7/13 Kasha AMPS 103, 90@+3 PMPS 145 66 @ +2

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Member Since 2010
I'm so tired this morning. Apparently I fell asleep on the couch last night after I got our +3... Missed +4 and +5. Woke up just in time for +6.

She had a snack at +9 - didn't eat too much and I was too tired to stay up and wait for her to finish, so I took it away after about 10 min.

Appetite this morning was moderate. She ate about 1 1 /2 Tbsp of FF breakfast with chicken dust.

Last night before bed, she was darting around the house and I chased her into the bedroom. She played attack cat for a little while on the bed till I had to finish getting ready for bed.

I thought she might be feeling better yesterday evening, but she had some sneezing fits late yesterday. Day by day...

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=19553
 
Re: 7/13 Kasha AMPS 103

Morning! That's a nice AMPS for Kasha, and it sounds like she's perking up with the attack mode playing. Sorry to hear she is still sneezing; does it seem like less sneezing since the meds? I hope today is better for all of you.
 
Re: 7/13 Kasha AMPS 103

Ann and Maggie11 said:
Morning! That's a nice AMPS for Kasha, and it sounds like she's perking up with the attack mode playing. Sorry to hear she is still sneezing; does it seem like less sneezing since the meds? I hope today is better for all of you.

Hey Ann - how's Maggie doing this morning?

I want to say that Kasha sounds less congested, but that might just be wishful thinking. It's hard to say - she missed her Saturday dose of A/B because she vomited, so it's going to take a few days for her to really have had any consistent A/B action, I think.
 
Re: 7/13 Kasha AMPS 103

lovely amps
Sounds like Kasha is feeling better, despite some sneezies still. Great news.
 
Re: 7/13 Kasha AMPS 103, 90@+3

Hi Krys,
Maggie says "hi" and is doing good, as long as I remember to do what I am supposed to do! :smile:

I hope Kasha recovers from her UTI and sneezies. Did she have any symptoms of the UTI? Maggie kept depositing little puddles in the box, not her usually normal clunks. She also just didn't feel good and had loss of appetite.
 
Re: 7/13 Kasha AMPS 103, 90@+3

It's a URI, not UTI... Upper respiratory infection/sinus infection. Maybe some dental infection too. She just keeps sneezing in fits. But she's eating and so far her BG isn't affected - unless it's making her BG lower!
 
Re: 7/13 Kasha AMPS 103, 90@+3

kryskat said:
It's a URI, not UTI... Upper respiratory infection/sinus infection. Maybe some dental infection too. She just keeps sneezing in fits. But she's eating and so far her BG isn't affected - unless it's making her BG lower!

Oh I see! Those dental infections, if it is an infection, can really also affect their appetite. She does have good numbers.
 
Re: 7/13 Kasha AMPS 103, 90@+3 PMPS 145

When I got home, Kasha had her head in the auto feeder, eating her +8.5 snack at + 11.5. Nice. So, I'm going to go out on a limb and say that 145 might have some food behind it.

Her nose was bleeding a little again. It's hard to tell how much, but I saw some red dots on the feeder that I believe are blood and there was some mucus in her nose that was slightly colored - not red, but like maybe a tinge of blood in it. Then she had another sneezing fit and there may have been more blood but she licked her nose and I couldn't verify. Other than that, she's feisty and ate a good dinner - 2 Tbsp FF. And she attacked my hand and bit me several times, all while purring away on her box on the porch. Add in some darting evasive maneuvers around the house to elude me at shot time, and i think her attitude is pretty good, all in all.

Vet office called to check up on her - I told them she missed Saturday's dose cuz she vomited it back up, so I'm going to need a few more days to really see if I can see a difference from the A/B. They were just happy to hear that she's eating.

Which is something I should try - eating. I'm so completely exhausted. 2 hour meetings AM and PM all week. After the PM meeting today, I was just IMing a friend to say I was finally free and then I got another IM from a work person asking me to call into another meeting. I felt trapped at my desk all day... I just wanted to cut the phone cord and run!
 
Re: 7/13 Kasha AMPS 103, 90@+3 PMPS 145

nice PMPS, sorry to hear poor Kasha's nose is bleeding.
And sorry to hear about your work day, ugh I've had plenty of those. Treat yourself to something wildly fattening today and just relax.
 
66 @ +2. Seriously? What is going on with her?

I was playing with a used syringe (yes, kids - don't try this at home) to see how much of a drop comes out for our current dose (pretty small), if I actually measure to the 0 line (slightly smaller drop) and if I push the plunger to the point it wont move forward any more (but not applying any extra pressure - even tinier drop). So... I figure we have some room to try those smaller doses if her current one turns out to be too much or if I just want to try a reduction.

I can't find it anywhere in our protocols, but I swear I read somewhere that you should try once a day dosing before going to a trial w/o insulin. Maybe that's just what my vet does - except I think they go from 1 unit b.i.d. to 1 unit s.i.d. (once a day)!
 
No - I don't think a dosecrease just yet. I'm doing .1u right now - I was just playing around with ideas for how to taper down even further. She's still getting a big reaction so far from even this tiny dose... It's crazy to me.

Her nose was definitely bleeding tonight. Well, bloody mucus, it's not dripping or anything. It's not constant and she's not distressed so I'm just going to keep watching her and hope the A/B helps. Her attitude and eating, overall, seem better, if anything. So far, she doesn't sound as congested to me. But again - could be wishful thinking.
 
Hey Krys!

Has Kasha had a history of getting these sneeze fits? Any possibility she is allergic to something?

I'm just blown away by her numbers and the amount of insulin you are giving. YAY! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

So did you crawl into bed with a bucket of icecream like was sugested earlier? :razz: Just wondered what flavor?
 
myla said:
Hey Krys!

Has Kasha had a history of getting these sneeze fits? Any possibility she is allergic to something?

I'm just blown away by her numbers and the amount of insulin you are giving. YAY! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

So did you crawl into bed with a bucket of icecream like was sugested earlier? :razz: Just wondered what flavor?

She gets the sneezes a couple of times a year, but they usually go away in a week or so with a little lysine added to her food... not this time, and she usually doesn't have sneezing fits. She had something like this 1 1/2 yrs ago in January and she had antibiotics and I started using a humidifier to help her sinuses so she wouldn't have a bloody nose - it went away and nothing again till now. I consider allergies, but no idea what could be setting her off - I've not added anything new, she sneezes in every room of the house and it doesn't seem to matter if she's inside with the air on or if the windows are open and the air is off...

No ice cream. My freezer stopped working and my father keeps telling me it's just the timer... This will be the 2nd or 3rd time he's replaced it for me and the whole refrigerator is totally unreliable. I have to throw out everything in the freezer now. I keep telling him that if the refrigerator goes (it's hard to keep most areas of the fridge in the right temp range - gets too warm, but then other areas freeze everything), it's going to be really expensive to replace the insulin (he hates wasting money), but I don't think he is exactly listening. He's got other things to do.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top