7/10-shakes-HOW IS THIS POSSIBLE???

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Very Active Member
ok so he was 271 this moring, not a bad number for going low,
that was at 5am...
I took his blood att 10:15 and he was 57...so I fed carbs...took his blood to double check meter
and he was 52.....

how can he have that big of a drop so fast...this never happned...now what??
what is that percent...like 80%....is that possible??
 
I just realized that I gave him the 0% carb for breakfast this morining...
but still this is crazy, I just gave him8% and just checked his numbers and he is at 60 now
but this has never happened so fast like this.
I was wondering if I should reduce the dose now, maybe something is goin on
my husband said it looks like he is walking better today and yesterday and I have to agree..

perplexed
 
You will be okay---just get him through this and reduce your dose.

Have you checked him agian?
 
I checked him 10 min ago and he was 60 so he is started back up again....
how should I reduce the dose?
so even if he is at say 270 again tonight I shouldnt shoot the 3.25?
should I shoot maybe 3? and see what happens
 
He should start to level off now but keep checking him and don't over do it with the carbs, 8% was good, you just don't want to send him high on carbs.

I think that 3.25u last night on a bg of 133 was too much insulin. After going low last night he may be more sensitive to the insulin today and that is why you are seeing the steep drop again.
 
ok that makes sense, but I didnt shoot at 133 I shot at 149 but I guess it was still too
much I should have reduced last night...ok I think I am learning..
I was thinking I will give him 3 units tonight and see what happens
I retested again and he is 62 so I wont give any more carbs but test every hour..
he is starting to act better, he was not lookin too good before, and I could see he was too low..
 
Wow looks like you have got a break through! I would go down to 3 u tonight. A word of caution with these break throughs.... Don't reduce too drastically too quickly. I have seen it with several cats, including Oscar, that momentum can be lost very quickly if you reduce too much too quickly/often. I know it is a huge debate here.... But I have seen it too many times. When prozinc kicks in like this, it starts to act like there is a build up in the system. Others can say what they want about that, but I have seen this pattern many times. Try your best not to skip a shot or shoot a big chicken dose.

So - 3u tonight and take it from there! Woohoo!
 
Thanks Kelly, I was thinking the same thing...
I have reduced before and lost momentum, so that is why I shot the 3.25 at 149 lsat night
I was afraid to lose what was happeneing..
 
Really nice numbers, yay!!! I agree with going to 3u, but if you don't get green nadirs, I would bump back up right away - maybe 3.2 or 3.1 on a lower PS.
 
his +8 was 74 but his +9 is 60!!!

good lord I think my dyed salt and pepper hair went all gray this weekend!
he has stayed in the green all day!! :mrgreen:
I wonder if he will bounce...stay tuned....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top