7/13 Jupiter PMBG/55 Happy Birthday Deb&Wink!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Link to yesterdays condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=99802

Well fortunately I had a much easier time giving Jupiter his pills last night and this morning. Now if only he would eat a little better!!! Gave him only a very small piece of the tramadol this morning. He refused several varieties of food, so I gave him some shreds and gravy and he ate that. I know its HC, but atleast he is eating something - and something is better then nothing! I am also going to try hand feeding him today like I did last night since he seemed to like it and eat more. Just gotta wait for him to come out from under the couch!

I decided I am just going to try the pain meds every 12 hour instead of every 8, and a bit smaller a piece than a fourth of the pill... then we can just adjust if needed... like if he acts in pains or yelps when he sits on it... I dont want him to feel the way he did yesterday. Poor baby boy. I am really trying my absolute best to make him comfortable until surgery and to get him to eat.

I still havent decided on what to do about the litter. I was hoping to get him a (cheap)shallow litter pan that he can get in and out of easily incase they wrap his leg and he cant easily bend it. Our walmart only had 2 litter pans; one was a tall enclosed pan... the other was a shallow pan but it was teeny tiny I think for a kitten. Petco's are realllllly expensive. Going to try the dollar general today, really hoping they have one for cheap.... otherwise we wont be able to get one... and I am just worried about him being uncomfortable or hurt himself trying to get into the tall litter pans we have.

I really want to switch to the yesterdays news litter. The vet said thats what they recommend for cats that get declawed or have a foot surgery, since this type of litter wont stick. We currently use clay cat litter, and the day he went to the vet and they cleaned that area and did a fine needle aspiration... when he came home and he went into the litter box.... he came out with litter all stuck to it. The vet said with this kind of litter though, it needs changed very frequently because if it smells, cats wont use it. I would need to transition him to the new litter very soon, and keep mixing it in so that hes used to it by his surgery date. I think we would end up going through a lot of it if we started transitioning him now and kept using it til a few days after surgery. Its expensive though so I just dont know if it will be realistic for us to switch litter right now. Theres no way we could afford multiple bags of it. I considered just buying 1 bag (thats all I can afford right now) and just using the 1 bag for the day of his surgery - but since he wont be used to that litter, I dont think he will use it, and I really dont want him to pee on the floor. I just keep worrying about it though and havent been able to find any "off" brands of this type of litter that is cheaper. So still not sure what we plan to do about that yet.


HAPPY BIRTHDAY Deb&Wink!!!!!!!! Deb, really hope you have a wonderful day today!!!!!



Todays numbers:
AMPS-90
Skipped Shot

Recap of yesterday:
AMPS-67
Skipped Shot
PMPS-81
Skipped Shot
+4-99
 
Re: 7/13 Jupiter AMBG/90

Glad to hear Jupiteris eating something and the pilling was easier the last two times.

Thank you Jamie.
 
Re: 7/13 Jupiter AMBG/90

Happy Birthday Deb!! party_cat

Thank you for all you do helping others on this board!! Have a wonderful day dancing_cat
 
Re: 7/13 Jupiter AMBG/90

I'm very glad he is eating a bit more today and taking his pills!!!! Sending more healing vines for you both.

Happy Birthday, DEB!! Sorry for the condo hijack, Jamie!
 
Re: 7/13 Jupiter AMBG/90 Happy Birthday Deb&Wink!

So far today, jupe has only eaten.... like a few bites of an appetizer....

and altogether maybe a fourth of a can of friskies shreds in gravy.....(he licked some gravy from 2 different cans - so total about 1/4 of a can)

and a few bites of grass of course....


so I really dont feel like he has eaten anywhere near enough yet



and he has been hiding pretty much all day :sad:
 
Re: 7/13 Jupiter AMBG/90 Happy Birthday Deb&Wink!

Darn, i was so excited thinking Jupe was eating! Big Trucks full of good, hungry apppy vines and prayers to you! I was the pet store yesterday and saw rolls of stretch gauze that sticks to itself. Maybe your vet would think it was ok to loosely wrap it around his foot after surgery and protect it from the litter? I also saw a tiny foot boot. I'm not sure how well a cat would put up with that.
For a temp, inexpensive litter box, what about an under the bed box from somewhere like walmart or the dollar store? They only have about 5" sides.
Lots of hugs, scritches, prayers and vines to you.
 
Re: 7/13 Jupiter AMBG/90 Happy Birthday Deb&Wink!

sorry about all the worries you have right now. :sad: I'm glad you found a low litter box. I used to use Petsmart's version of Yesterday's News for Jazzy. She used it fine, and I thought it didn't smell as bad as the Yesterday's News and the pellets held together better. It is kind of a pain if you're used to scoopable litter because you do have to throw it all out frequently. For her, I had to empty it daily, but that was when she was very diabetic and peeing oceans. It might not be so bad for a well regulated cat.

Sending good eating vines for Jupiter! I can relate. I'm feeding 10-12% Fancy Feast Medleys now. KK eats those much more consistently than the pates, and it's more important for him to eat than to keep the carbs low. Sometimes he gets HC for the same reason.
 
