Jamie & Jupiter
Member Since 2013
Link to yesterdays condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=99802
Well fortunately I had a much easier time giving Jupiter his pills last night and this morning. Now if only he would eat a little better!!! Gave him only a very small piece of the tramadol this morning. He refused several varieties of food, so I gave him some shreds and gravy and he ate that. I know its HC, but atleast he is eating something - and something is better then nothing! I am also going to try hand feeding him today like I did last night since he seemed to like it and eat more. Just gotta wait for him to come out from under the couch!
I decided I am just going to try the pain meds every 12 hour instead of every 8, and a bit smaller a piece than a fourth of the pill... then we can just adjust if needed... like if he acts in pains or yelps when he sits on it... I dont want him to feel the way he did yesterday. Poor baby boy. I am really trying my absolute best to make him comfortable until surgery and to get him to eat.
I still havent decided on what to do about the litter. I was hoping to get him a (cheap)shallow litter pan that he can get in and out of easily incase they wrap his leg and he cant easily bend it. Our walmart only had 2 litter pans; one was a tall enclosed pan... the other was a shallow pan but it was teeny tiny I think for a kitten. Petco's are realllllly expensive. Going to try the dollar general today, really hoping they have one for cheap.... otherwise we wont be able to get one... and I am just worried about him being uncomfortable or hurt himself trying to get into the tall litter pans we have.
I really want to switch to the yesterdays news litter. The vet said thats what they recommend for cats that get declawed or have a foot surgery, since this type of litter wont stick. We currently use clay cat litter, and the day he went to the vet and they cleaned that area and did a fine needle aspiration... when he came home and he went into the litter box.... he came out with litter all stuck to it. The vet said with this kind of litter though, it needs changed very frequently because if it smells, cats wont use it. I would need to transition him to the new litter very soon, and keep mixing it in so that hes used to it by his surgery date. I think we would end up going through a lot of it if we started transitioning him now and kept using it til a few days after surgery. Its expensive though so I just dont know if it will be realistic for us to switch litter right now. Theres no way we could afford multiple bags of it. I considered just buying 1 bag (thats all I can afford right now) and just using the 1 bag for the day of his surgery - but since he wont be used to that litter, I dont think he will use it, and I really dont want him to pee on the floor. I just keep worrying about it though and havent been able to find any "off" brands of this type of litter that is cheaper. So still not sure what we plan to do about that yet.
HAPPY BIRTHDAY Deb&Wink!!!!!!!! Deb, really hope you have a wonderful day today!!!!!
Todays numbers:
AMPS-90
Skipped Shot
Recap of yesterday:
AMPS-67
Skipped Shot
PMPS-81
Skipped Shot
+4-99
Well fortunately I had a much easier time giving Jupiter his pills last night and this morning. Now if only he would eat a little better!!! Gave him only a very small piece of the tramadol this morning. He refused several varieties of food, so I gave him some shreds and gravy and he ate that. I know its HC, but atleast he is eating something - and something is better then nothing! I am also going to try hand feeding him today like I did last night since he seemed to like it and eat more. Just gotta wait for him to come out from under the couch!
I decided I am just going to try the pain meds every 12 hour instead of every 8, and a bit smaller a piece than a fourth of the pill... then we can just adjust if needed... like if he acts in pains or yelps when he sits on it... I dont want him to feel the way he did yesterday. Poor baby boy. I am really trying my absolute best to make him comfortable until surgery and to get him to eat.
I still havent decided on what to do about the litter. I was hoping to get him a (cheap)shallow litter pan that he can get in and out of easily incase they wrap his leg and he cant easily bend it. Our walmart only had 2 litter pans; one was a tall enclosed pan... the other was a shallow pan but it was teeny tiny I think for a kitten. Petco's are realllllly expensive. Going to try the dollar general today, really hoping they have one for cheap.... otherwise we wont be able to get one... and I am just worried about him being uncomfortable or hurt himself trying to get into the tall litter pans we have.
I really want to switch to the yesterdays news litter. The vet said thats what they recommend for cats that get declawed or have a foot surgery, since this type of litter wont stick. We currently use clay cat litter, and the day he went to the vet and they cleaned that area and did a fine needle aspiration... when he came home and he went into the litter box.... he came out with litter all stuck to it. The vet said with this kind of litter though, it needs changed very frequently because if it smells, cats wont use it. I would need to transition him to the new litter very soon, and keep mixing it in so that hes used to it by his surgery date. I think we would end up going through a lot of it if we started transitioning him now and kept using it til a few days after surgery. Its expensive though so I just dont know if it will be realistic for us to switch litter right now. Theres no way we could afford multiple bags of it. I considered just buying 1 bag (thats all I can afford right now) and just using the 1 bag for the day of his surgery - but since he wont be used to that litter, I dont think he will use it, and I really dont want him to pee on the floor. I just keep worrying about it though and havent been able to find any "off" brands of this type of litter that is cheaper. So still not sure what we plan to do about that yet.
HAPPY BIRTHDAY Deb&Wink!!!!!!!! Deb, really hope you have a wonderful day today!!!!!
Todays numbers:
AMPS-90
Skipped Shot
Recap of yesterday:
AMPS-67
Skipped Shot
PMPS-81
Skipped Shot
+4-99