7/11 Figaro AMPS=407 PMPS=383

Figaro's Liz

Member Since 2019
Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...mps-475-2-416-4-375-10-5-356-pmps-358.216632/

Slightly lower start to the day today.

Figaro has had 3-4 hacking episodes over the last couple days including one this morning. No food, though there was a little hairball chunk in one. Mostly just gold-colored water. I suspect he is either trying to pass a hairball (has not wanted to be brushed since his hospitalization, and I haven't been able to focus on the grooming with everything else going on), and/or he may be getting an upset tummy between his small meals. Fig was always a grazer but since diagnosis has started eating what's out much more quickly, so I now feed 4-5 times through the day to help pace him. I think a timed feeder might be in order soon...

Anyway, I added a little olive oil to his food to help pass a hairball if that's the issue. And he gets a bit of pumpkin now and then regardless.

Since he is running high, I'm trying to give his little ears a bit of a rest, too. They are quite red and maybe bruised :( one has a little bump within the poking area and I'm a little concerned about that. A little pain neosporin, but otherwise not sure I can do anything but limit tests to necessary.

I am falling behind at work so need to focus and keep my job so I can pay for all this :joyful::eek: so while I'm watching lots of threads, I haven't been able to comment much. But we are thinking of all the other sugar kitties out there!!
 
Since he is running high, I'm trying to give his little ears a bit of a rest, too. They are quite red and maybe bruised :( one has a little bump within the poking area and I'm a little concerned about that. A little pain neosporin, but otherwise not sure I can do anything but limit tests to necessary.
Sorry about his ears. I hold a piece of paper towel to Furball's ear after each test for at least 10 seconds to stop the bleeding and hopefully keep bumps from forming. I also use the Neosporin with pain relief after each test. I just put on the tiniest of dabs so it won't mess up the next test. When I know I'm done testing for the night I put a bigger dab on to help her ear heal. I hope Figaro slides down for you today.
 
Poor Fig! I hope he gets to feeling better soon...how long before you increase? His numbers are so high...

Hope you can focus on work - I agree - no poking necessary with these high numbers...maybe one just to see if the insulin has had any influence at all...
 
Sorry about his ears. I hold a piece of paper towel to Furball's ear after each test for at least 10 seconds to stop the bleeding and hopefully keep bumps from forming. I also use the Neosporin with pain relief after each test. I just put on the tiniest of dabs so it won't mess up the next test. When I know I'm done testing for the night I put a bigger dab on to help her ear heal. I hope Figaro slides down for you today.
Thank you!! I always hold a cotton pad on after, but I suspect I may also be poking through the ear on occasion. I've been using the Lancet device but I think I will try going to free hand, now that testing has become routine for us, to get better control.
But your note suggests that ear bumps are not totally uncommon? I noticed them first last night and it makes me wonder if I'm doing it safely :(
 
Poor Fig! I hope he gets to feeling better soon...how long before you increase? His numbers are so high...

Hope you can focus on work - I agree - no poking necessary with these high numbers...maybe one just to see if the insulin has had any influence at all...
Thanks, I hope so too! I just increased a few days ago, but skipped one shot (his PS was 116, I panicked a little). Hopefully in the next few days he settles down.
 
Back
Top