7/10-Shakes-pmps 329(bounce) +4=75-ADVICEPLEASE!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Member Since 2010
so here we are again
I don not understand this, this has NEVER happened...
when he bounces he always stays high over the next 12 hours...
not now!!....so do I assume that tomorrow morning 3 units is too high
I will be at work and there is no way I can get home to check him
Please help with advice...
Should I shoot 2.5 tomorrow moring...has this ever happened to anyone else like this before??
 
I don't really know what to tell you, as I have no experience with low numbers.

If you test this cycle, you might see this is a great dose--jury is still out. The 75 is good--just depends on his nadir.

You are being really aggressive with your dosing. My take on aggressive dosing is, there is nothing wrong with being aggessive as long as you are prepared to deal with the low numbers. And, the last two rounds of low numbers you have had you were prepared--you were testing and fed medium and high carb foods to conteract the numbers. But, if you are not going to be around tomorrow, I think you have to reduce your dose. Remember--too high for a day is better than too low for a minute.

My opinion--you can throw your old data out the window.....you are in a New Game~

I am sure you will get some advice on a dose amount for tomorrow---Good Luck!
 
Hopefully someone more experienced will be on before you get off for the night, if not can you check here before you shoot in the morning? That's a pretty big drop at +4, but a good #. I would think you would need to reduce since you won't be home with him tomorrow. Do you leave food out for him when you're not there?
 
The bounce probably cleared itself within the drop.......


Have you tested again Denise?
 
You may be on a dose reduction path, that is almost always what I have seen once they get some stretches of good numbers. When they are in higher numbers you are often dealing with some level of stuff like bounce, insulin resistance, whatever, and they often need more insulin to get to better numbers. Once you break through that and get some solid greens and blues, the picture can change quite rapidly. When Bix was on a reduction path, I lowered the dose almost every cycle for about a week as he went from about 1.8u down to more like 1.2u where he stablized out a bit.

The trick is not to reduce too much too fast - then you tend to lose the breakthrough and it's back to square 1.

It looks like you got a 36 :shock: though this cycle, on a reduced dose of 3u? So with that, I would be less worried about over reducing, and more focused on keeping him safe if you are not home to monitor.

2.5 sounds reasonable to me. 2.75 would be a dose I think to shoot only if you can monitor, so I like your thought to pull back further than that. My chicken half :-D says to pull back to 2u, but that is probably overdoing it. So your idea of 2.5 makes good sense to me. See what others say too. :mrgreen:

btw the higher PS might not have been a bounce, it's really hard to say. Even if it was, sometimes they clear quickly, or it could be the dose was high enough to shoot through it. I think sometimes we assume things are a bounce though when they might not be.
 
also I forget if you leave food out? if you leave some food out for him that should help you worry less tomorrow. also I wouldn't worry about taking a chicken shot if you need to in the morning. I mean I wouldn't go down to 1u or something like that, but if you undershoot, no yelling here. :-D The good news is you got some great results and now you know you can get them. So now it's fine-tuning to get results that are good but not too good, and really you have to be around to monitor & test to be able to tell. So I would go with 2.5 in the morning, or a little less if that will have you worrying all day, and then tomorrow night if you can get in a bedtime test you can go with whatever seems right at that point - 2.5 or maybe 2.75 depending on how tomorrow's numbers look.

Really they should just have My Cat Has Diabetes! leave at work so you can stay home and try to tweak the numbers! Should be a national law IMHO. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top