7/13 Minner AMPS 200, +4 400

MinnerPip

Active Member
Hi, first time to this forum. Seeking moral support as I’m exhausted from no sleep, demoralized and unable to eat from stress. Minner will not convert off dry food. Period. And she refuses low carb dry even mixed (dr elseys, young again). She will starve herself and fatty liver disease will kill her. She’s 16lbs. I’ll keep trying, but it’s been a month of trying. I’m going to grocery today to try buying cooked whole chicken. Only other option to try is making her food myself.

Is it possible to regulate Minner if I can keep her on an eating schedule that’s 1/4 cup dry plus nibbling on fancy feast florentine in AM and PM? So far the Lantus is having only mild effect. The past 2 days I’ve supplemented the Lantus with 1U Humulin twice daily in attempt to get BG down from 300-400+ range … which is 4 pokes a day, not sustainable. See notes in her spreadsheet.

I think my vet is going to advise increasing Lantus again today which is Day 6. Do you think we wait longer before doing that and keep managing the high BG levels with added Humulin a few more days.
 
Hugs I wish I could advise .i understand what u are going through.:bighug::bighug::bighug:Dont worry it seems like it will never get better but I promise you it will . You just have to have major patience.
 
We've all been there and I promise you it gets better and easier :bighug: My Cleo has been diabetic since 1/2022 and it was exhausting at first. Now FD is just part of our routine.

I see Minner started off the day in Blues YAY! Can you scan the sensor at +2 to see how she's doing?

Could you put in the spreadsheet when and how much Humulin you've been giving?

You are fairly new to Lantus and it takes times for the depot to build (about 5-7 days). Have you read the SLGS sticky? The method here would have you increase in 0.25 units every 7 days/14 cycles.
 
Your previous post intro post
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-just-started-insulin.291886/#post-3192288

When posting on the lantus board please put the date first in your title
Look to the right tap on Thread Tools then Tap on Edit Title put today's date first then tap save .
When you post tomorrow please link today's post to tomorrow's post in case members want to go back and read it
@MinnerPip

Your previous days post will always be in the URL all the way up top ignore where it says insert or cancel I'm just trying to show you where your previous days post will be. Just copy it and then paste it to tomorrow's post

 
Last edited:
Hi, first time to this forum. Seeking moral support as I’m exhausted from no sleep, demoralized and unable to eat from stress. Minner will not convert off dry food. Period. And she refuses low carb dry even mixed (dr elseys, young again). She will starve herself and fatty liver disease will kill her. She’s 16lbs. I’ll keep trying, but it’s been a month of trying. I’m going to grocery today to try buying cooked whole chicken. Only other option to try is making her food myself.

Is it possible to regulate Minner if I can keep her on an eating schedule that’s 1/4 cup dry plus nibbling on fancy feast florentine in AM and PM? So far the Lantus is having only mild effect. The past 2 days I’ve supplemented the Lantus with 1U Humulin twice daily in attempt to get BG down from 300-400+ range … which is 4 pokes a day, not sustainable. See notes in her spreadsheet.

I think my vet is going to advise increasing Lantus again today which is Day 6. Do you think we wait longer before doing that and keep managing the high BG levels with added Humulin a few more days.
@Wendy&Neko

I see she started giving Humulin starting on 7-11 in the remarks section

@MinnerPip
Most members note when giving Humulin in the cells
 
Last edited:
Hello and welcome over here. Here is the link to your intro post on Feline Health for people wanting a bit more background.

Woohoo on the blues!

I see you are shooting R now. What guidance on when did the vet give? I presume that is Humulin R. We just call it R as a short cut. If at preshot time, just put something like 2;1uR in the units column. If given at other times per your Remarks, please put the dose of R in that +cell, so you'd add 1uR to the +4 yesterday AM and +8PM cells. That can help me or other R experienced people see it's impact.

1 unit is a rather large dose of R to start with. One of our goals with R is to just nudge the numbers down, giving the Lantus better numbers to work with. If you give too much R, you cause a fast drop, which in turn can cause a bounce and even higher numbers than you had before shooting the R. We highly recommend getting something familiar with shooting R to help you out when you start shooting this bolus insulin. There is more to learn about when not to use R than there is to when to use it. Doing it without guidance will be even more exhausting.

Looking at your notes, Humulin R does NOT build up over time. It's an in and out insulin. Also, it lasts longer than 3 hours.
 
Back
Top