7/11 - 3am - +8-33 panic! - 20 min 55-20min-100

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Member Since 2010
ok so thank god I woke up he is 33 at +8 on 2.5 units
fed high carb....
alpha track metere would not register
relion meter said 33
will retest in 15 min

ok retest and he is at 55...breathing....
he ate probably 1/2 can of grilled beef very quickly so I think he is ok
we are going to lay down
I am assuming that he earned his reduction now and even if he is h igh
tomorrow morning I will shoot 2 units......

thanks julie, I was feeling very sick to my stomach for a mintue there
 
Re: 7/11 - 3am - +8-33 panic!

hi denise.

don't panic.

give him about a teaspoon of high carb gravy right now. if you don't have high carb food, give low carb and add a drop of karo syrup. one or the other.

check him in 20 minutes and come back. i'll be back to see how he is.
 
Re: 7/11 - 3am - +8-33 panic!

gave high carb, more then a teaspoon, he a ravenous!
will recheck again in another 10 minutes
Sorry I started a new thread, just wanted to post quickly
 
Re: 7/11 - 3am - +8-33 panic!

it's ok - we all panic sometimes. i've done 30's a bunch of times and my heart still leaps when i see it on the meter. no worries.

did you give the food from the high carb or just the gravy? the gravy has most of the carbs in it. you don't want to give too much in case you have to repeat the process. you want shakes to be willing to eat more.
 
Re: 7/11 - 3am - +8-33 panic!

while you're waiting for the 15-20 minutes, if you are up to it, it would be good to put the most recent info in the ss. makes it so easy to see what he's got going on.

so this would mean he reduces in the morning to 2.25u. i'm a little bit surprised that he didn't bounce from last night, because he no doubt was lower at some point last night, although maybe not. maybe the preshot was the lowest of that cycle.
 
Re: 7/11 - 3am - +8-33 panic! - 20 min 55

yeah this is o weird....
I am going to recheck shortly again but he did eat a lot
I was thinking to reduce to 2 units...
I know he will be high from the carbs but even 2.25 makes me a little nervous
 
Re: 7/11 - 3am - +8-33 panic! - 20 min 55

denise, i wouldn't quit yet. the L insulins last for a while and even with food on board the cat can wobble. it's not uncommon to have to keep this up for a couple of hours. sorry!

set an alarm, recheck in 30 minutes and repeat the process if he's below 50. you don't want to relax completely til you've had at least 2 checks, 30 minutes apart when he's stayed above 50 without you having to give anymore carbs.

when you repost, make sure you add a reply at the bottom so it bumps up your post. otherwise it might get missed.

i'm up with punkin and will check back with you in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 7/11 - 3am - +8-33 panic! - 20 min 55

you can go with your gut - but the protocol would have you reduce by .25u.

do you have a timed feeder for while you're at work tomorrow?
 
Re: 7/11 - 3am - +8-33 panic! - 20 min 55

ok I am up now so I will reacheck in about 15 minutes
Shakes is a free feeder and there is always food out
He must have ate EVERYTHING cause there was nothing left when I
woke up at 2am....
 
Re: 7/11 - 3am - +8-33 panic! - 20 min 55

many cats will feed themselves when they feel themselves going low - so perhaps that's what he did.

it takes punkin about 30 minutes to rise from the carbs, although i often check sooner. i don't know what shakes does with his carbs.

oh - gotcha. so your point is that you don't have a timed feeder because he free feeds. sorry, i'm slow tonight, i guess!
 
Re: 7/11 - 3am - +8-33 panic! - 20 min 55

We're up, too - it's 9amish for us :-)

You're doing great, keep breathing. I'll go take a look at your SS now, but in the meantime, Julie makes a good point: Slow reductions are better, 0.25u would be a better choice. But maybe wait a little bit before making the decision, when you've had some more eyes on your SS, k?

Be right back.
Jane
 
Thanks julir for your help tonight
It appears I fed too much high carb as he is at 100 already
but at least he is higher, I feel better on that
so we are going to lay down and hopefully sleep a little
I get up at 4:30am so I only have 2 hours left
thank you so much for staying with me!
 
Re: 7/11 +8 33 (Panic!) +8.25 55 +8.45 100

Denise, I've edited the title of this post to be a bit more clear of your BG readings, but I'm not sure how to do that on the main post title - you might consider changing it, so it's a bit more clear to read so we can see straight away what's going on :-)

Jane
 
denise, did you skip his shots on the night of the 8th and the morning of the 9th both? i thought you only skipped the morning one . . .

one thing about the L insulins that is different from P insulins - the cumulative action of the L insulins means that the shed (build-up in the body) can continue to have an effect on BGs for up to 6 cycles following a dose reduction. with skipped shots it's hard to know exactly what's happening, but it's possible shakes could still be having residual effects from his 3.0 unit dose.
 
Re: 7/11 - 3am - +8-33 panic! - 20 min 55

dmartini4 said:
He must have ate EVERYTHING cause there was nothing left when I
woke up at 2am....

My Pumbaa does this instinctively when he's diving. I am so thankful for this, to counter the insulin. Sounds like your little guy is the same! :) That 's a good thing!

Suze
 
you're welcome. punkin's at 55 and hasn't hit nadir yet, and i'm in oregon, so it's not late for me.

hopefully dyana or someone else will be on the morning to help with your dosing decision. sleep tight!
 
julie & punkin said:
she saw the preshot of 85 yesterday morning, was on her way out to work and had to leave him alone, so decided to give a token dose.

Yup, just found that condo and saw I was in there :-) Haven't had my morning coffee yet! Fair enough. Shakes sure likes to shake things up! (Thanks for your visit to Karre's condo!)

Jane
 
WOW - Shakes, can you give me a little advance notice next time you decide to party??? So sorry to miss the action, but Denise you did a wonderful job handling those low numbers! I'm with Julie - no matter how many times I see those 30's, it still gets my adrenaline going!

I hope you are resting peacefully and 'sleeping fast' as my mama would say because I know you have to be up soon.

Hugs and Prayers -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Hi Denise - checking in :o and saw numbers MY meter isn't capable of producing! :shock:

Hoping Shakes has settled in and is doing okay! I know it had to have been a rough night for you. Maybe today will yield some higher, safer, good numbers.

Great job handling it - don't know that I would have/could have responded so well!
 
Well caught Denise :mrgreen: anything in the thirties tends to make most of us panic a little but it doesn't sound like Shakes was in too much trouble with the only symptom being hunger. Vyktor used to clean out his bowl when he went a bit too low too - it was a great sign for me to test and catch a reduction. Looks like Shakes is loving the Levemir :mrgreen:

The great thing to take away from this is that you can raise Shakes numbers easily with some carbs and last night gave you the best numbers you have seen in a long time :mrgreen:

It will be interesting to see what his AMPS is - quite likely he will be heading into bounce mode after the liver shock of last nights lows. If he is it will make it safe to shoot 2.25 as per the protocol.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top