7/14 Jinx PMPS 258 , +2 301, +4.75 258

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/14 Jinx AMPS 353, +2.5 290, +4.75 225; vomiting

I could tell Jinx wasn't feeling well today and he just threw up a lot of food. I have no idea what to do at this point. The internist suggested holding off on the prednisolone (for the possible IBD) until he started exhibiting symptoms such as vomiting. Right now, I'll just plan on seeing how he does over the weekend unless it gets worse. I'm still giving him 0.2mL of bupe BID and 1mg Ondansetron BID. I know an anti-vomiting med has been mentioned before so I'm going to look into that right now. I posted to the pancreatitis board as well.
 
Re: 7/14 Jinx AMPS 353, +2.5 290, +4.75 225; vomiting

The drug is cerenia, for control of vomiting. Its used in conjunction with ondansetron which is mostly for nausea.

How long after he ate did he throw it up?
 
Re: 7/14 Jinx AMPS 353, +2.5 290, +4.75 225; vomiting

Poor Jinx! I hope he feels better soon. I'm glad Karrie caught this , I can never keep the nausea / vomiting / appy stim drugs straight.
 
Re: 7/14 Jinx AMPS 353, +2.5 290, +4.75 225; vomiting

Thanks, Karrie. I always spread out his meals so he ate this morning at 8, 9 and 10am.

What concerns me about Cerenia is the Pfizer website says caution should be exercised if the animal has hepatic dysfunction. Jinx's ALT value was 722 three weeks ago but recently came down to 38 which is in the normal range. So, I'm not sure if it's something I should be worried about. Based on what the vet told me, he could have liver disease and the values dropped due to the metronidazole.
 
Re: 7/14 Jinx AMPS 353, +2.5 290, +4.75 225; vomiting

Thanks, Ann. I appreciate it.

Any thoughts on whether I should increase the Ondansetron dose? The internist recommended 4mg BID but the consensus was that it was way too high so I'm giving him 1mg BID.

Just tried giving him some baby food and his regular raw but he won't eat anything right now. He is licking some of his toys so I'm not sure if that's an indication of nausea...
 
Re: 7/14 Jinx AMPS 353, +2.5 290, +4.75 225; vomiting

I would ask the pancreatitis group. If his liver function is normal I don't think I'd be as concerned as the vomiting. Unless you think the vomiting is a one time thing. You can up the ondansetron. Find out if its best to keep it at 1mg and do 3 times a day or up the dose.
 
Re: 7/14 Jinx AMPS 353, +2.5 290, +4.75 225; vomiting

Thanks, Karrie. They recommended 2mg BID if necessary/if the vomiting continues.

Also, due to his various issues, particularly the IBD, they've convinced me to get him off the raw. I know one of the experienced member's on that board feeds her cat Natural Balance duck and pea formula but I didn't see the as-fed values on Janet and Binky's. Does anyone know if this is a good food for a diabetic cat?

http://www.naturalbalanceinc.com/produc ... d+Formulas
 
Re: 7/14 Jinx AMPS 353, +2.5 290, +4.75 225; vomiting

Joe

I'm so sorry to hear Jinx is vomiting today. Have you given him fluids lately for his pancreatitis?

I have, in the past, fed the Natural Balance duck and pea formula before Gracie was FD. My cats didn't care for it so I didn't get the as feds when Gracie became FD. I've looked all through all my food info and I can't find anything on the as feds or the DMB. I'm really sorry. I know this is very difficult and you have been amazing with Jinx. I hope you can find something he will eat.....did you try the boiled chicken again since he liked it last time?
 
Re: 7/14 Jinx AMPS 353, +2.5 290, +4.75 225; vomiting

Hi, Marje. I appreciate the kind words and thanks for looking into the Natural Balance. I'm actually thawing some chicken breast now and will cook it up to have on hand tonight at PMPS in case he doesn't eat.

This is just a really tough decision. I could continue the raw to see if the pukus was a one time thing. If not, start the flagyl again. And if that doesn't work, switch foods. I'm just not sure how to proceed at this point. I may wait until tomorrow to see how he does tonight. Normally, I'm not this indecisive but this is tough.
 
Re: 7/14 Jinx AMPS 353, +2.5 290, +4.75 225; vomiting

Joe

Have you ever seen this recipe:


THE '~LIVER SHAKE~' FOR SICK CATS

This liquid food is appropriate for cats suffering from conditions where they are eating very little or not at all such as anemias, leukemias, deficiency states with symptoms of lethargy, listlessness, and weakness.

1 cup RAW LIVER (BEEF, or CHICKEN)
1 cup FRESH CARROT JUICE or V-8, or Tomatoe Juice
1/4 cup *FRESH FILTERED WATER
1 RAW EGG YOLK
1 tsp.KELP POWDER OR SPIRULINA

COMBINE AND MIX IN A BLENDER UNTIL LIQUEFIED. (Note: it will be frothy)

Dosage:
Administer 10cc daily 3-6 times a day. (6Occ per day max) Some cats will need to be force-fed with a syringe, while others will drink it out of a bowl.

