7/14 FCC AMPS 74, 88 after waiting .5, fed and shot, +1.75 70, +2.5 76, +3.5 77, +4.5 90, +5.5 108

Acadaca

Member Since 2021
Hi, FCC's number is lower than it has ever been. I tested twice to make sure and it was the same both times. I haven't fed him or given him insulin. I still haven't fully transitioned to TR.
 
Thanks. The tests were five minutes apart. I just wanted to make sure that it wasn't a strip issue. I was going to do his curve today and so am available to test him whenever needed. If his numbers haven't gone up can he get food? I did have to give him a little freeze dried chicken after his test. I am going to test in five minutes because I usually start fifteen minutes before feeding since it can still take me awhile. Also, does it matter how much he goes up if he does or is it just to make sure the number is going in the right direction?
 
If you follow TR it’s a good number to shoot. If you wait too long he might go lower. Since you are doing a curve you could call it a trial attempt at TR. You don’t want to do a curve if you skip. With SLGS a reduction was earned but not with TR.
 
Last edited:
He went up to 88 so he is getting fed and I will give him his regular dose. It might be the right time to move to TR I am going to figure that out. Should I do a curve today or do I need to test more often? Can I test less and curve another day since I just made him do it three times?
 
I don’t think you need a curve but you might need to to test a lot unless he bounces. Start by getting a +1 and +2 and post results.
 
Can I test less and curve another day since I just made him do it three times?
Does he not like getting poked? I would get a +2 and if he is flat or lower, I would get more tests. Not just for the sake of the curve, but to keep him safe.
If he is much higher at +2, he is bouncing and you can stop testing him.

Feed him a little food at +1 as well.
 
I don’t think you need a curve but you might need to to test a lot unless he bounces. Start by getting a +1 and +2 and post results


es he not like getting poked? I would get a +2 and if he is flat or lower, I would get more tests. Not just for the sake of the curve, but to keep him safe.
If he is much higher at +2, he is bouncing and you can stop testing him.

Feed him a little food at +1 as well.


He seems to be getting a little fed up with it lately. It often takes me multiple times, but I don't think I'm hurting him. I am not sure if it uncomfortable or what I can do to make it better. He was really grumpy about it a couple of days ago and seems to have settled down some. He is a big fan of the treat afterward and for now it's the only time I give it to him. I will do the +1 and +2. I appreciate the help and definitely still need the guidance. I'll remove the question mark so no one thinks it's pressing. I still don't really understand how to put the numbers in the spreadsheet when the schedule changed bit, but I'll make notes.
 
I still don't really understand how to put the numbers in the spreadsheet when the schedule changed bit, but I'll make notes.
If I understood correctly, 74 was 30 mins before the 88? Or 20 mins? You can just put "74 @+12, 88" in the AMPS cell.
If you've shot 30 mins (or less) late this morning, you can shoot at your usual time tonight.
 
If I understood correctly, 74 was 30 mins before the 88? Or 20 mins? You can just put "74 @+12, 88" in the AMPS cell.
If you've shot 30 mins (or less) late this morning, you can shoot at your usual time tonight.

Yes. 74 was 30 minutes before the shot. So I should be able to shoot him tonight. I am late on the +1 because the batteries in my meter died (typical) and after a frantic search I sat him down and tried three pokes. He growled at me and was looking to bite. He is the gentlest and most relaxed cat so I am clearly stressing him out. I thought it would be better to try again in a few minutes than to keep poking. I probably am not giving off the calmest vibes so we are both taking a breath. I am in the same room watching his behaviour though. I will try again shortly. I just didn't want anyone to think I wasn't going to report back. Especially since it's overdue.
 
It 70 at basically +1.75 when I got him and I feel really bad about it. He is going down and I haven't experienced this yet so I am getting worried.
 
It is now 76 @ +2.5. I am not sure how often I should be testing him now. I know that the timing is a bit messed up. Hopefully he is on his way up or will stay where he is?
 
Haha. No, but I'm not panicking, just very concerned and stressed out. I'm so relieved I'm able to be here to test him hourly. He took the last prick a lot better than the others so hopefully that will be the trend for the rest of the day.
 
Fingers and paws crossed he stays nice and flat. :bighug: Maybe you need a little chocolate or ice cream for a treat.

That sound like a very good idea.

He is now 77 @ +3.5. I will harass him again in an hour and keep an eye on him in the meantime.

Thank you for your support.
 
If you are going to switch to TR a second test at night is a must. I recommend a +2 because that’s often when lantus onset’s. If it’s lower than the pmps you would need to test more often. If the same as the pmps it could be active so another test in an hour or two would be a good idea unless bouncing or high. A before bed test is suggested but a minimum of two tests are a must.
 
If you are going to switch to TR a second test at night is a must. I recommend a +2 because that’s often when lantus onset’s. If it’s lower than the pmps you would need to test more often. If the same as the pmps it could be active so another test in an hour or two would be a good idea unless bouncing or high. A before bed test is suggested but a minimum of two tests are a must.

I'm starting to wonder if I can handle TR or if I'll get really stressed out all the time and stress FCC out as a result. I will get more evening tests in. They are so sparse because the night time insulin shot is basically right before I go to bed. I would imagine that if I made sure I set alarms on the days I can't stay awake I would get used to it pretty fast.
 
