7/13 Sammy AMPS=129 +1=130 +4=150 +8=136 PMPS=102 +1=117

Status
Not open for further replies.

TokyoKitty

Member Since 2013
Sammy's previous post

On 7/11 I skipped Sammy's AM dose, and she predictably zoomed into the pinks and stayed there for 12 hours. In hind sight, a reduced dose would have been better than skipping. Lesson learned.

I shot her normal dose (1.1) in the PM. The next day I dropped her back to 1.0 and started her on 50% low carb (EVO Chicken and Turkey Kitten and Cat food). Amazingly, for the next two days she's been solidly in the blues for the first time ever!

She seems to be feeling great, and she's even walking better. I'm really glad her numbers are getting better, but it's all happening so fast. At this rate, she'll be sliding into the greens any time now.

I'm tempted to do a slight dose decrease tomorrow AM to 0.9. She's still only on 50% low carb, so I expect her numbers will go even lower when she transitions to 100% low carb in a few more days.

Thanks for all the well wishes, and open to any advice!
 
Glad to see that Sammy is doing better.

I wouldn't lower the dose until it is warranted though- what if this is the perfect dose and you go change it after two days? Give it a week to settle if she is not slipping too low- lev likes consistency and her numbers can be attributed to shed fill until you've held the dose long enough.

Great to know she is feeling better. :-D
 
Good point. I'll give it a few more days and see where she's heading. Think I'll also hold off on transitioning to 100% low carb. Wait a while and let things settle out first. Thanks for the feedback!

It's nearly midnight here, so I'm heading to bed. Have a great day, everyone!
 
You are right that you will be seeing constant changes as you make the food transition.

I would say, for your sanity, make one change at a time. When I transitioned Beau off the high carb dry food it took a month because he was so addicted to it. I just followed his decreasing blood sugar levels with the decreasing dose. He was on vetsulin at the time so I used PS numbers, but with Sammy on lev you need to go by nadir numbers - and wait until you are seeing low nadirs. The protocol would call for a number below 50, I think (someone will correct me if I am wrong). I always use 50, at any rate.

If you make two changes at once (food and dose) you won't know which is causing the change in BG. And Heather is right about decreasing the dose when it is "warranted" - when you see that low nadir.

She is doing great!
 
Sweet dreams, Susan!
It's good to be very careful when transitioning from higher carb food to low carb cans. When I did that, my DM kitty's BG went down by over 100 points overnight. Actually, it's best to switch food before starting insulin as some kitties can become diet-controlled diabetics without ever going on an insulin regimen. That's when 0.5 unit of Levemir gave my Pudge a very low preshot of 49. Scared me! I lowered his Levemir to 1 drop immediately. Pudge was safe, I could sleep, & he ended up in 2nd remission within a couple of cycles. Shed-type insulin , Levemir or Lantus, can cause very long lasting hypo incidents. As members here say: better high for many hours than too low for a moment!
Best wishes, Sophie
 
Heather, Sheila, and Sophie: thanks for all the great advice and support! Good thing I followed it too. Sammy has been solidly in the blues, then just dippped into the greens and may be headed below 50 before her nadir (usually around +12/+13). Glad I didn't raise her percentage of low carbs!

Since it's so late, I've posted the latest update to the Lantus TR group for more eyes.
Sammy's 7/14 post
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top