Re: 7/11 Polly AMPS 266+2=234
I've considered suggesting you increase Polly after 4 cycles on a couple of different occasions. The
TR Protocol on the Tilly's Diabetes page (same protocol but worded slightly differently) suggests that option for cats having constant high numbers. The thing about Polly, is she doesn't really fit that description of "constant high numbers." She throws a blue in there on most doses. i think her numbers may suggest iaa - the way you increase a dose and she gets about one blue number on it. Wendy has described that as the dose "going stale." We dose a little more aggressively with cats with iaa.
Tiger had flat high cycles - a lot of 300-500 all day long type of numbers. That's the perfect situation for increasing every 4 cycles until you get closer to a good dose and then you slow down.
I don't think increasing after 4 cycles is a bad idea, though. There's some kind of resistance going on and sometimes that larger or quicker dose increase can get ahead of it and hold the numbers down. It's up to you if you'd like to try that option and see what happens.
Actually on the TR protocol it references 3u as being the dividing line between the 0.25u and the 0.5u. On this site, we've used about 5u. Once a cat gets to 10u per dose, the option is there for a 1u increase if the person wants to try. I was really nervous giving larger dose increases at first and mostly stuck to 0.25u, but it can help get control to go to the larger dose increase if a cat's numbers seem kinda out of control, ie, you keep increasing the dose and the cat's BGs stay high.
Polly's blues are what keep me from suggesting anything too aggressive, but i think the larger dose increase makes sense, and if you want to do a dose increase before 6 cycles to see if you can get her to green, that also could be worth trying.
Punkin's first obvious symptoms of acro, other than the BGs/dose, were the rattling breathing, a gigantic tongue about the size of a child's tongu, big feet, and the voracious appetite. There were no blood test changes and nothing felt during palpating that suggested anything was amiss.