7/10 Tessa AMPS 159 +2 188 +4 191 +5 169 +9 148 +11 160 PMPS 155 +2 167 +3 162

tessa's mom

Member Since 2022
Yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...2-4-65-4-5-61-5-59-5-5-70-6-85-6-5-91.291998/

Tessa seems very skittish today and is not eating very much. She ate all of her AMPS meal but only ate about 3/4 of her +1 and took awhile to eat her +2 but finally did eat it. I even picked her up and put her in front of the bowl but she walked away. She came back later to eat it though.

Thankfully her numbers are higher right now but I am certainly concerned because Tessa normally loves to eat. Could the extra food overnight still be affecting her, like maybe she's still kinda full?

Or maybe she's just stressed from yesterday? It was a very rough day for her. In the morning, she went to the vet to check on her healing progress from her dental surgery and it was at the vet that's an hour away so she was in the car a lot then had the vet visit which is obviously not fun for her. Then we had a tornado warning at 4pm so she was in her carrier in the hallway for a little while before we let her out and closed her and her sister in my office (in case another warning came through) while we waited for the rest of the storms to pass by. Then I tested her 12 times in her PM cycle so maybe she just isn't feeling great today. I hope that's all it is.

Poor baby. :(

EDIT: she did not eat anything at +3 and so far doesn't seem interested in her food at +4 either. I got her to eat half a treat (meat pouch that I tear into bits) when I did a test at +4 though.

EDIT 2: Gave her the rest of the treat at +5 and she acted like she was hungry so I carried her to her bowl bowl but she didn't eat and hid in the condo part of her cat tree nearby. She ended up coming out to eat about 15 minutes later.

She did get MC last night because her numbers were getting a little too low for comfort, maybe she's holding out hoping that I'll give her that again?
 
Last edited:
I should have gotten more tests during the AM cycle but I wanted to give her a pokie break while her numbers were staying in the blues. So far it looks like she bounced overnight and is already clearing that bounce but it's possible she had a nadir between +4 and +9 and she's heading back up. I will test her at +11 to see what direction things are going. We have almost 3 hours before her PM dose but I wanted to post now so I can get advice early.

If she is still headed down at PMPS, what should I do?

She hasn't eaten much today and I am very nervous that she's going to turn her nose up at food in the PM cycle too. She ate treats when I gave them so I don't think she's nauseated but I could be wrong.

EDIT: 160 at +11 so her numbers likely aren't falling. I do still need advice on what to do if she won't eat at PMPS. The last time she wouldn't eat her numbers were high enough that giving the full dose was safe but I am unsure what to do if her numbers aren't high and she doesn't eat.

Is a half dose okay?
 
Last edited:
Luckily she seems VERY excited to eat tonight, she's currently licking her empty bowl lol. So she got her full dose. Paws crossed that she doesn't do a nose dive tonight, I need my sleep.
 
She also could have just been flat blue today. I 'm glad you gave the full dose. Remember that with a reduced dose, the first part of the cycle can still play out like it would have anyway, due to the nature of the depot influence.

If she got extra food last night, that could explain why she wasn't as hungry this AM.
 
She also could have just been flat blue today. I 'm glad you gave the full dose. Remember that with a reduced dose, the first part of the cycle can still play out like it would have anyway, due to the nature of the depot influence.

If she got extra food last night, that could explain why she wasn't as hungry this AM.

Thanks! I did need a reminder about the depot affecting the cycle even when you reduce. She did get a little bit of extra food last night but only a few teaspoons. I used a teaspoon measuring spoon and she got 4 of those so a little over a tablespoon total. I would be kinda surprised if that much food really made her not want to eat but it's possible. I think it's more likely that she was either hoping I'd give her the MC again or she just didn't want what I offered this morning. I switched to another flavor of FF this evening just in case it was the latter.
 
Back
Top