7/12 Bubbas AMPS 352, +1 439 advice please :/, +11 315, PMPS 327, +2 321

Bubbas and Katrina

Member Since 2023
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-11-bubbas-291-pmps-192-2-172-4-100.279438/#post-3087351

At least he had a good day yesterday. Not too sure why these extreme up and down spikes!! Ugh

his sugars were 100 +4 last night 7/11, so around 10:30pm PST, he was meowing for more food (which he never really does, but he is LOVING his new fancy feast way more than the Purine DM) so I gave him a small mixture of fancy feast and Purina DM. Do we think that might have been the problem and that’s why his sugars spiked up soo high this morning? ??

no ketones this morning either. I just tested again +1 and it went up to 439!!! What the heck is going on :(

EDIT: My vet wanted me to relay the curve numbers I did last Saturday so I did, he finally replied and said I should go up to 2 units every 12 hours. I am not sure about that, 2 units is clearly too high for him. I am doing another curve this Saturday so I will just see what ya'll say and suggest about any adjustments and go from there. I am sure if I do go up, it's going to be 1.25, not a whole 2 units like my Vet wants lol
 
Last edited:
He’s bouncing from the 100 yesterday. His body is not used to normal BG so the BG spikes. Bounces can take 4-6 cycles to clear. Here we increase in .25 increments here so as not to miss a good dose. With seeing a nadir of 100 I would not increase just yet. Have you decided upon a dosing method to follow? That will determine when to increase and decrease.
 
He’s bouncing from the 100 yesterday. His body is not used to normal BG so the BG spikes. Bounces can take 4-6 cycles to clear. Here we increase in .25 increments here so as not to miss a good dose. With seeing a nadir of 100 I would not increase just yet. Have you decided upon a dosing method to follow? That will determine when to increase and decrease.

Ok yes, I wasn't going to follow the vet's advice anyways on doing 2 units every 12 hours. And I am doing SLGS I believe. unless I have been doing it wrong/not doing it at all lol I can't test as much as a lot of people do on here, I am living paycheck to paycheck so even spending money on test strips for the ReliOn Platunum is something I have to be aware of. I test as much as I can in the pm without poking Bubbas constantly because I just cant afford to use 50 stips every couple weeks, its not in my budget unfortunately. Have I been doing SLGS according to my spreadsheet? Again, unless technically I haven't been, but I thought I was.
 
Last edited:
Okay. So add SLGS to both your spreadsheet and signature. Looks like initially there was lots of jumping around in dose. With the 100’s last night you won’t increase. You would hold the dose.
 
This is from the dosing sticky.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases. If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change).
 
Okay. So add SLGS to both your spreadsheet and signature. Looks like initially there was lots of jumping around in dose. With the 100’s last night you won’t increase. You would hold the dose.
Oops looks like I forgot to add it to my signature! I just added it, and I have had SLGS in my spreadsheet I believe for a couple of days now and I tried to make sure I did that asap so everyone knows! :)
 
This is from the dosing sticky.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases. If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change).

I actually just went in a re-read the SLGS sticky and read that again! I have been sticking pretty much 100% by the advice I have been given on here, so I don't add or change or subtract anything at all unless I get the clear from this forum. I am doing another curve this Saturday and will of course post numbers Saturday night to see if there is any increase or decrease that is suggested! But as of right now I am holding 1 unit with no skips or interruptions. :) Since I am so new at this, I have heavily relying on advice and suggestions from everyone here until I get more understanding and use to dosing, when to do what, how to do what, ect.
 
It's actually possible that Bubbas went even lower last night. He was pretty close to the reduction point with SLGS. SLGS says to keep the dose if nadirs are between 90 and 149. Glad you aren't going to listen to the vet about increasing. :eek:
 
It's actually possible that Bubbas went even lower last night. He was pretty close to the reduction point with SLGS. SLGS says to keep the dose if nadirs are between 90 and 149. Glad you aren't going to listen to the vet about increasing. :eek:
Yeah I am not going to listen to them at all at this point, they tried to tell me to START him off at 3 units every 12 hours, ya right. Thats why I rely so heavily on this forum because you guys actually know what you are talking about!
 
+2 321. He’s back up to having a high day :/ trying to remember to have patients with this process. Gave him one spoon full of his fancy feast at 8:30pm but no more for the night.


Today is the first day where I only gave him fancy feast all day, no Purina DM (testing this out due to his fancy feast being 0 carbs and his Purina being 3.5)
 
He's still bouncing from last night. Bounces can take up to six cycles to resolve. Patience pants are an essential wardrobe item. :)

Giving a cat 0% carbs vs 3.5% carbs may not be a significant difference. Most cats do better with a little bit of carbs. I think a lot people feed in the 3-6% carb range.
 
He's still bouncing from last night. Bounces can take up to six cycles to resolve. Patience pants are an essential wardrobe item. :)

Giving a cat 0% carbs vs 3.5% carbs may not be a significant difference. Most cats do better with a little bit of carbs. I think a lot people feed in the 3-6% carb range.
Ugh these darn bounces!!!! And yes patients pants are def a part of my wardrobe as of lately lol at least I’m trying them on haha


And oh really? I thought maybe zero carbs would be better
 
Back
Top