7/11 Willie PMPS 71, +2~79

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christie & Willie (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Willie and I are taking a day to recover from our vacation. Because we got a late start yesterday, we didn't actually get back to the house until almost midnight last night. He's currently sacked out next to me on the bed, looking and sounding just as cute as can be. Working on updating his spreadsheet now, though google docs is not wanting to cooperate. His numbers continue to respond nicely, so long as he has insulin in his system. The car ride went pretty well last night, though we ultimately just let him in the front seat, and he spent most of the trip on my lap. Some panting was involved, though the crying and howling was kept to a minimum, as long as he remained in the front seat. *sigh*

The reason we got home so late is a cautionary tale for all of us, so I'm going to share... My mom spent most of yesterday afternoon in the emergency room for something that was completely preventable. We left late b/c we wanted to make sure she was okay before we left. A couple years ago, she was visiting me and started not feeling well, so we went to a Walgreens walk-in clinic. Turns out, she had an allergic reaction to whatever they prescribed her. While she let her nurse practitioner know, she didn't notify her normal pharmacy and didn't write down or remember the name of the drug. Fast forward to last week... her ANP had just moved to a new practice, and mom's records hadn't been transferred yet. The same drug got prescribed to her. She started getting hives on the night of the rehearsal dinner. She took some benadryl, which thankfully I caught had expired 3 years ago, so my granny gave her a fresh bottle. The ANP and pharmacist told her to get some hydrocortisone cream, which helped a little, but not much. Despite us pleading, she wouldn't go to the hospital before the wedding. After going outside yesterday, literally every inch of her body was covered in hives. It still took my DSIL's (a chiropractor) insistence to get her to the ER. Two IVs and 5 hours later, things started getting better, but the doctor said that the benadryl likely prevented a major airway obstruction as the hives were in her throat and likely her airways and GI tract.

Moral to the story.... please be aware of any medications to which you are allergic, and be sure that ALL pharmacies you use are fully aware of those allergies and all medications you are taking. Mom went by herself to the hospital (20 minutes or so away), and she could have had a serious attack driving there. If she had simply kept herself and her entire medical team aware of the issue, she never would have taken the drug and wouldn't have spent my brother's wedding weekend in misery, nor would she have been in danger of a serious medical situation.

Willie says it is time for a +5 poke and some more btb cuddles. Happy to oblige....
 
Re: 7/11 Willie AMPS 147, +3~103, +5~83

Bad experience for Mom but good lesson for all to learn from and remember.

Sounds like Willie is against backseat driving & wants to "help" you from the front seat. Very cute, as he apparently prefers to ride shot gun :mrgreen:

Hope you get rested today & back to normal. Take care.
 
Re: 7/11 Willie AMPS 147, +3~103, +5~83

That is horrible! Your poor mom. Hives are terrible, let alone ones from head to toe.

Willie is looking good! Ohhhh btb cuddles. You are very lucky.

Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 7/11 Willie AMPS 147, +3~103, +5~83

Glad to see Willie is back in Willie beautiful numbers.

That is really scary about your mom. Some allergic rxns can get worse the more often you are exposed to the allergen. It's a good thing she did not go into anaphylaxis. I hope she is feeling much better.
 
Re: 7/11 Willie AMPS 147, +3~103, +5~83

Glad your are home and relaxing today. Sorry to hear about you mom's allergic reaction and so glad you got her to go in when you did.

Take it easy and enjoy the day w/ Willie!
 
Re: 7/11 Willie AMPS 147, +3~103, +5~83

Hi Christie, glad you are back home, and you must be exhausted. How scary for your Mom and you and family. That sure is a lesson for her and for us all, so thanks for bringing it up! I hope by now she's feeling better. Willie's numbers are looking good, today. He must be so happy to be home. How cute that he had to be a real passenger and sit on your lap.
 
Re: 7/11 Willie PMPS 71

Our sugar dance continues to amaze me. No shot and we're at 358 in no time, yet fill up the shed and we're back in greens within 48 hours. Like I've said before, I couldn't be more thankful, and if this is the closest we get to OTJ, we'll take it!

Have spent a leisurely day with the Tivo and the laptop. Needing to get up the ambition to clean out the fridge as trash day is tomorrow! Have a great night, everyone!
 
Re: 7/11 Willie PMPS 71

OMG what a story!!! Hope your Mom is well now!! And the car ride!! You are such brave beans!
We should be thankful for the beautiful greens our kitties give us..Be thankful for well regulated kitty,
and for a healthy kitty--If OTJ comes, it's just a great gift--
You are doing GREAT!! Hugs from us..
 
Re: 7/11 Willie PMPS 71

Wonderful numbers for Willie - YAY!!! and back to the greens! no more kibble, right Willie?

I am sorry about your mom.... i so hope all is well now. Scary stuff!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top