7/10 Polly AMPS 284+2=262+7=224 PMPS 253+2=250

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marilyn and Sheldon

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

Recap

292 AMPS
264 +2
187 +7
224 PMPS
272 +4
271 +8

Hot and muggy in the neighborhood this early morning. August monsoons in midJuly. Miss Polly's next to me on the couch pawing at me for her second breffis. Her tail barometer is swishing high in the air, a good sign.

Vines and wishes.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 7/10 Polly AMPS 284+2=262

HI guys .. sounds like polly is one hungry lady! Bummer on the heat and humidity .. that's awful weather to deal with .. have a great day and stay cool!
 
Re: 7/10 Polly AMPS 284+2=262

morning marilyn!

Wendy & I were talking yesterday about suggesting that you go to 0.5u increases for Polly for now. When a cat is on a 1.0u dose and increases by 0.25u, that's a 25% increase. By the time the cat is at 5.0u, a 0.25u is a 5% increase. Sometimes larger increases can help you get "ahead" of the numbers instead of "chasing" them. In a cat that's showing some insulin resistance, that becomes helpful.

When a cat gets to 6u we suggest getting high dose testing done for acromegaly and insulin autoantibodies (iaa.) Some cats have one or the other, some have both. a third high dose condition called Cushing's is possible, but it has significant skin issues so usually the person is reporting symptoms that tell us its cushing's. Cats with Cushing's have very fragile skin - it literally tears from being touched. So we don't usually recommend that test unless there are symptoms that match.

You can think about it. She may or may not have a high dose condition - the whole thing in her mouth is a bit odd and could be a contributing factor. some cats need more insulin and we don't know why. Most of the time we dose by the numbers, aiming for 50-120 anyway, but if a cat does have acro/iaa we suggest some different techniques depending on which one.

Here are a couple of posts that have lots of info in them: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46820 and http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=45324. There may be other information on the high dose forum, but it's inactive. those old posters there moved to a facebook group in 2010. we've tried to keep the most recent research here as well.

As you have questions, just ask away. We have lots of experience with kitties with high dose needs and will help you make your way through the process.
 
Re: 7/10 Polly AMPS 284+2=262

It sounds like Polly is feeling good. I hope she kept sliding down for you. It's hot and muggy here too.
 
Re: 7/10 Polly AMPS 284+2=262

julie & punkin (ga) said:
morning marilyn!

Wendy & I were talking yesterday about suggesting that you go to 0.5u increases for Polly for now. When a cat is on a 1.0u dose and increases by 0.25u, that's a 25% increase. By the time the cat is at 5.0u, a 0.25u is a 5% increase. Sometimes larger increases can help you get "ahead" of the numbers instead of "chasing" them. In a cat that's showing some insulin resistance, that becomes helpful.

Yeppers. I wondered what the "higher dose" meant in the protocol when it differentiated between .25 and .50 increases. Guess I know now! :smile: I'm game for a .50 increase next due date, Saturday AM.

When a cat gets to 6u we suggest getting high dose testing done for acromegaly and insulin autoantibodies (iaa.) Some cats have one or the other, some have both. a third high dose condition called Cushing's is possible, but it has significant skin issues so usually the person is reporting symptoms that tell us its cushing's. Cats with Cushing's have very fragile skin - it literally tears from being touched. So we don't usually recommend that test unless there are symptoms that match.

Yes. My vet will cooperate with the draw and if I get him the info, sending a sample for testing, at least for IAA. He, too, suggested waiting until we hit 6 units before any more investigation.

Question. Does the acromegaly test hold value for me and Polly if SRT is not really a viable option. Cost. Her extraordinary fearfulness, i.e. travel, etc. Oh, I know, horses before the cart!

I asked the vet at Best Friends about "excess growth hormone" when she identified the thickened throat and Polly had the water bubble snurgles. Soft tissue growth, I asked. Her answer, "No, that would show up first in her liver and kidneys."

As a side, the snurggles have subsided since clavamox and I can't see any mouth cankers (although she doesn't open wide and go "ahhhhh" for me.)

She's not at all symptomatic for Cushings.

You can think about it. She may or may not have a high dose condition - the whole thing in her mouth is a bit odd and could be a contributing factor. some cats need more insulin and we don't know why. Most of the time we dose by the numbers, aiming for 50-120 anyway, but if a cat does have acro/iaa we suggest some different techniques depending on which one.

Julie, I started to think about IAA and acromegaly when we hit 3U. None of your suggestions surprise me. Whatever's going on with Polly, we'll deal with it. With lots of help!!!! She's happy, prancing with her most fluffy tail flagging behind her, and enjoying window sill mornings, afternoon enclosure time, and evening couch sharing.

Thank you. Thanks to Wendy.

Marilyn and Polly, just plugging along.
 
I'm sending hugs to you and Polly! :YMHUG: And I was glad to hear that she is eating well and feeling well over all, that's the important thing. Please give her hugs and scritches from Tiger and me!
 
Hi Marilyn - I found that the .5U increases did a better job at kick starting the action when we got to higher doses. There still might be times when .25U changes make sense, but that's usually just if you are fine tuning green nadirs. Paws crossed Polly will start losing her fondness for yellow soon. :YMHUG:

You asked about value for acro testing. A positive IGF-1 test for acro would tell you to be on the lookout for other things that can go along with excess growth hormone. One that's important to be aware of is a larger heart. Cardiomyopathy is one of the more common side effects and not always noticeable, or sometimes only when it's too late, but discovered in time can be managed with drugs. The other common thing to be aware of is the soft tissue growth. In the throat, it's something to be aware of if kitty needs intubation. Before Neko's wellness exam last year, I had noticed a sore mark on her gum. Her regular vet was ready to pull a tooth. I went to a dental specialist and after X-rays he discovered that Neko's gum tissue had grown, causing her canine to rub on the gum. So instead of an extraction of the tooth below the canine tooth, she only had a tooth filing, and that's because I knew Neko has acromegaly. Excess growth does not necessarily show up in kidneys or liver first. Each acrocat is different.
 
It's great that Julie and Wendy have given you some thoughts. I agree it might be smart to get the tests done. You ight find that, like Ozy, there is only IAA to deal with and that seems a better scenario. But if she I'd acro, she's still her sweet little Polly self.

Paws crossed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top