7/10 Meadow's AMPS 266 + 8 59 PMPS 202 Reduce dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Meadow

Member Since 2010
Good evening LL! So here's yesterday's condo: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=19359&p=192242#p192242

Had to be out of the house again most of today, so only got a +8 reading, but it was 59. I will be home enough tomorrow to do a curve. So should I stick with the present dose and see what the curve reveals, or do you think I should reduce it a smidge? Last Sunday is the last time she had a low reading (38) and then an 89 on Friday and a 59 today. Hubby forgot a feeding, so that may account for the drop to 59, not sure. I'm inclined to stick with the f1u for now. Opinions?
AMPS was 266
+8 was 59
PMPS was 202

She seems fine today. Was very bouncy and loving when I got home. Guess she missed me. ;) Looking forward to being here most of the day tomorrow. I hate being away from my babies!
 
Sorry. Spreadsheet is now updated. Definitely not looking like a reduction to me either now. Oh well, we'll keep plugging away.

Question: How do I handle the overnight feeding? I can't leave food out due to the other 6 cats. With her BG currently at 360 (11pm and at the +4 mark), food will spike her even higher I assume, yet I don't feel comfortable letting her go until 6am without food. She has not eaten since her 7pm dinner aside from a couple pieces of freeze dried chicken at her 9pm test.
 
just a bounce from the green today.

I would have reduced the dose after the 38, but since you didn't and the numbers went back up, I would not reduce until you get something below 50. But... there is a good chance you missed catching a below 50 number yesterday, and again today. It's sort of cheating to reduce based on a number you think was there, you really need to try to catch the number so you know for sure she earned the reduction. Will you be home tomorrow to test? If the bounce clears by morning, she might have the same kind of cycle again, and give you a chance to catch the below 50 number.
 
Yep Libby, I intend to be home enough today to do a curve and see if I can catch any low numbers. We'll see what happens.


Libby and Lucy said:
just a bounce from the green today.

I would have reduced the dose after the 38, but since you didn't and the numbers went back up, I would not reduce until you get something below 50. But... there is a good chance you missed catching a below 50 number yesterday, and again today. It's sort of cheating to reduce based on a number you think was there, you really need to try to catch the number so you know for sure she earned the reduction. Will you be home tomorrow to test? If the bounce clears by morning, she might have the same kind of cycle again, and give you a chance to catch the below 50 number.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top