GA 7/12 Ace AMPS 277 | High Ketones

Amanda & Ace

Member Since 2022
Hi all - New poster here after posting in the main forum several days ago.

Ace went into DKA about 3 weeks ago, spent 4 nights in the hospital. Since he's been home, I have been trying to monitor his BG regularly. It has been pretty steady overall, no huge highs, no huge lows. I have tested for ketones and all last week, it was in the negatives, but I tested just now (the first time since last week) and it is high. What should I do? Should I call the vet right away? Do something here at home? He is acting normal, doesn't seem to be lethargic or anything. Still drinking, eating, and peeing a lot.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Amanda & Ace
 
sorry just saw this Amanda, how are you testing, with a ketostik? Can you re-test?

I never used the sticks just a blood ketone meter so I am not sure how to interpret that. Seeing as he is displaying no signs, that is good, probably if you called the vet they would say to just monitor. But you might want to call anyway just to be sure -- I am no expert or FDMB guru, but I will tag some:

@Suzanne & Darcy
@FrostD
@Wendy&Neko
 
Thanks, Kyle! I am using the sticks. I know if you wait to long to assess the color (over 15 seconds?), it can end up very dark after a certain time, which would be a false positive/high reading. So, I can try it again, but I do remember seeing the color change pretty immediately after collecting the sample. So I am assuming it's probably more on the moderate scale, potentially between moderate/high.
 
Can you double check the ketones sticks with yourself, just to make sure they are OK and you are looking at it in a good light. If you think it is high, I'd put a call into the vet.

Are you giving fluids at all? What is his liquid intake like?

Your signature says TR, but your spreadsheet says otherwise. With ketones in the picture and recent DKA, I'd be increasing the dose as fast as TR says you can. No more than 6 cycles at a dose if you aren't seeing anything under 200. You should be increasing to 3.25 units.
 
Yes I can test out the sticks.

He is still drinking a lot, but also peeing a lot. I did start adding a teaspoon of water to his food when it is served. Are there any other methods I should use?

I will start the 3.25 U tonight.

Thank you for the advice!
 
thanks Wendy!!


@Amanda & Ace it is good for you to be so vigilant on the ketones, esp with the history of DKA. From what I've seen, cats with a history of DKA can have their ketone levels just spike right up almost out of nowhere, very quickly.

have you thought about the Nova Max Blood Ketone meter? I was very happy to have it and not be chasing down my cat with ketostix or trying to stick one in a urine ball.
 
Hi, guys! I really appreciate your concern for Ace. He was admitted to the hospital last night. They confirmed he had high ketones. He’s not in full-on DKA, so that’s good. This morning, the doc said most of his values are just fine, but he still won’t eat. He is drinking and peeing. She gave him an appetite stimulant to help. They are going to run some tests to try to get to the root of the problem. There is some underlying issue that is causing all of this. IBD, pancreatitis, etc. Hoping to find out more tonight, but I’m happy he’s in much better shape than the last hospital visit!

But my worry now is that he has some kind of chronic issue that isn’t curable, but rather you just manage the symptoms. And then that puts us right back where we started. Just being in limbo wondering if this underlying condition paired with diabetes is going to wreak havoc on his body at any moment. Do you all know of anyone who has a kitty with diabetes plus IBD or chronic pancreatitis? Just wondering how they manage it day to day. I really dont want to have to go through this every month. :(
 
Cinna (who had an OTJ trial on the weekend) has IBD. There have been plenty other IBD kitties here, that was just the first one that came to mind. My girl had either IBD or small cell lymphoma (couldn't have anaesthesia due to her heart condition so couldn't properly diagnose) and was most likely SCL. IBD means novel protein food and probiotics, possibly a steroid - budesonide best as less likely to impact BG's. SCL it doesn't matter the food but a couple medications take care of it. @tiffmaxee kitty Max had chronic pancreatitis. And I've seen plenty others here. You learn to see the early signs and start supportive meds (pain relief, anti nausea, possibly fluids). It's all doable once you get into a routine.
 
Max had chronic pancreatitis for a few years before becoming diabetic. As Wendy said I learned what his signs of a bout were and treated immediately. I think he was only hospitalized for it overnight once. His first sign was always inappetence. Once I knew the correct dose of ondansetron that helped him many times that was all he needed. Other times after a few doses of ondansetron I gave him a sliver of cyproheptadine as an appetite stimulant. You just dint want to stimulate the appetite of a nauseous cat because that can cause food aversions. Occasionally when it was worse he got buprenorphine for pain or fluids. Sorry Ace has it but you will learn what works for him and be able to treat at home.
 
I’m sorry to hear Ace is back in hospital but we’ll done catching the high ketones!
Can you ask the vet to send you home with a script for ondansetron which you will get from the human vet. That is really good for nausea.
My cat Sheba also had recurrent bouts of pancreatitis which I managed at home with sub Q fluids, pain meds and anti nausea meds. Treating it early is key.
 
Hi, all. Just wanted to let you know that we had to say goodbye to Ace yesterday. He was much sicker than we initially thought. The hospital kept trying to balance his glucose with pH levels to ward off DKA, but his body wouldn't respond and he just got worse and worse. We were still awaiting some tests to determine if it was pancreatitis or IBD, but it came the the point that it didn't matter. He was such a great, sweet cat and we will miss him eternally. Thank you all so much for your help with his case and for sharing your extensive knowledge and experience. You are wonderful people :bighug:
 
oh no, not the update I wanted to see dammit.

It is so strange how you said he seemed ok, eating, drinking, etc. Most cats that go into DKA have more obvious signs. And higher BGs too.


I am so sorry for your loss Amanda. I wish we could have helped more.


Fly high sweet Ace, you will be missed. cat_wings>ocat_wings>o
 
(((Amanda))) I am so sorry to hear the sad news. :bighug::bighug::bighug: You did so much to help your little guy. I'm sure he knew how much you loved him.
 
Amanda I am so heartbroken to hear this. I've been thinking about you and Ace.
Just know you did everything you could for him.
Fly high sweet boy you will be truly missed cat_wings>ocat_wings>o:rb_icon:
Take care of yourself Amanda :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top