This food has a sweet and salty taste, and the energetic properties of tonifying (energy boosting), warming and stimulating and supports the kidneys, spleen, liver and stomach.

This drink is a complete dinner for a sick cat until they feel good enough to eat by themselves again.

*Substitute rice water if the cat has diarrhea. Rice water
is made by boiling white rice (2 Tbsp) with water (1cup) for 30 minutes.
This liquid aids digestion and assimilation and inhibits the symptoms of diarrhea.

3 lbs of thigh meat, 1 lb of chicken breast, and 7 oz of liver. It makes a little over a week's worth of food for my two guys. There are no bones or skin. I also trim off any fat.

I've seen it recommended to other sick cats on FDMB. I don't know anything about the carbs but if they are sick, you gotta get them to eat and then adjust the dose if you have to. I might stay away from the rice water but maybe he'll eat it....
 
Re: 7/14 Jinx AMPS 353, +2.5 290, +4.75 225; vomiting

So sorry Jinx and you are going through all this. I hope the chicken breast helps. Tarragon had a tough time with the raw food because of his IBD. The pancreatitis board should be able to help. They were life savers for us.
 
Re: 7/14 Jinx AMPS 353, +2.5 290, +4.75 225; vomiting

I'd run the liver shake by the pancreatitis group. Just to make sure they are kept posted and on the same page. With IBD - if Henry gets a lick of anything - he has the runs for days. He is on natures balance kibble right now - he isn't diabetic.

Do you guys know what the other cats with FD and IBD do? What foods are fed and what do you do if they are not low carb?
 
Re: 7/14 Jinx AMPS 353, +2.5 290, +4.75 225; vomiting

Thank you so much for replying. In my reply I did say lots of cats on FDMB have overlapping conditions like asthma and CRF and I bet there are a lot of cats that have IBD and FD. I wonder if these two as a combo is common though and what would be the ideal food and insulin strategy. If they eat a higher carb food, what happens if they shoot and a cat doesn't eat as expected.

Maverick's flovent never impacted his BG. He was only on 250mcg twice a day though. His asthma and FD was easy to manage. If only I knew about Maine Coons and their hearts :(

Was Tarragon sensitive from the beginning? Henry is three and he's got herpes (manage with lysine), and most likely IBS - not IBD. Duck and pea kibble is working great for him. But I expect he'll have other things. I put a collar on him which was really loose. The buckle caused a raw crusty area on his neck. Even though it didn't have contact all the time - he has long hair. And he will only eat kibble. He has some OCD issues from his time in the shelter. I know this and his weight means we are asking for diabetes.
 
Re: 7/14 Jinx AMPS 353, +2.5 290, +4.75 225; vomiting

I normally don't give Jinx the Ondansetron until right before he eats at his 8am/pm shoot times. But I gave him some at 7pm tonight in the hopes it might help spark his appetite. However, he drank some water about 15min later and then threw up a cloudy liquid. Not sure if the Ondansetron would have dissolved within that time but my guess is that's what it was. Does anyone know if Ondansetron should not be given on an empty stomach?

Luckily, he ate some food tonight. I always feed him at PMPS at 8pm but I gave him about .25 oz of his regular raw at 7:30pm (shortly after he threw up) to see if he'd eat it and he did. But he wouldn't eat any of it at 8pm. So I gave him a little bit of the Nature's Balance duck and pea formula and he scoffed it right up. Also gave him some boiled chicken breast to get some more food in him and he ate that as well. I'll see if I can get him to eat some more of the chicken breast and Nature's Balance at 9 and 10pm. Also hoping his BG's don't go too low tonight...

Marje, thanks for the recipe. I printed it off to have on hand in case I have to syringe feed him. I'll also run it by the pancreatitis group. Regarding the fluids, the internist suggested I discontinue the fluids. She said that although there is no literature to support this, she said that logically, she feels that it could cause insulin malabsorption. And she mentioned that the blood work we ran on him two weeks ago did not indicate dehydration, despite all the vomiting that had been occurring around that time. If I remember right, you've said fluids should not cause insulin malabsorption, right? At least from your experience and with others on this board who have given their FD cats fluids?

Melissa, thanks for the message. The pancreatitis board has helped me out a lot as well. Although they said raw food has worked wonders for many cats, including IBD cats, it's too risky for a cat with IBD and pancreatitis.

Karrie, thanks for your message as well. I'm anxious to hear any advice regarding a food/insulin strategy. I was real nervous shooting Jinx at his normal dose tonight but I did after he started eating the NB duck and pea formula. It's still nerve wracking to have a diabetic pet that has a loss of appetite w/ vomiting.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top