to be fairly consistent with a BG over 300 for her.

Unfortunately, she shows no symptoms when she is very low (except that she's sluggish but then again it always seems to be in the middle of the night).

Is there a high number I should be watching for that when I hit it, I should do something immediately? I only know to watch for low numbers.
 
I haven't read anything here about cats shaking their head with a high BG number. Does she seem to be in pain, or distressed? I did a google search, I didn't find anything specific to head shaking with a high number, lots of stuff about low numbers. In general though it said it could be a lot of things, itchy ears, ear mites, neurological, kidney problems (which it said is really serious and should be checked ASAP). I would check with your vet to see what they think, and in the meantime, I'd try to get in another test to see where the BG is headed.

As far as how high and what to do, I don't know. It's better to be a little high tonight than to risk a crash or hypo. Test in the morning, and re-evaluate. Good luck!
 
She doesn't seem to be in any distress when she shakes her head but other than when her BGs high I only notice her doing that when I play with her ears. So I'm guessing the high BG and head shaking are somehow related.

I think your advice about retesting and waiting until morning seems sound. The BG roller-coaster is getting old and one of these nights it would be terrific to get a full nights' sleep! :roll:

Thanks so much!

Kindypoo
 
My cat Zeus always shakes his head when I'm playing with his ears - especially when I use the warmed rick sock. I mentioned it to Zeus' vet as I was actually thinking he might have had a wax plug in there, but the vet said no. He didn't really have an answer for me, other than that's just the way Zeus reacts to playing with his ears.

If your cats BG is low and you play with her ears, she doesn't shake then?
 
She would still probably shake whenever I play with her ears but she'll shake her head on her own when her BG is high.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top