7/11/11 Gizzy AMPS/90, +1.5/81,+3/39,+3.5/42,+4.5/54,+5.5/58

Status
Not open for further replies.

pistull

Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=47257#p508465

I'm kicking myself that I fell asleep last night and am unsure how low he went....maybe he just surfed in the 80's?? Now....whether to shoot or not. I'm going to wait till 8:30 (+12.5) and test again. I had to feed him so it will be food induced, but I need to see where his #'s are.... I will be gone until +4 so this could get crazy!
 
Re: 7/11/11 Gizzy AMPS/90

That Gizzy hasn't bounced by now seems to indicate that it's unlikely that he dropped too low last night.

I like that you're waiting until +12.5. It would be better if you held the food since you will have no idea whether the numbers are going up due to food or that the numbers are really going up or down. Also, holding the food until you shoot means that it buys you a little more time if you're not going to be home.

If numbers are still running low, you can always give Gizzy some higher carb food and leave some of the same out for while you're gone.
 
Re: 7/11/11 Gizzy AMPS/90

Yeah, I had planned to leave some HC on a timer just in case.
There was NO holding food this morning! He was crazy cat demanding food. LOL
I'll see what happens today. I hate the low stuff....but I also know that it's a good thing to keep reducing those doses! :)
 
Re: 7/11/11 Gizzy AMPS/90

Good morning guys .. sounds like you are prepared for whatever gizzy throws your way .. it sure is a nice start to the day! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 7/11/11 Gizzy AMPS/90, +1.5/81, +3/39

39 at +3!!! Glad I got home when I did! Thank goodness for a flexible work schedule!!
Fed him some HC FF and will retest in a 1/2 hour.
Good news = dose reduction.
 
Re: 7/11/11 Gizzy AMPS/90, +1.5/81, +3/39

We're at 54 at +4.5. Slowly climbing and Gizzy is LOVING his gravy FF! Glad I can at least give him a treat when he's feeling so lousy! :)
 
Re: 7/11/11 Gizzy AMPS/90, +1.5/81, +3/39

Oh, I can tell he's just feeling tired and wore out. Lethargic I suppose from the low #'s.
He also has arthritis pain so he's licking a spot on his leg to no end. It's making me crazy because I just want to know how much pain he's really in. His coat is greasy and I can tell he's lost weight.
On the other hand, I'm so excited about another dose reduction. I see all these miracle stories about OTJ after 22 months so I still hold out hope that it's possible again for him. But this arthritis/neuropathy is really concerning to me. I certainly don't want him to be unhappy and in pain just because I want him to stick around. It's really weighing on me. I just started him back on Buprenex and he's not himself when he's on it (but I also think I'm seeing the effect in his #'s because he's not in so much pain). Blah blah blah - sorry you asked?!?!?
 
Re: 7/11/11 Gizzy AMPS/90, +1.5/81, +3/39, +3.5/42, +4.5/5

not sorry at all. We never want to lose sight of the Whole Cat Report. It's every bit as important as the numbers, if not more.

If the bupe is helping but leaving him loopy, you could try reducing the dose slightly. Try to find a middle ground where the pain is less but the side effects diminish. Some cats need less than the prescribed dose.
 
Re: 7/11/11 Gizzy AMPS/90, +1.5/81, +3/39, +3.5/42, +4.5/5

I've cut his dose in 1/2 and that is definitely better. He was stoned out of his mind on the full dose the vet prescribed! I know with his #'s being wacky (going from super low to super high) isn't helping his feel great either. I'm still optimistic I can get him there! But I will be keeping my watchful eye on him!
 
Re: 7/11/11 Gizzy AMPS/90, +1.5/81, +3/39, +3.5/42, +4.5/5

Looks like we're gonna surf the 50's again today! OK by me!
 
Re: 7/11/11 Gizzy AMPS/90, +1.5/81,+3/39,+3.5/42,+4.5/54,+5.

Congrats on the dose reduction!

Besides the bupe, what else have you tried for the arthritis and neuropathy?
 
Re: 7/11/11 Gizzy AMPS/90, +1.5/81,+3/39,+3.5/42,+4.5/54,+5.

He's also getting Adequan injections and Zobaline supplements.
 
Re: 7/11/11 Gizzy AMPS/90, +1.5/81,+3/39,+3.5/42,+4.5/54,+5.

Bupe just seems like such a big gun! (To say nothing of the fact that if you're dosing x2/day, Gizzy may become addicted to it since it's a narcotic.) But, if the pain is bad, you don't have all that many alternatives.

Have you seen this website on arthritis & joint pain?
 
Re: 7/11/11 Gizzy AMPS/90, +1.5/81,+3/39,+3.5/42,+4.5/54,+5.

I think it's very interesting that his #'s started to drop as soon as I put him on it, so that tells me the pain was probably bad. Poor guy!

LOVE that I can give another dose reduction!!!

Thanks for hte article - I can't wait to read it when I get home from work! I'm a sponge trying to figure all this out!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top