Re: 7/13 Jupiter AMBG/90 Happy Birthday Deb&Wink!

Thank you all for the visits.

Today was a much easier day giving pills. I gave him a small piece of tramadol at 7:30pm (this mornings dose given at 10:30am) so about 9 hours after last dose... he was acting weird and I thought he might be in pain. and it was much easier once again to give pill. took a few tries but he wasnt bothered because he was getting to eat some grass so he was very happy

Today he has been hiding under the couch almost all day. He did end up coming out from under the couch for a few minutes earlier...and he did eat a little bit... still not enough for the day though... and he was back to hiding under the couch a few minutes later.

I am just so worried. I dont know if hes hiding from being in pain.... or from the pain medicine.....

I dont know what to do, I am not sure what the right thing to do is..... I really dont want him to be in pain.... but I really dont want him to be afraid and hiding all day either...

and of course he needs to eat more - we are trying everything!!!!! something he will eat sometimes... he wont eat other times.... I have to keep opening cans of food til we find something he will eat. I am putting them in the fridge and trying to offer them back to him during the day. I dont understand why hes being so picky. I understand he doesnt feel well, but he will deny his favorite foods sometimes and eat something he doesnt normally like much... its so random. Poor boy - I just want him to feel all better!!!
 
Re: 7/13 Jupiter AMBG/90 Happy Birthday Deb&Wink!

okay how much food does he need to eat in a day?

today he licked all the gravy out of 2 cans of friskies shreds and gravy

he ate about half of a FF appetizer

he ate about 2-3 teaspoons of LC sheba whitefish

He ate 3 whiskas temptations treats (I NEVER give these anymroe.....they used to be his favorite thing before diabetes dx... but tried a few to see if he would eat and he ate them)




I think I could get him to lick more gravy out of the cans of shreds. he doesnt really eat the shreds though - just gravy. should i keep offering him more gravy?
 
Re: 7/13 Jupiter PMBG/55 Happy Bday Deb - QUESTIONS

Just got him to eat some IAMS max calorie canned food. About 2-3 teaspoons

Okay he also keeps licking his lips which I think someone mentioned was a sign of nausea?
 
Re: 7/13 Jupiter PMBG/55 Happy Bday Deb - QUESTIONS

Oh, (((Jamie))), your stress level must be through the roof! Yes, licking the lips can be a sign of nausea. Maybe the pain pill has that as a side effect?

I just hope he feels better too. Hurry up thursday!

Would he usually eat much more than that?

Jane
 
Re: 7/13 Jupiter PMBG/55 Happy Bday Deb - QUESTIONS

Have you tried baby food, Jamie? Perhaps with some freeze-dried chicken "dust" sprinkled on top. If you add a little warm water to the food that you have had to refrigerate, it will bring up the smell and make it taste better.

I hope you can solve the litter problem. Friends of ours couldn't get their cat to use any litter except newspaper. They used to cut it up into small squares (about 2''x2'') with scissors and put it in his box (not a lot, just enough to cover the bottom of the box). Then they would just toss it out after he had used it.

Thinking of you. Thursday is just around the corner! (well, almost).

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/13 Jupiter PMBG/55 Happy Bday Deb - QUESTIONS

We tried baby food. He ate it the first time.... then never again.... we tried different flavors.... at room temp... a little warm... and cold


Hes a big cat.... 17.4lbs! I am not sure really how much he should be eating because ever since his numbers came down to greens he stopped eating as much...so I am not really sure how much he would normally eat

thank you for the visits :-D
 
Re: 7/13 Jupiter PMBG/55 Happy Bday Deb - QUESTIONS

You could figure about 20 calories per pound per day. He needs to eat more than just the gravy on the food.

I'm sorry he's having such a bad day. I hope he will feel better tomorrow.
 
Re: 7/13 Jupiter PMBG/55 Happy Bday Deb - QUESTIONS

He just ate about half of this cup of this meow mix wet food tuna and shrimp. I dont remember what it was called. But I am really happy he ate it!!! He is acting a little more active now! Either the pain meds wearing off, or hes not in much pain, or he likes that its a little cooler in the house - whatever reason it is - I am just happy now! He seems to do so much better at night... I have no clue why but atleast he seems to be feeling better and now he ate some!
 
Hi Jamie, glad Jupiter finally ate something. Sending healing and appy vines. I Jupiter is on Tramadol. I hope it's helping his pain level. Mags will be starting it also on Monday. I hope Sunday will be a better day for Jupiter. Glad you found a litter box at the Dollar General store. Amazing what we can find at those stores. Have a good night.
 
Have you tried the Friskies Prime Filets with Gravy? I'm just saying because my two cats never would eat the shreads, they would lick the gravy and leave all the shreads.

I'm glad he ate some food during the day and night. The Iams Max Cal has the most amount of calories in it per ounce, so I'm glad he ate some of that.

Happy Birthday to Deb & Wink!!! Thank you for your tremendous help on the board :YMHUG:

And Jamie, you get a :YMHUG: too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top