7/10 Philly AMPS 111, +2.5 28, +2.75 81, +3 128, +4 159, +6 135, +8 376

Beck and Philly

Member Since 2018
RECENT

After a blue night, we shot a 111 this morning. I'm home to monitor, but this is our lowest pre-shot number yet. The last time we shot blue he was in yellow at +3. This time he was going up overnight but dropped in the hour before his shot.
 
Yikes! He was 50 at +2. Fed Friskies with gravy. He didn't eat much, but several bites. Tested again and was 28.

Just used 1 unit of emergency glucose paste and fed kitten chow. He is alert and not showing signs. He is now 81 15 minutes later.
 
Last edited:
This seemed to bring him up quickly. It is the first time I've used it. The package says no sugar spikes. I hope that's true.

Should I remove the 911 now?

Thanks for watching his sheet! I was so happy at a night of blues. I worried that this would be the price.
 

Attachments

  • 20200710_110655.jpg
    20200710_110655.jpg
    26.8 KB · Views: 46
What a fantastic job you did for Philly. Love the emergency glucose you showed; I hadn't seen that.
I think you can take the 911 down for now, as long as you don't let up on testing. Of course, put it right back up if needed.
Take it easy you two:):cat:

The kitten chow may help him not go back down fast too. Good job.
 
Yes remove 911. Test 30 minutes after last. If same or better then test in hour then should be fine. You want to make sure he doesn't drop when it wears off.
 
You can remove the 911 and add it back later if he drops again. Test again in 30 minutes. His numbers may come back down after the paste wears off.
 
He is 159 at +4. I didn't feed him at this test. I'm thinking of letting him have a snack of Dr Elsey's at his +6 to hopefully get him back on schedule unless you all think that's a bad idea.

So we reduce from 1.25 to 1 again. How do we know when we shouldn't shoot?

This morning should've been a red flag I guess? He went down to 107 for two tests last night and then raised normally for the next two tests so we seemed great. Then just in the hour between +11 and AMPS he dropped from 169 to 111. We shot anyway, thinking to keep him surfing. I can't understand why he dropped during that hour, but I guess in hindsight it was a sign of things to come.
 
we are newer here than you are, so please consider that in our replies.
i'm sure more experienced folks will chime in as well.

How do we know when we shouldn't shoot?

we ask this all the time.
the best answer(s) we've gotten usually talk about
our comfort level,
ability to monitor (our time availability and plenty of strips),
hypo kit ready and stocked​


This morning should've been a red flag I guess? He went down to 107 for two tests last night and then raised normally for the next two tests so we seemed great. Then just in the hour between +11 and AMPS he dropped from 169 to 111. We shot anyway, thinking to keep him surfing. I can't understand why he dropped during that hour, but I guess in hindsight it was a sign of things to come.

some practices we've learned and are still learning that help are:
  1. if it's your lowest shoot every (which it looks like the 111 was?) then get a +1, +2 and depending what happens there, +3
  2. when big drops happen in a small time interval, that means heads up
  3. a flat previous cycle could mean an active next cycle
  4. +11 is a good one to get as you did. we've also become fans of the +11.5 bc it can show us a trend going into pre-shot
  5. still working on understanding: how food impacts kit. i.e. how carb sensitive and how much "rise" we observe based on regular meals and minis. this should help with the idea that you are shooting for where your kitty will be at onset vs where they are at pre-shot
  6. still working on understanding: when kit might be breaking the bounce
and in things we've learned from you: just ordered some of the glucose sos for pets. thank you!
 
we are newer here than you are, so please consider that in our replies.
i'm sure more experienced folks will chime in as well.



we ask this all the time.
the best answer(s) we've gotten usually talk about
our comfort level,
ability to monitor (our time availability and plenty of strips),
hypo kit ready and stocked​




some practices we've learned and are still learning that help are:
  1. if it's your lowest shoot every (which it looks like the 111 was?) then get a +1, +2 and depending what happens there, +3
  2. when big drops happen in a small time interval, that means heads up
  3. a flat previous cycle could mean an active next cycle
  4. +11 is a good one to get as you did. we've also become fans of the +11.5 bc it can show us a trend going into pre-shot
  5. still working on understanding: how food impacts kit. i.e. how carb sensitive and how much "rise" we observe based on regular meals and minis. this should help with the idea that you are shooting for where your kitty will be at onset vs where they are at pre-shot
  6. still working on understanding: when kit might be breaking the bounce
and in things we've learned from you: just ordered some of the glucose sos for pets. thank you!
Thanks! We all learn from each other, which is what makes this place so great.

My "date joined " is deceptive in some ways because I joined two years ago with a different cat. He passed away from pancreatic cancer a few months later and I just came here to stay in touch with friends in the off topic forum for fun.

Philly is new to the diabetic world and proving ECID for sure so I'm learning his quirks.
 
"How to know when not to shoot".

For new people there is a number when not to shoot until they gain experience and data to do other wise. However, I don't know if off hand and using phone now so it's difficult to find it. Others will chime in I hope.

Things to consider if you shoot a number lower than you ever got.

Will you be around to monitor for few hours,
Do you have enough test strips,
Is cat easy to test,
Is cat good eater for boosting with food,
Do you have honey, syrup, high carb food and enough of it if needed, (you'd be surprised how many people run to store for food when cat is seriously low),
Is there another person to drive you to ER if needed because you will need to keep giving honey or syrup to cat during the drive,

If you were not home today, I would have said skip shot.
 
That 1 unit plus the kitten chow certainly did the trick and then some. Maybe a bit less than 1 unit next time? I've seen the emergency glucose for humans in drugstores but never tried it because I wasn't sure how much to give to a cat. I know some of the members in the UK have used it.

The minx Lantus sometimes like to do a double dip at the end of a cycle just to mess with us.
 
Back
Top