7/12 Alec, AMPS 142, +2 72, +3 60, +4 88, +7 262, PMPS 425. Feeding advice.

Alec

Member Since 2022
Alec was back from the bounce in the past 2 days this AM, +3 was at 60!
He bounced back fast again, PMPS is 425! Is that normal?

Instead of giving him a whole 3 oz can this morning, I've been feeding him mini meals at +1, +2, +3, +6 this morning, should I do the same PM to "flat the curve"?

In term of dose, I plan to stay on current 1.5U for a couple of more days since he got green numbers this morning. Suggestions?

Thank you as always!

yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-11-alec-amps-279-9-311-pmps-336.265696/
the day before: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-8-alec-pmps-168-1-226-2-243-6-234.265567/#post-2973631
 
Last edited:
see Tiffmaxee's post below for good advice :)


Also, and I'm sure you probably know this but just in case you don't -- if you get a number under 50 that means Alec has earned a dose reduction! Your next shot would be .25 U less, so 1.25 U.
 
Last edited:
Yiu want to keep him in green as long as possible so when he gets to low 60’s or high 50’s feed a little mc. What % carbs do you have?
Lc is under 9%, mc under 15% and above us hc.


Once his bg falls under 50 it doesn’t necessarily mean he’s hypo. It’s a low bg. If he has any symptoms it’s a symptomatic hypo. So if under 50 feed hc and test again in 20-30 minutes. If still under 50 more hc. Just a couple teaspoons at a time to keep him willing to eat. You then need to keep testing until at least in the mid to high 50’s and then switch to feeding lc and test every half hour. If flat you can feed a little lc and test in an hour. You want the bg to stay up without food ideally for two hours before you stop testing.
 
Last edited:
Yiu want to keep him in green as long as possible so when he gets to low 60’s or high 50’s feed a little mc. What % carbs do you have?
Lcis under 9%, mc under 15% and above us hc.


Once his bg falls under 50 it doesn’t necessarily mean he’s hypo. It’s a low bg. If he has any symptoms it’s a symptomatic hypo. So if under 50 feed hc and test again in 20-30 minutes. If still under 50 more hc. Just a couple teaspoons at a time to keep him willing to eat. You then need to keep testing until at least in the mid to high 50’s and then switch to feeding lc and test every half hour. If flat you can feed a little lc and test in an hour. You want the bg to stay up without food ideally for two hours before you stop testing.

Many thanks! BG is 60 at +3, fed him low carb. For high carb, I have FF gravy lovers. will test again in 20 mins.
 
That ff is fine. If under 50 and not coming up add a few drops of honey or syrup to bring the bg up.
 
Back
Top