7/13 - Boots - AMPS 89 | +5 66 | +11 72 | PMPS 58 | +1 58

Status
Not open for further replies.

Megan and Boots (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday's (panicked) condo

So we're still a little confused here. We had given Boots a reduced dose last night after the low PMPS number, and again this morning since we had to go to work (can normally get home at lunchtime for a mid-day check but not always). And then tonight, we grabbed a +11.5 right before PMPS time, and in those 20 or so minutes, he was headed down from 72 to 58, so we got nervous again at PMPS and reduced again. 1U this time , so not as reduced as last night.

I'm really confused though. Until his vet appointment this week, he was coasting along at 1.5U dose. Vet told us to skip Monday morning since he would be fasting, and we've been shooting reduced doses ever since because his numbers are staying really low. I don't get it! It it just depot-related still, 4 days later? Or is he really ready for a decrease to maybe 1.0 or 1.25? At least starting with tomorrow's PM shot, it's a weekend and we can be around to monitor more, so we could try to creep him back up to 1.5U where he was, but - should we??

I also have some results from the vet testing this week, but am not sure if I should post here in L&L Land or in the General Health Forum. Topics include (unfortunately) kidney disease, IBD, pancreatitis, and peeing outside the litter box. :( Do enough of you awesome folks in L&L Land have experience with some or all of those things, plus Lantus-regulated diabetes, that I should just post it here for guidance?
 
Now that you have shot two 1.0 doses in a row, I would stick with it to stabilize the depot. Then you'll be able to figure out where to go next in dose. Hopping around doses makes it tricky to know where to go next.

Neko had kidney disease, IBD/small cell lymphoma which meant some pancreatitis, on top of her acromegaly/diabetes and heart disease. You are not alone. :bighug: Lots of older kitties here so experience in managing multiple conditions. For food you should select low phosphorus, low carb options, maybe also novel proteins. I would rethink the Fancy Feast as they ar higher in phosphorus. Did Boots have an ultrasound done? Just wondering why the IBD as a possibility. If you have lab work results, we have people here who are good at looking at them. Just enter the data into the Labs tab of the SS.
 
Thanks. Good advice on the dose. We'll try to settle in at 1.0U tomorrow and see if he is happy there or if we will eventually creep back up. These low numbers with all these reductions have really thrown us off.

I'll do a fresh post tomorrow with the vet test results. Just UA, no bloodwork this time, and it's already in the LABS tab. Rest is just verbal info on ultrasound and x-rays. Too sleepy now to start, so I'll write it up tomorrow and see what advice people have. It's overwhelming, but good to know we're far from alone in managing it all.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top