His new test is 90 @ +4.5.

Should I still be testing him every hour? It's no problem and I want to do whatever is safe, but I feel bad waking him up constantly and moving him. Thank goodness for his love of treats.
 
He is now 108 @ +5.5

Is there any particular reason that his numbers would be so low today? I know I want him to be low when he's regulated, but it seemed so out of the blue. Is it harmful for his body if he goes from this low back to his regular highs tonight and tomorrow?
I am assuming it is now safe to wait an extra hour to test, but can I leave him alone until PMPS?

Thanks!
 
He’s getting benefit out of this dose. You don’t need to test again for 2 hours. Don’t feed him to see if he stays up. What have you decided in regards to the method you want to follow?
 
Okay, thanks. I will test in an hour from now. The one thing about the food is I wonder if the treats will have an effect. He has gotten them every hour for the testing and sometimes twice if I needed to bribe him to come to me. It has all been 100% freeze dried chicken. I am reading all the information about TR again. I've read it several times before. I'm mostly weighing whether or not I can handle low numbers when they happen. Also I think I need to leave my cat at home in a week or so (with my partner) and he's been having trouble getting BG tests. FCC likes him, but he doesn't sit and stay calm like he does for me. I am confident I can test him enough, but I am not confident that he can.
 
You could wait 2 hours.
You can lower the dose for a few days before you leave when you can’t be home and then go back to your dose when you will be around. You won’t need as much testing once you know his patterns. Some cats get a little elevation from the treats but I didn’t. How long will you be away? You can do a vacation dose even if you decide to stick with slgs. If you want to continue with slgs you need to reduce tonight as he dropped under 90.
 
If I move to TR and end up getting too stressed out about low numbers (I imagine it gets easier) is it possible to transition back without causing FCC any harm? I know I want to do it because it seems like the best option to keep him healthy. Would I hold the dose even though he's been on it for awhile because of what happened today?

I would be gone 5 days, but I don't know if that is safe to do yet. I am trying to see if I can find a way that would shorten the time away.
 
If I move to TR and end up getting too stressed out about low numbers (I imagine it gets easier) is it possible to transition back without causing FCC any harm? I know I want to do it because it seems like the best option to keep him healthy. Would I hold the dose even though he's been on it for awhile because of what happened today?

I would be gone 5 days, but I don't know if that is safe to do yet. I am trying to see if I can find a way that would shorten the time away.

Of course you can switch back. If you choose to stick with SLGS that is fine too.

Yes, you would hold the dose with TR right now. With green nadirs you hold fur at least 10 cycles and longer when you have good cycles like today.
 
You can wait to switch until after your trip. Don’t put pressure on yourself to do TR now. He’s doing good and that’s all that matters.
 
I'm a little bit confused about holding the dose when he is doing well. What happens if he bounces right back up into the red? I wait 10 cycles and if the greens don't happen again I up it? I am worried today is just an anomaly and I am still trying to understand what that means in terms of data.

The trip wouldn't be for another week. Can I keep him at the dose he is on now and see what happens?

He's at 142 now (7.5). When should I test? Since it was only half an hour off schedule today I shoot tonight as normal and then get a +1 and +2?
Can I feed him now since it is two hours before I would normally take all his food away?

Sorry for all the questions.
 
If he bounces you wait for the bounce to clear and see f the cycle after the bounce clears he goes back to green or blue nadirs. If he remains high you would increase. The goal is to keep him in normal numbers, 50-100 or a little higher roughly. That’s when the pancreas is healing.

With SLGS you want to keep him around 90- minutes to under renal threshold which varies from cat to cat but often around 250 or under I believe.
 
If he bounces you wait for the bounce to clear and see f the cycle after the bounce clears he goes back to green or blue nadirs. If he remains high you would increase. The goal is to keep him in normal numbers, 50-100 or a little higher roughly. That’s when the pancreas is healing.

With SLGS you want to keep him around 90- minutes to under renal threshold which varies from cat to cat but often around 250 or under I believe.

How do I differentiate between bouncing and just seeing the numbers rise and stay that way? I still don't really understand bouncing.
 
He is now 203 @ +9. I administer again in 2.5 hours. Can I wait to test him until +2 or do I need a +1 (obviously I will do a PMPS). He's getting a little grouchy.
 
Thanks. You've been so helpful all day. If his +2 is closer to normal will it be safe to go to bed and get a random nighttime test?
 
I want to go with TR, but if I hold for 10 cycles it puts me right about when I would leave. If I monitor him accordingly until then and he is stable would it be safe to leave him on the dose he's on now while I'm gone?
 
We can work on a safe dose before you leave. We would start a reduction a day or two before you leave. People do vacation doses all the time. So ask for vacation dose advice 3 days in advance.
 
Great, thank you. His PMPS is 288 so I'll give him 1.75 units again. I know I need a +2, but with TR does it matter when the second test is done at night?

Assuming his numbers are back to their usual selves tomorrow how often would I need to test during the AM cycle? I'm good to keep him on this dose for 10 cycle now?

Thank you. You really helped me out a lot today.
 
Back
Top