7/13 merlin AMPS 136 PMPS 81

With SLGS we don’t recommend shooting under 90. It would have been better to stall, not feed and see if the number rises on its own above 90 to where you are comfortable shooting. Without any day time tests we don’t know if he is on the rise from lower numbers earlier or whether he’s still dropping. You’ve also missed taking a reduction from pm cycle of July 6th. Anytime you get a number under 90 the dose should be reduced immediately next cycle by 0.25u.

Please watch this cycle closely to see if you need to intervene with higher carbs early in the cycle, test at +1 and +2 and depending on those readings you may need HC food and to continue testing to be sure he stays safe.
 
Merlin is doing fine. Its been +2 since insulin.
The only thing is I can't test him more because he is a very spicy kitty and I need more hands. And I know I'm stressing him out because I have to wrap him up in a blanket. So far he is doing really good and playing more. I seen a big change in him since starting insulin three weeks ago. I wish he let me test his BG more.
 
I agree with @Christie & Maverick. With SLGS you do not shoot under 90
I know you are having trouble testing and I appreciate that, but because of that we have no idea how low he is dropping during the latest cycles. I suspect he is dropping quite low. The preshot of 81indicates he dropped lower than that during the previous PM cycle.
Cats can appear perfectly normal before suddenly having a symptomatic hypo.
Do you have a hypo kit set up.?
Please take Christie’s advice and lower the dose by 0.25 units.
Is there any way you can get some sort of help to test at least once during some of the cycles to see how low he is going?.
At the moment you are risking Merlin dropping too low.
 
Yes, I saw that in your notes. Taking into consideration the inability to test, safety comes first. It would have been better to skip, since you have very little data in the way of how Merlin responds to insulin, when he onsets, nadirs and how much duration he typically gets. Better a day too high than an hour too low.

I would suggest trying 0.5u for 7 days and get as many tests as you can. You've been making dose decisions based on preshots, and changing between 1u and 0.5u, but that's not how Lantus works. Without midcycle tests, you don't know how low the dose is taking Merlin, and with Lantus it is so important to get some mid cycle tests, since Lantus is dosed based on nadirs.
 
Back
Top