7/13 Mr Kitty AMBG 98, +2 100, +4 57, PMBG 74

FrostD

Member Since 2020
Yesterday

He seems a little off again this morning, but he did go straight for his food. We'll see. Decided to skip shot as an experiment, especially not sure if appetite will stick.

Oh - the pathologist didn't know what to make of Pippi's tumor, so that's nice. I didn't even know that was a possible result. They have to do more testing on it.

Sorry to those of you whose cats I normally keep up with, I just have my hands so full at the moment!
 
Last edited:
+4 57

Sigh. Seems inappetent and a bit lethargic again. Had about 1.5oz of food so far (0.5oz raw didn't touch the rest), but I really don't know what will be normal with raw and no insulin.
 
How much does he weigh?
11 lbs, ideal is 13. He ate well yesterday and this morning, but seems to have stopped. My husband has been doing some woodworking near him that he doesn't usually do, so I'll hope it's that. But he's just kind of looking at the bowls which bothers me. I don't want to take him to vet yet, the last 2 days were traumatizing enough for him. I'll see how he does rest of the day.
 
Which raw are you feeding or are you making your own? My cats are almost 9 pounds and I feed them about 3 1/2 ounces a day plus a few treats. They say 4 ox for a 10 pound cat. Do you have a baby scale to weigh him? If so just check to make sure his weight doesn’t go up without eating as it could be a sign of fluid retention. I’d try to avoid the vet as well. :bighug:
 
Do you have any anti-nausea meds on hand, specifically ondansetron (Zofran)? Looking at bowls but not eating makes me think he could be feeling a bit nauseous. Vet should be able to write a prescription without seeing the cat, maybe even phone it it to the pharmacy (mine does that).

I'm glad you didn't shoot this morning. :bighug:
 
Which raw are you feeding or are you making your own? My cats are almost 9 pounds and I feed them about 3 1/2 ounces a day plus a few treats. They say 4 ox for a 10 pound cat. Do you have a baby scale to weigh him? If so just check to make sure his weight doesn’t go up without eating as it could be a sign of fluid retention. I’d try to avoid the vet as well. :bighug:
Yes on a "normal day" he averages close to 1 5.5oz can. No baby scale :/
 
Do you have any anti-nausea meds on hand, specifically ondansetron (Zofran)? Looking at bowls but not eating makes me think he could be feeling a bit nauseous. Vet should be able to write a prescription without seeing the cat, maybe even phone it it to the pharmacy (mine does that).

I'm glad you didn't shoot this morning. :bighug:
Yes I'm going to call vet and ask him to call it in for me. Hoping it's just upset tummy from all this but gut says it's not
 
Neko ate 5.5 oz in a wet food cat, but only needed 4 oz of raw food. It's more densely packed, less "filler" so less is needed.
 
Neko ate 5.5 oz in a wet food cat, but only needed 4 oz of raw food. It's more densely packed, less "filler" so less is needed.
It's still early, he did eat some more. Vet is calling in prescription for me; in the meantime scheduling an appointment for him for Friday just in case.

Think I'm ok to skip again tonight, as long as he's under 100?
 
Is that new pic of him today? Glad he ate some more.

If under 100, I'd skip. His pancreas is working some. Note to any lurkers, Mr. Kitty is a rather unique situation. An acrokitty on cabergoline, and possibly something else in play. Caution is key here.
 
Oh Mr Kitty, stop with the diva appetite. Mama don't need to deal with that "is he nauseous or just playing with me on what food he wants" business :bighug::bighug:
 
Is that new pic of him today? Glad he ate some more.

If under 100, I'd skip. His pancreas is working some. Note to any lurkers, Mr. Kitty is a rather unique situation. An acrokitty on cabergoline, and possibly something else in play. Caution is key here.
Hmm +7.5 111, he did eat some. Wondering if maybe 0.25U would be better...but that 57 earlier makes me a little cautious.
 
I see he’s back down again. Will he eat any more?
He's actually eaten enough for this cycle, I'd put it at about 2.5-3 oz between the raw and pate. So pancreas is doing something in there.

Picking up the ondansetron tonight. Scheduling appointment for Friday for exam and chest tap just in case.
 
I'm glad to hear Mr Kitty ate enough, I hope he continues to eat, at least you have a whole pharmacy on board , I'm glad you got the script for the ondansetron.
I hope you can get a good sleep tonight ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Yesterday

He seems a little off again this morning, but he did go straight for his food. We'll see. Decided to skip shot as an experiment, especially not sure if appetite will stick.

Oh - the pathologist didn't know what to make of Pippi's tumor, so that's nice. I didn't even know that was a possible result. They have to do more testing on it.

Sorry to those of you whose cats I normally keep up with, I just have my hands so full at the moment!
I soooo totally get the having your hands so full part! Don’t feel badly. I think most people on the board do get it.
 
@FrostD I saw you didn't have a baby scale, do you have a human scale? I weight my cats by getting my own weight 2 times to confirm, and then weighing myself holding the cat 2 times again to confirm, and subtract the results. I've been doing it this way for years and I get very accurate results. But I do have a fancyish scale. May not work on older scales but maybe worth a shot?
 
Back
Top